We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooftop swimming pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of City River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City River Hotel
Ranked #87 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice rooftop swimming pool”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Nice and warm welcoming hotel.Very good service and hotel staff's very attentive to requests.Apart from that a very nice view from the rooftop where the swimming pool is (6th floor).Enjoyed very much during the 5 day stay there.Kudos guys and gals.Will definitely come back.Two thumbs up.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CHARLES O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    364
    76
    11
    5
See reviews for
106
336
107
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed at City River Hotel in Siem Reap in Cambodia for 12 nights and I cannot speak highly enough of the hotel.
The stay was exceptional. The city river team were available 100% of the time. The breakfast was great. My room was quiet and extremely clean. The staff were absolutely fantastic. A special mention to Sambat & Rithy, who were welcoming, learnt my name upon my first visit to the hotel & continually made sure I was comfortable and having a great time. All of the staff are so happy & polite, being greeted with a big smiling face goes a long way with me.
The hotel also has a rooftop pool and bar that are open long hours that were fantastic.
All this right in a prime location, right in town add up to an amazing stay.
A BIG HUGE thank you to City River Hotel and all of their staff for making my stay an amzing & memorable one, I cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarliScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

the location is good, located at the city.walking distance from the old market and the pub street. the hotel room is quite big, we had a queen bed, and a room with a balcony and the room is nice and clean. we ordered room service at past midnight and still they accomodate us, they have the best room service and quite cheap too.. but what made our stay a memorable one were the people working there. from our driver TUNG, (hes very nice and speaks english well), the front desk people (who was very accomodating and helpful) and all the hotel staff who made our stay an enjoyable one. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lissy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The rooms are quite large. We had two beds in the room and we had plenty of room to move around. Bathroom was good size and with good water pressure. When we first checked in, we were greeted with cold water and cold towels after a bumpy drive from Kampong Thom. The staff are very helpful and were able to correct a mistake regarding late checkout without a problem. The hotel is across form the river and it is short walk to Pub Street and close to a supermarket. We visited during the low season, so breakfast time was literally deserted. They have a made to order egg station and noodle/soup station. Some of the foods choices are a little odd ...eg over fried wieners. The cook also has to learn to cook the fried potatoes thoroughly. Somedays it was on the raw side. It was great to come back to the hotel and use the pool. It is on the roof top with good views of the city and has a bar if you are thirsty. It was very refreshing to use the pool after a hot day and was not used by many people.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spunkymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I had a very nice stay at the City River Hotel in Siem Reap. Very good service and nice staff. The hotel has one of the best roof terraces in town, includes a small bar and a pool, in addition to a 360 degrees view of the city. The rooms are nice and fulfills all basic needs, and even have their own balconies.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariusRK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
385 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

It was great to find the same smiling and enthusiastic level of service that we enjoyed so much on our last visit to this Hotel. It is perfectly located only a short walk from all the action of the Old Town, as well as a supermarket, ATM, etc. Our complimentary airport pickup was good, so we engaged the same driver for our tours around the temples. The hotel can be relied on to find you a good driver (with a car with effective A/C - an essential) and make bookings for shows, etc. We were also very pleased to enjoy a complimentary massage each, which were first class - thank you.

The beds were very hard on our last visit, and we were delighted to note that they have now added foam 'toppers' which make them now very comfortable. The menu in the pleasant restaurant remains varied, excellent and great value - it's worth 'eating in' at least one night. There's also a reasonable selection of wine. The breakfast buffet is very good too.

The only downside was the condition of the pool. The PH balance was way out of whack, and staff didn't know how to maintain the pool correctly. Fortunately, an Aussie pool professional was staying and he conducted tests and advised. However, attention should be paid to getting this excellent rooftop pool into the best condition possible for guests - it really is a huge draw card for the hotel.

Many thanks, everyone, for looking after us so well again. I have no doubt that we'll be back on our next visit.

Room Tip: Any room back from the road will be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EHinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed at City River Hotel for two weeks, unfortunately during that time I became very ill (nothing to do with the hotel) and placed on an IV drip in the hotel, the staff there were so incredible caring and helpful, thank you, thank you, thankyou! Aside from this the staff always great you with a lovely smile and truly care that you have a great day on your travels! Helpful in every way, can't recommend them enough!

Lastly the hotel is unlike most of the large chains its so close to the market and amazing food restaurants and is just by the river, it really is the perfect position for walking to all the best places Siem Reap has to offer!

Room Tip: I stayed on the 3rd floor and it was great :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Owner at City River Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Thea P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay at City River Hotel. I am so pleased to read that our people whom came in contact with you during your stay with us, and made a positive impact.

Your feedback is important for our efforts to continually enhance our standard of service. I have taken the liberty to share your feedback with all our staff. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Lastly we wish you well and full recovery.

Sincerely,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Reflections Art Boutique Hotel
Reflections Art Boutique Hotel
#116 of 337 in Siem Reap
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#119 of 337 in Siem Reap
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#65 of 337 in Siem Reap
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
0.5 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#77 of 337 in Siem Reap
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City River Hotel

Property: City River Hotel
Address: 0511, Achasva Street, Wat Bo, Siem Reap 93 171, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#54 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#62 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#64 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City River Hotel is beautifully located on the bank of Siem Reap River. Our superb location offers our guests the unique experience of peacefulness in a lively city. We’re just a walking distance away from the ever popular Pub Street and Night Market.The roof-top swimming pool is the only one of its kind in Siem Reap. Guests will enjoy the spectacular views of the city and sunset while sipping away the delicious cocktails on the poolside bar. This experience can only be found exclusively at City River Hotel.Our Deluxe rooms are beautifully decorated with all standard amenities and a balcony overlooking the city. In addition, guests are able to pamper themselves with the traditional Khmer massage at our Massage Center after spending a long day at the wonderful temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City River Siem Reap
Hotel City River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing