We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money right in the heart of Siem Reap”
Review of City River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
City River Hotel
Ranked #92 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
514 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Value for money right in the heart of Siem Reap”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A brilliant hotel only 5 mins stroll over the bridge in to the heart of Siem Reap and Pub Street/night market. The hotel is located right on the Siem Reap river, a lovely view from the hotel and several bridges to cross and explore. The hotel itself has a colonial look/feel but with modern facilities including WIFI zones, free internet screens on the ground floor, large rooms with balcony, air con and modern en-suites and a roof top pool and cocktail bar where you can order food. The hotel restaurant used for breakfast, lunch & dinner offers a great menu and we had one of the best "fish amok" here having compared to about 4 other places who claim to have the best. It is not a romantic restaurant but quality food and lunch for 2including drinks cost US 18 with drinks. The double room cost us US45 (28 pounds) a fantastic deal for this hotel, ok we are staying at the Conrad now in Bangkok there is no comparison BUT the value for money in the City River is amazing and the location perfect as you are in the centre but in a quiet location and having seen so many other hotels located away from the action needing long tuk tuk trips and overpriced, the City River offers quality and value. For fist time visitors to Cambodia, just take US dollars, everything and everywhere is priced in dollars even tuk tuk's and market stall holders, there is no market for the local currency outside Cambodia.

Room Tip: Just try to you get a balcony room, not essential but useful. No other things to avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Steve H,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at City River Hotel during your recent visit to Siem Reap. We truly appreciate you taking the time and sharing your great experience with the world and the TripAdvisor community. We take pride in our location and it is truly a delight to hear your great feedback. We are ecstatic that you were able to enjoy our food at the restaurant and our rooftop pool. We hope to see you again when you make your way back to Siem Reap. Once again, thank you for staying City River Hotel.

All the best

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    374
    77
    11
    5
See reviews for
109
343
109
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here just for a night when in SR out of our 3 nights visit. Overall, the place is quite good for the price it charges. Location is good, within city core, walking distance to pub street / old market area. When you compare this with newer hotels, you save probably few dollars of transportation and time spent in traffic jams.
Room was small but clean. We got two separate beds, though we had requested single bed, as the hotel was fully booked. Bathroom was small too. Amenities good, with coffee maker etc available for quick service in the room.
Staff was courteous and helpful. We used their services to find a car for Angkor Wat, but had to settle for a Tuk Tuk as they could not find any car. The reception person was helpful, and I saw him trying hard for 10-15 minutes for a taxi, in the end apologized and offered Tuk Tuk.
The swimming pool is on roof top, good location to rewind after hard day at temples. Breakfast was standard, we had problem with vegetarian food, though.
Overall, we found the place a very good choice at the rate they charged us. With good staff and great location, this is your choice when on budget...

Room Tip: Go for higher floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear KDMumbai,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your recent experience at City River Hotel, Siem Reap. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and glad that you were able to enjoy our service and our great location which is in the heart of the Siem Reap. We are a short stroll from all the great local attractions that this great city has to offer. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
All the best,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

City River Hotel is located a short walk to the old town and "Pub Street". Most of the newer hotels are quite a distance away. Room was large and clean, comfortable bed. Breakfasts started early at 6 am. But, they were basic, most hot stuff not so hot. Staff were friendly. Odd practice that they want to physically check your room out before they will settle the bill, I guess to make sure you do not make off with a towel. We were in a rush to get to airport, so left them to check the room out to their hearts content. We had a short time in Siem Reap and hope to return, we would stay at the City River again because of its' easy access to the old town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lightening996327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My fourth stay at City River in 2 years - always met by welcoming staff and it is hard to beat the location for the price. Looking forward to another cocktail on the roof by the pool next time in June.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyWil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Located in the center, very close to the market and restaurants. Great rooms, service.
Stayed there for 3 nights and everything was just right. People were very helpful, nice and kind.
Highly recommending this hotel. Definitely worth the money. Really a great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YaninaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

City River is just as everyone says, the hotel is comfortable, quiet, and the perfect location, close enough to get to everything in town within minutes, but far enough away to find some quiet restaurants and walk along the river. The breakfast has everything one needs to fuel up for the day. The pool is beautiful and a nice place to relax when things get busy in town and you need a break from it. The staff is great (funny, playful, full of energy) and will help with anything that you need, they are all smiles and ready to assist. I very much enjoyed being at City River and I wouldn't hesitate to go back. This is a great place, especially for the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloSeaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Our family of 5 stayed here in interconnecting city view rooms. They were beautiful, comfortable rooms and very quiet at night. The hotel is a very easy and pretty walk to the vibrant Pub Street. And a short drive to Angkor Wat. It's location plus really! The staff were wonderful and organised and booked everything that we requested and offered lots of good advice. Breakfast was fantastic. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heids70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#71 of 353 in Siem Reap
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#86 of 353 in Siem Reap
856 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#114 of 353 in Siem Reap
539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayon Boutique
Bayon Boutique
#106 of 353 in Siem Reap
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City River Hotel

Property: City River Hotel
Address: 0511 Achasva Street, Wat Bo, Siem Reap 17254, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#54 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#62 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#69 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City River Hotel is beautifully located on the bank of Siem Reap River. Our superb location offers our guests the unique experience of peacefulness in a lively city. We’re just a walking distance away from the ever popular Pub Street and Night Market.The roof-top swimming pool is the only one of its kind in Siem Reap. Guests will enjoy the spectacular views of the city and sunset while sipping away the delicious cocktails on the poolside bar. This experience can only be found exclusively at City River Hotel.Our Deluxe rooms are beautifully decorated with all standard amenities and a balcony overlooking the city. In addition, guests are able to pamper themselves with the traditional Khmer massage at our Massage Center after spending a long day at the wonderful temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your City River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City River Siem Reap
Hotel City River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing