We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Angkorland Hotel
Ranked #301 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here for 3 night as part of a tour. On first view of the hotel I thought it was really nice but I was wrong. On the first night when we got back from dinner we discovered that the air-con wasn't working as it was late at night we decided to tell the about it in the morning and just go to bed. We told them in the morning about the air-con and they said they would send somebody up to look at it. We got back to the hotel after a full day touring the temples, and it still didn't work, they then told us there were no free double bed rooms with working air conditioning and we would have to stay in single beds, thankfully we had our guide with us and after he said he would arrange a new hotel, they managed to magically find another room where again, the air conditioning didn't work, then they finally found one with a working air conditioner, this process took quite a few hours, and I would imagine if we weren't on a pre organised tour with a guide we wouldn't have been given a new room. Breakfast was also really average.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Davisy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for New Angkorland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

What can I say...it's terrible, rooms were dirty, they were never cleaned while we were there. We had to keep asking for towels every day, breakfast was average and the staff were unfriendly. If I had to rate this based on my hotel experience it would get a 0.

Room Tip: Just because it has a pool it looks good....not sure how this place gets a 4 star trip advisor ratin...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

A bit old-fashioned, but clean and comfortable rooms. Safety locker was replaced swiftly. Good hot water. They value electricity, so can be a bit dark, but very very safe. We booked the tour package with a Tavel agent, frankly I was horrified with all the reviews I read, even tried to change the hotel, but couldn't. After we reached, though early at 12noon, hardly took 15 minutes to check in. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 413A_d2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The location is good, everything you need is very close, the night markets and restaurants are a fifteen minute walk, but why would you when a tuk-tuk ride is $2
Breakfast is buffet style and they make great omelettes to order (included). I don't know how many pools you think you need but they have three, that should cover it.
Interesting note: they have 'Crocodile fish' in a pond at the hotel entry, they look pretty cool but are capable of removing fingers! (so I am told).
The rooms were nice enough, A/C good, but if there is a fire on the third floor or above you're in trouble! You can see from across the building the fire stairs are being used as storage for extra chairs, tables, mattresses etc. And they are piled up, you won't get past them in a hurry.
Cambodia has not been ruined by the tourism industry yet, the people are really nice.
The beds were very hard but I've experienced that in every Asian country I've visited so far.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed there in August 2013 and here are a few "highlights" of my stay..

- Booked a Deluxe Room but was only given Superior Room. Was told that's all that was available and they refused to refund the difference in the cost of the rooms (my stay was for 6 nights as well).
- Stayed in first room for 1 night. On the second night I found the bed to be infested with bed bugs. Complained to front desk and finally someone came up to check the room - they had no idea what I was talking about initially (but they didn't seem too surprised when they actually saw all the evidence of bugs on the bed). Was given a new room but the only one available was on ground floor near massage rooms (apparently every other room was taken).
- Found several cockroaches in the new room over the next few days. I squashed them but every day after house cleaning had been the dead cockroaches weren't taken away.
- Room was on ground floor near the carpark so I was woken at 6am every day due to traffic coming in and out.
- Complained to front desk about all the issues - they were totally disinterested and the only offer of compensation was a free transfer to the airport when I left. I only got to speak to the manager after I mentioned leaving a negative review on Trip Advisor (only spoke to the manager by telephone as he wasn't at the hotel for some reason).

Besides this, security seems totally lacking... you have to leave your room key with the front desk when you leave the hotel but there is no ID check when you pick it up - just give your room number and they give you a key. Food at the restaurant wasn't great either.

There are plenty of other hotels in Siem Reap so I recommend going somewhere else if you're looking for somewhere to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room type you've paid for - they will happily downgrade you and refuse to...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nzerdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at this Hotel again in July 2013. We had been very happy with our previous 2 stays but our last stay was somewhat disappointing. There was a marked deterioration in both hotel service and food.
The previous visits we had been given large twin rooms (the twin beds are large enough to be used as a double), however this time we had to ask for a room change. We were given an exceptionally small room (wasn't large enough to put our suitcases anywhere) and no internet access.
There was a lot of fruit fly surrounding the breakfast fruit, on 1 day there also wasn't any toaster.
The pool, which was usually clean and well maintained was green for the first 24-hrs. They also leased the pool out to the local swim teacher on Saturdays so for 2.5-hrs each Sat afternoon you are surrounded by 23 children dressed in life vests dive bombing throughout the pool. There was no escape from the noise in your room as the teacher came fully equipped with a pea-whistle (just in case you wanted to rest). Around 5pm each evening they let the guests from the guest house across the road (most of a back-packer appearance) pay a nominal fee to come and use the pool. At one stage an extra 52 young travellers converged in the pool fully equipped with bottles of bear in the water for a very loud party.
The internet facilities were very spasmodic and would only work in the lobby. At one stage we lost all internet connection for 2-days.
We were very disappointed in the deterioration in services at this hotel. We had been happy staying there on our previous visits.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony facing the pool will allow you to get some internet access from the balcony. A...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pgarnett2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed at the New Angkorland Hotel for four nights while visiting Siem Reap to see the temples in the surrounding area. The hotel is nice, but definitely has an 80s feel to it in terms of decor. The room was comfortable, with reliable AC, comfortable linens, and a large bathroom. We had a room facing the courtyard which wasn't the best, as the pool noise can be quite loud in the late afternoon/early evening. I had a one hour massage in the hotel for $10 USD - slightly more than one could pay on pub street. However, it was a beautiful private room with AC and a lovely ambiance. The hotel is about an 8-10 minute walk away from Pub street which is nice. The breakfast in the morning includes fruits and veggies, juices, breads, and hot items like fried rice, sausages, and pancakes. There is also someone there to make eggs fresh to your liking. Look for this hotel on a deal - don't pay full price as stated on their website. It would be worth no more than $40 per night in that area.

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing the pool
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessicav85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Mekong Angkor Palace Hotel
Mekong Angkor Palace Hotel
#145 of 361 in Siem Reap
248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Neak Pean Hotel
Neak Pean Hotel
#312 of 361 in Siem Reap
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel
Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel
#237 of 361 in Siem Reap
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Silk D'Angkor Boutique Hotel
Silk D'Angkor Boutique Hotel
#64 of 361 in Siem Reap
990 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holy Angkor Hotel
Holy Angkor Hotel
#259 of 361 in Siem Reap
8 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angkor Riviera Hotel
Angkor Riviera Hotel
#249 of 361 in Siem Reap
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Angkorland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Angkorland Hotel

Address: Taphul Road, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £25 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Angkorland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Angkorland Hotel is located in the heart of Siem Reap and offers rooms with satellite TV. It has an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi and parking and a restaurant. Rooms at the New Angkorland Hotel features hardwood floors and 24-hour room service. Private bathrooms come with bathtub. DVD players are available upon request.Guests can exercise at the hotel’s fitness room or relax in the jacuzzi. The hotel has a business center and a children’s pool. New Angkorland Hotel is a 15-minute drive from the Siem Reap Angkor International Airport. Free airport pick-up is provided upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Angkorland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angkorland Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing