We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
Ranked #99 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed at the Steung Siem Reap for 8 nights and could not fault it in any way. The staff were polite and always smiling and the room was large, well equipped and spotless. I stayed in room 229 which overlooked the swimming pool and the Buddhist Wat next door. It was a lovely room with the wooden floors and teak style furniture. Everything was supplied - hot drinks, toiletries, hairdryer, robes and slippers. The power shower was amazing and certainly relieved the aches I got from the long flight to Cambodia! Good variety of food available...breakfast and lunches. I used the pool every day and it was a godsend after trapsing around the temples in the stifling heat. Some other reviews said it was freezing but I found it just the right temperature...may be because it was so hot when I was there! The location of the hotel is second to none - very central - literally seconds to town, the night markets and The Alley. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I emailed the hotel in advance and asked for a room on a high floor - I didn't get this but was...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Django987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
There are newer reviews for Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 915 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

I just completed a five night stay at the Steung Siem Reap Hotel.

This hotel has a perfect location, right in the heart of all the day and night activity yet just far away so that you hear no noise at night. I had a deluxe room with a balcony facing the street and noise was never an issue.

Hotel rooms are large and beautiful. Towels are old and need to be upgraded. The breakfast was somewhat limited but okay. Swimming pool only got sun from early morning until about 1:00 p.m. and the water was very cold.

The staff at the hotel couldn't have been nicer or more friendly. Great group of people.

Overall, a great place to stay in Siem Reap if you are looking for a 3.5* hotel.

Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Request a room in the building with the swimming pool.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights with my family during Christmas. It was a wonderful stay for us.
Location of the hotel is excellent which is just a walking distance to the old and new night markets for shopping. Just across the road is the popular Pub Street where you can dine and wine in the many restaurants.
Although the buffet breakfast is quite basic with some western and local foods, it is enough to fill our stomachs before we set out for the great exploration of Angkor Wat. My children stayed in a triple bedded room which is clean and quite spacious. As for the parents, we stayed in corner room which is very spacious.

Wit such an excellent location, it is advisable to book early.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The breakfast selection is good. Only grouse - you will walk out smelling of fried eggs as the egg station is located right at the entrance and there is no exhaust for the the fumes to escape.

The customer service can be better though:
1: although we had a twin share room (2 person to a room) - we were only given 1 room keycard despite our request for another. The reply was a curt "it is not possible".

2: there were only 1 pillow each on the bed. we had to go down personally to the reception (we tried to call from our room but no one answered) to ask for more - again the quota was 1 extra pillow per guest. I asked for 2 extra as the pillow on my bed was very soft. The reply was again a curt "it is not possible".

3: although it was advertised that free WiFi is available, we need to ask for the password and network is not stable. On our 3rd day, they changed the password, but we were not informed of that. Only when we enquire, that they gave us the new password. It was frustrating in that sense.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeeBo1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed at the Steung Siem Reap as part of a work conference and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

I was a little dubious when I found out we were staying in a 3.5* hotel, as we are used to being put up in 4-5* hotels for business trips. However I was very pleasantly surprised and impressed by the quality of hotel, given it was only rated as 3.5*.

The rooms were very spacious, the beds comfortable and the traditional architecture just gorgeous. The pool was a little chilly, however after a stinking hot day walking around Angkor Wat, it's just what was needed.

The location was absolutely fantastic, with Pub Street being a mere 5mins walk away. Tuk tuk's were always readily on hand and it never cost more than a few dollars to get anywhere.

I would most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Siem Reap!

Room Tip: The rooms on the pool side of the hotel are a bit quieter and have lovely views over the pool
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cat-aaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Everything was great except the POOL it was freezing!!
top marks to the Staff- cleanliness of the rooms- the ambiance-location

Room Tip: So close to markets, Pub Street, plenty of Tuk Tuks available.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoeaholic195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The Steung Siem Reap was everything the other reviewers have said it was....central location, very friendly staff, clean, great breakfast, well-priced. We spent 3 nights there and truly had no complaints until a strange incident happened as we were leaving. We had paid our bill the night before, and we were loading the car to head to the airport. Staff ran out, called us back in and accused us of staining a bath towel! Perhaps they separate the towels by room when doing the laundry? Do they use bleach or soap? They demanded $8 (which could replace far more than one towel), and as we were needing to get to the airport and not really thinking, we paid the cash and left. I suppose we should have paid by credit card and taken the towel with us; we wonder how many times they have used this money grab on other travelers. We were shocked and quite bewildered. The sad part was that we were on the verge of recommending the hotel to the tour company we had just spent 17 days with in Vietnam. That's history, obviously. We do advise the management to adjust policy on this most ridiculous incident. This was a first for us both, as well-travelled adults of grandparent age!

To sum up, enjoy your stay at the Steung but make sure you don't get chased out with a towel bill :-)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Latoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
1920 Hotel
1920 Hotel
#74 of 361 in Siem Reap
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#122 of 361 in Siem Reap
552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#70 of 361 in Siem Reap
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#13 of 361 in Siem Reap
776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#93 of 361 in Siem Reap
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel

Address: Street 9, Mondul I, Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#68 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#74 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £27 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel is one of the few remaining historical buildings in Siem Reap strongly constructed by the rich heritage of Khmer Culture blended with French Architecture. The Hotel has its own unique theme with Khmer handmade furniture located in the French Colonial block. More importantly, the hotel construction dated back to its origin in 1930s since French colonial era. With its 76 beautiful, elegant and charming rooms decorated and furnished with Khmer Handmade products along with our modern hotel facilities and services, Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel extended our Khmer hospitality to make your stay in Siem Reap enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Steung Siemreap
Steung Siemreap Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing