We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly staff”
Review of City River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
City River Hotel
Ranked #93 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really friendly staff”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Incredibly friendly staff at this hotel. Great location close to the river, market area, restaurants and pub street. Also good location for Angkor Wat.
Nice swimming pool on roof top for cooling down after a day sight seeing.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FavTravelsPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear FavTravelsPerth,

Thank you for letting us know how much you have enjoyed your recent stay at City River Hotel

We received positive comments about how convenient our location is, and we are happy to note that it has been a great convenience to our guests. Our friendly team is always happy to be at your service to ensure you are well taken care of. Your kind words have just brightened their days and definitely inspired them to do even better.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best Regards,


Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    375
    77
    11
    5
See reviews for
109
344
109
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Good bits:
very clean in all areas, especially pool which was nice.
During the day the roof top pool is often very empty and calm
Nice quiet location away from 'pub street'
Really comfy beds and decent aircon

Things to improve:
Hard to change, but the sound in the rooms wasn't good. It seemed that there were whooshing pipes which made a terrible racket and I could hear people go to the loo and wash their hands all through the night.

Service wasn't great, predominantly in the bar/restaurant. At breakfast, plates were never cleared and stations left unmanned for long periods. You had to find someone to ask for more milk/juice/tea as these weren't topped up regularly in the self service section. On our first day we were tired after travelling up from phnom penh so had lunch here and almost left, thinking the restaurant was closed, as there was no one to be seen! Finally, when you order anything from the bar or restaurant it takes a long while to be served (I ordered 2 pineapple juices, from a carton, with ice, from the pool bar (10 metres from where I was sat), he said he'd bring it over and took 10mins!!)

Food. In general wasn't great. Breakfast choice was limited and a little odd. The lunch/dinner menu doesnt describe what you actually get. Eg my chicken salad came with dried shrimp and peanuts even though this was nowhere on the menu, and my mums beef salad came with raw beef, again not written on the menu. They were kind enough to replace her dish without charge, but just worth noting when you order as its a minefield for allergy sufferers!

With a bit more of a professional outlook from the staff (they were friendly but lazy, on their phones or chatting in groups) and a simplified and improved menu this hotel would have marked considerably higher.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prudence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Prudence W,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Siem Reap and for taking the time to write about your City River Hotel experience. Your feedback is incredibly important to us and key as we continue to strive for improvement and enhancement of our service.

We are very sorry to read about the service of our restaurant staffs during yours stay. This does not in any way reflect the usual service level of City River Hotel. Kindly rest assured that training in regards to guest relations and service will be carried out to avoid such occurrence in the future. Also, we regret that our breakfast offer in our Palm Tree Restaurant did not meet your expectations. Your suggestion on the menu has been carefully noted by our Food and Beverage Manager and will be taken into account for the next review of the menu.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely


Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We appreciate a lot our stay in the City River Hotel in Siem Reap with a welcoming and smiling people at the reception and for the room service and the restaurant service.

Our stay for six nights was very enjoying and the hotel is also very well situated next to the whole temples of Angkor and contribuates to a very interesting cultural visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Eric V,

Thank you for choosing the City River Hotel as your preferred hotel for your recent trip to Siem Reap.

I am glad that our location served you very well due to its easy access to many temples, restaurants and places of interest around Pub Street and Night Market. Our friendly team is always happy to be at your service to ensure you are well taken care of. Your kind words have just brightened their days and definitely inspired them to do even better.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best Regards,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel is placed 5 minutes walk from down town. The staff was very accomodating and helpful- they even found us a private guide and car for two days to Angkor Wat. The guide was excellent, which was a break from the rest of our trip.
They had just renovated the pool area on the roof- very nice!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Magnus M,

We are grateful to you for informing us about your experience staying with us and for choosing City River Hotel as your accommodation choice.

I am delighted to know that our team made your stay even more pleasant with their friendly service. This is what we always strive for. Knowing our guests enjoyed their stays is the best reward for us. Your acknowledgement on our service is very motivating for our team to keep up their good works and do even better.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The staff are incredibly inviting, caring and the smiles never stop.
The bar by the pool was a favorite for most visitors with delicious, quality cocktails.
A very happy place to stay and I'll be back to stay again in the future.
A+++

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesseBoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear JesseBoer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay at City River Hotel

Your lovely review has certainly brightened up our days. Nothing is more rewarding than knowing how pleased you were with our service, facilities and the convenient location. Your feedback motivates us to do better to ensure that our guests have a warm and pleasant experience.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future


Best regards,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and would highly recommend this hotel. The staff from management down to the cleaners all said hello and without fail, were smiling at all times. You stay there long enough and they will know you by name.

Room was very clean at all times, even better than a lot of the1st world hotels i have stayed in. The air conditioning in the rooms was effective and you really noticed the difference once you stepped into the corridor.

Restaurant had lovely meals at a good price. My breakfast was included in my package but choices there were a fraction limited for me.

The barmen on level 6 by the pool were great and the cocktails were cheap and made extremely well

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tony_Sinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Tony_Sinclair

Thank you for letting us know how much you have enjoyed your recent stay at City River Hotel.

I am very pleased to hear how every single member of staff went out of their way to bring you a memorable stay. It has been a pleasure having you as our guest and your generous compliments for the staff, facilities and restaurant are appreciated. Your positive review will certainly motivate our team members further in providing excellent service standards

May we have the privilege of serving you again in the near future.


Best regards,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Lovely friendly staff and a nice central location.

However, the inclusive breakfast was pretty disappointing. And the hotel itself was pretty charmless. Comfortable enough, but a little bit shabby in places.

I wouldn't not recommend it - it will certainly do the job, but I'm sure there are better options around Siem Reap.

One of the main attractions for us had been the swimming pool on top. And it certainly offered great views. However, it was very heavily chlorinated, to the point where my kids wanted to come out after about 5 minutes. And on the 3 nights we spent there, staff were rebuilding the decking area immediately around the pool throughout daylight hours. Whilst this didn't render the area off limits for guests (this is Cambodia!), it kind of ruined the ambience with lots of hammering and sawing going on!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank aitchtee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear aitchtee24,

Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback, it is through your comments that we can continually improve our service standards and hotel facilities. Our guests are our highest priority and I sincerely apologies that your recent stay with us was not up to your expectations.

Please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience causes regarding the restructured decking area around the pool area. I’m happy to share that we’ve recently restructured our decking area for more safety to our guests and this reconstructed is now completed. Thanks for your comments regarding heavily chlorinated in our pool, we have taken this information on board and we will improve on these issues.

Again I am very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to recover your impression of City River Hotel.


Best regards,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#71 of 353 in Siem Reap
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#86 of 353 in Siem Reap
856 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#114 of 353 in Siem Reap
540 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayon Boutique
Bayon Boutique
#106 of 353 in Siem Reap
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City River Hotel

Property: City River Hotel
Address: 0511 Achasva Street, Wat Bo, Siem Reap 17254, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#54 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#62 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#69 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City River Hotel is beautifully located on the bank of Siem Reap River. Our superb location offers our guests the unique experience of peacefulness in a lively city. We’re just a walking distance away from the ever popular Pub Street and Night Market.The roof-top swimming pool is the only one of its kind in Siem Reap. Guests will enjoy the spectacular views of the city and sunset while sipping away the delicious cocktails on the poolside bar. This experience can only be found exclusively at City River Hotel.Our Deluxe rooms are beautifully decorated with all standard amenities and a balcony overlooking the city. In addition, guests are able to pamper themselves with the traditional Khmer massage at our Massage Center after spending a long day at the wonderful temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City River Siem Reap
Hotel City River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing