We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location - walking distance to restaurants and market”
Review of City River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City River Hotel
Ranked #93 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic location - walking distance to restaurants and market”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. Fantastic location, walking distance to market - just across the bridge. Room was clean and large. TV in room. Bathroom was clean and modern. Hotel has a rooftop pool.

Breakfast was included.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    371
    77
    11
    5
See reviews for
107
340
108
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The best thing about the hotel is its location. Very central. Could walk to the restaurants and market and the night market. Our room 454 and it was very comfortable and clean.The staff and the reception staff were very helpful and courteous. I wish they had not left 'Goldroast' instant coffee packets which is a sugar/milk mix as we do not take sugar and would have preferred separate sachets of sugar and milk for the each individual taste.This seems a small item but for us the morning cup of tea/coffee is important. We were also not very happy with the breakfast as almost everything had pork and we are vegetarians. Wish they had something more for us.
Having said all this it was a nice hotel and we were very comfortable and ofcoursse the location was very good

Room Tip: Above 4th floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajitha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Location is very good, room comfortable, reasonable size, very clean, staff very helpful, good rooftop pool and bar. We had a very good time here and would recommend with confidence. Breakfast was geared towards Asian customers but was acceptable. I wouldn't bother with the restaurant!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alleynboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

A nice hotel in a good position, away from the bustle but an easy walk to the markets and the restaurants.
Very good facilities and extremely friendly and helpful staff despite some language difficulties which are to be expected. Hotel arranged a tuk tuk to visit the temples and the driver was a gem. We used him also to take us to the airport. A word of warning, taxis are a bit scarce so if a taxi is wanted to get to the airport then book it with the hotel at least a day ahead.
The breakfasts were fair but fresh fruit juice would be much better than mixed cordial and a bowl of fresh fruit would be nice. Rooms are not very soundproof.

Room Tip: Having booked room for the first time we have no idea whether there were better rooms. Ours was fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venlo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

sorry to tell, but i red a lot of positive thing about the hotel , thats why i choose the hotel. unfortunately i can tell u that in mine opinon the hotel is to expensive for what the offer. the room was ok but the communication at the reception is poor! we arrived in the evening and we booked the heritage package, the recepcionist didnt know what we booked and what it contains!! i told him i would speak tommorow morning with the reception again.than i told that morning to the reception manager that there were some misunderstanding and we clearde that out , even though the hotel is not very clear in the information of the package, there is written a 2 full day tour to angkor wat with guide ect ect only the do not well anounce that u have to buy the entre tickets for angkor wat by yourself!!! 2/3 days is 40 dollar each!! ive told him to adapt that on their website!! wen we checked out i ordered the taxi to the airport already a night before, before breakfast the next day i asked if it was arranged, they say yes but it wasnt the service came 20 minutes to late!! the shifts should be communicated better!!
sorry guys but the breakfast is very poor!!! now i notice that more people have been writing about this subject and sorry it is really poor.the omelett/eggstation is the best item!
not much choice in bread/ham is not really ham no cheese, only marmelade, very artificial orange juice!! made from powder.. the presentation could be better, to many employees they are friendly but not efficient! it will cost not so much to improve the breakfast!!
and i know because iam in the same business!!!
also our massage was soso!! one thing becomes a problem world wide and that is the use of mobile phones when people are at work! allowance of use in your breaktime!!!! and not during a masssage or whatever, we had plenty of examples i will not list them!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKERSTEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
415 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 582 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

City River Hotel is in a great location opposite the Siem Reap River and just under a 10 minute walk to Pub Street or the Night Markets. It is also the only hotel in Siem Reap with a rooftop swimming pool with an excellent pool bar and fantastic views.

We have stayed here a few times now and love the hotel, each trip is getting longer and in June we have booked another 10 nights there.

We really enjoyed our stays at City River and always book their Deluxe King with balcony, the rooms are big and nicely furnished and it was so nice sitting out on our balcony at night.

The rooftop pool is lovely and food and drinks from the pool bar and the main restaurant are very well priced.

Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of foods and all of the staff were very friendly and helpful, there is also a massage centre and bicycle hire plus a small gift shop.

City River Hotel is great value for money and it is in a good location and definitely worth staying at.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy&Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was our third stay at CIty River Hotel in 6 years. The hotel still offers great value for money. Spacious, clean room and bathroom. Good water pressure in shower (hint: to get hot water, run the water through the bath tap until it turns hot, then change to the shower). Friendly staff, great location, nice pool area.

We can't understand why some people complain about the breakfast. There are plenty of hot dishes to choose from, a variety of bread and pastries, and lots of fruit. Of course you're not going to get exactly what you have at home - that's the point of travelling. Our only complaint about breakfast was the tourist who thought it was okay to stick her finger in one of the dishes.

We had a couple of meals at the restaurant. The food was good quality and the wine was quite nice. It was very pleasant sitting at the open window, on the quiet street, away from the crowds in Pub Street.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrHanAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#121 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reflections Art Boutique Hotel
Reflections Art Boutique Hotel
#122 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#69 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#82 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa
Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa
#92 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City River Hotel

Property: City River Hotel
Address: 0511, Achasva Street, Wat Bo, Siem Reap 93 171, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#54 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#62 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#67 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City River Hotel is beautifully located on the bank of Siem Reap River. Our superb location offers our guests the unique experience of peacefulness in a lively city. We’re just a walking distance away from the ever popular Pub Street and Night Market.The roof-top swimming pool is the only one of its kind in Siem Reap. Guests will enjoy the spectacular views of the city and sunset while sipping away the delicious cocktails on the poolside bar. This experience can only be found exclusively at City River Hotel.Our Deluxe rooms are beautifully decorated with all standard amenities and a balcony overlooking the city. In addition, guests are able to pamper themselves with the traditional Khmer massage at our Massage Center after spending a long day at the wonderful temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your City River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City River Siem Reap
Hotel City River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing