We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good But Not Great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Villa Siem Reap

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Villa Siem Reap
Ranked #75 of 334 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good But Not Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2008

We booked the three day package at The Villa based on reviews by others. The place was very clean and tidy but I don't believe that it warrants the glowing reports given by some other reviews. We had emailed the Villa a few days before arriving to arrange a pick up from the bus station but when we arrived there was no Tuk Tuk driver there for us. No problem in getting one but not a good start.

Our Tuk Tuk driver and guide supplied by the Villas were great. We had the guide for two days and he was able to take us to areas around the temples that no-one else knew about.

The drinks and cocktails at the bar are very cheap but then they are cheap anywhere in Siem Reap. We had one meal at the Villa which was good but we found that the restaurants in the alleyway off Pub Street were cheaper and had a better selection of food.

Our main complaint was the bill when we came to book out. Added to the bill was the cost of the temple packed lunches and the guide. Both of these were meant to be included in the cost of the package. In the end the staff did remove these from the bill but mainly because we were not going to pay until they did.

Overall good but you are paying for someone else to do all the arranging for you.

  • Liked — That everything was arranged for you
  • Disliked — They ablility to get the bill correct
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    267
    57
    21
    15
See reviews for
123
320
141
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI - USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2008

On our honeymoon we stayed in a villa bungalow for the "3 nights lots of luxury package" which we had booked on the internet. The room was beautiful and clean. On our arrival we were given some yummy cocktails and a wine and chocolate basket. The rest of our stay there was lovely....we really enjoyed our tours of the temples and added on a trip to the Tonle Sap, which was really worthwhile. And our tuk-tuk driver, Mr. Han, was awesome. He was helpful, courteous and one of the neatest parts of our stay in Siem Reap was chatting with him and learning bits and pieces of local history.
The only thing we didn't like about the Villa was the fact that the breakfast and temple packs that are included weren't enough food so we always had to order extra. The meals with extra items were quite tasty (try the french toast-mmm!) but the costs add up. Also we bought bottled water from the restaurant, which was actually at a good price, but we'd have preferred if they had purified water available so that we could just drink that (and use it to fill our water bottles) instead of having to create so much plastic trash by getting bottled water each day.
Overall we really enjoyed our accommodation a lot and would definitely recommend it!! The package was a good idea- we never had to worry about finding transport or booking activities so we just got to see a lot in a short amount of time.

  • Liked — Our tuk-tuk driver Mr. Han and the French toast breakfast
  • Disliked — The fact that the temple packs and breakfast weren't very large
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 4mango1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2008

Thot I should do my part to contribute a review since I depended so much on the reviews in Trip Advisor during my preparation for this trip ...

My friends and I (altogether 8 of us) returned recently from a 3-night stay at The Villa Siem Reap under the Lots of Luxury package. We went away feeling very happy that we decided to give this B&B place a try (as opposed to spending a lot more money in a more luxurious hotel). We experienced much of what has already been said about this place.

Briefly, the good ...
1. The Villa is very nicely done up and gives a cosy, homely feel.
2. Rooms are spacious and clean (very important!) with fresh towels given every day.
3. We had no problems settling the accounts (perhaps bec we were conscious of what's included/not included in the package).
4. Staff are all very polite and eager to meet your needs.
5. We had a van, driver and guide with us throughout the 3 days. Mr Lim (the guide) and Mr Som (the driver) were absolute gems - they were always punctual and so very very patient and sensitive to our needs (not easy, given that we were 8 independent "middle-aged", fun-loving ladies who loved lots of photo-taking, shopping, needed lots of coffee breaks, massages, etc ... ). They planned just enough temple visits, brought us to great eating places, massage places, gave us tips on where to get good deals for stuff, etc .. Must also mention that Mr Lim is a young man who was able to inject humour in his sharing of the history of the temples. It made the temple visits so much more interesting. Thanks, guys!

The not-so-good (some very minor, but may be good to take note of) ...

1. Room 205 had a broken shower head holder & aircon was not cold (reported, but guess, it takes time to get rectified).
2. There were lots & lots of mosquitoes (esp outside the rooms) - fortunately, we brought our own mosquito patches, repellant, etc .. to augment to electrical repellant provided in each room.
3. No pool (would be great to have one that we can dip in after a hot day out).

Some F&B comments:
1. The coffee served during breakfast (both local and Nescafe) was far too thin - bring your own coffee if you need your "oomph-ful" morning fix. We had to unabashedly ask for more spoonfuls of coffee powder or Nescafe each morning. Otherwise, breakfast was good (esp the simple toast!).
2. The only other meal we had at the Villa was the BBQ - yummy stuff (esp the sausages), but not much variety (maybe we were expecting crabs, prawns, chicken, etc .. :)
3. The temple packs were ok - we like the sunset pack that included the wine and cold towels (very nice touch!). But as mentioned by other reviewers, the pack is rather light, so be prepared to do another "dinner" after that.
4. The hotel does not have any thermos flask or water heating unit, so making your own cup of coffee/tea any time of the day/night is out. Be prepared to buy lots of bottled water (from nearby "mini-marts" as they are much cheaper).

Overall, all of us are more than pleased to have chosen The Villa Siem Reap and the 3-night package - it all added to the very enjoyable time we all had in Siem Reap.

  • Liked — Simple, tasteful decor and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — No pool, no
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank papoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2008

Although maybe slightly more expensive than some of the other guesthouse options in Siem Reap, The Villa is proof that you get what you pay for. Lovely big rooms, spotlessly clean, good breakfast and additional menu - the 'all you can eat' barbecue is a must. Great selection of trip variations available, tuk tuk drivers on standby, management very committed to offering a superior service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fugee96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2008

We stayed here for a 4 night package tour plus two extra nights. We stayed in two superior rooms and a garden bungalow. Both were very nice, the bungalow was excellent. The tour we booked included a very friendly driver and great tour guide and some of the best places around Angkor Wat and Siem Reap. I was glad they offered more to tour than just temples. We got to see real Cambodia and the hotel has many ways to give back to the community which I really liked. The restaurant was good and had great specials like all you can eat Aussie BBQ. The garden style restaurant was cozy and nice to sit in an eat. The Villa is located around nothing too special, but is a short walk from the Old Market area, they provide handy maps. Overall it was a relaxing and pleasing stay.

  • Liked — cleanliness and charity options
  • Disliked — nothing imparticular
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank echamness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

We stayed 5 days/4 nights in 2 superior rooms that were clean and in a good condition. This includes hot water in the bathrooms. Everything was reasonable to very reasonable including the service, pricing of the goods in the mini-fridge and the quality of the food served. The only real problem encountered during our stay was actually beyond the control of the villa staff - the mosquitoes. Both inside the rooms and on the corridor they were some mosquito repellents placed and working all the time but it looked like the mosquitoes were kind of not aware of their presence and willingly entered the rooms via the gaps under the doors. You may want to seal the gap just before bed time with a wet towel or something like this.
The food served downstairs in the pretty cosy restaurant was generally good and in generous quantities but we missed a better choice of local dishes. The Villa is located almost in the city center (ca 15 min walk). Nothing really nice about the direct surrounding but this is the Cambodian reality.

  • Liked — cleanness, room conditions
  • Disliked — nothing particular
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amdsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2008

My niece and I booked The Villa Treehouse which is a beautiful 2 story house with 3 bedrooms, a complete kitchen and our very own tuk-tuk driver, Leng. We had lunch a couple of times at the Villa and everything was great and served with smile. We also booked two tours thur the Villa, one which we especially enjoyed called Art for Life. One of the best afternoons I have ever spent anywhere. It was simply 4 hours interacting with orphans thru art. Believe me no artistic talent is actually necessary..the kids have enough for all of us! I would recommend the Treehouse to anyone who wants to self sufficient, but with all the necessary things to make a trip really enjoyable. With 3 bedrooms and 2 large terraces, there is plenty of room for a larger group of friends or family. I will definately go back..in fact, I wouldn't mind moving in permanently!

  • Liked — Location in a 'typical' neighborhood rather than in town, but still convenient with own tuk-tuk driver which is included.
  • Disliked — Nothing not to like!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#76 of 334 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Medamrei
Villa Medamrei
#82 of 334 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#119 of 334 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Um Theara
Villa Um Theara
#160 of 334 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#32 of 334 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kouprey Hotel
Kouprey Hotel
#86 of 334 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Siem Reap

Property: The Villa Siem Reap
Address: 153 Ta Phul Rd | Svaydangkum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#42 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#57 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Villa Siem Reap 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Siem Reap offers the best central location, fantastic rooms, and the best service in Siem Reap. Information is available on touring the best of Siem Reaps temples and other attractions. All rooms have AC,HW,Safe,Mini Bar and Satelite TV. The Villa looks forward to welcoming you and being part of your Siem Reap adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your The Villa Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Siem Reap Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing