We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steung Siemreap Hotel
Ranked #102 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

This is a fantastic hotel to stay at. The rooms are large, clean, has a great pool. It's in a great location close to all the night life. We had a room facing the street but didn't hear any noise.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    397
    107
    26
    13
See reviews for
163
339
103
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We heartily recommend this hotel 100%. We travelled as 3couples and stayed at Steung Siemreap Hotel for 4nights on from Feb27 - March02,2012. We got 3 "deluxe" rooms on the swimming pool side of the hotel with pool view and balcony. Here's just a few facts why we "love" this hotel and will come back to stay and recommend the hotel to anyone we know who will visit Siemreap. We did so much research before our trip and lucky to come across this hotel recommended by another TA traveler.

Reason 1 is their hotel room, we got "deluxe" rooms, quiet, pool view, balcony,roomy-high-ceiling, AC, clean,nicely decorated, everything was supplied from TV with local channels, "my wife had cambodian music channel on the whole time, eventhough we couldn't understand a word, but it got us in the mood of being in their country", fully loaded supplied of toiletries, fridge, your own electric tea-kettle, hairdryer, bathrobes, slippers, 2free bottles of water everyday, coffee-creamer-sugar etc.....anything else you need within reasons just call front-desk OR anything you are unhappy about the room, just let them know and they will accomodate you to the best of their capabilities and availability.

Reason 2: The atmosphere. Reason why I said this is because they truely practice "hospitality". Each staff has interpret "hospitality" concept into their own signature, none of them are alike. They are great people, full of sincerity politeness, helpful, smile, acknowledge you whenever or wherever they see you. I don't feel because we paid their paycheck, how honest can you said you have been to 4-6* hotel and the staffs sincerely acknowledge you and attempt to remember your name. They are curious about you as a human being, if you give them the time of day to interact with them; they will share more about their ways of life, knowledges....etc.... We were impressed with all of them, and people that help us the most were Myoura(male) and Kimmech(female) at the front-desk.

Reason 3: The Food. To us it was a generous, good varieties available everyday, cleanly prepared-displayed, and fill up just as fast when the food are gone. There's a chef available to you every morning to prepare your choice of how your eggs should be cooked.

Reason 4: The Pool. To us it wasn't cold like Calif.water in the 60degrees year round. Cool water and felt good to jump in after our temples hikes under hot sun. Try their hot-sour chicken wings...it's so crunchyyy and yummy, great pool side order.

Reason 5: Option of having a kitchenette room.

Reason 6: NO tuk tuk needed, money saving expense. You are walking distance to everything to explore in the morning or at night, litterally 1minute walk to Pub street, 5minutes walk to the old market, night market, or "new" night market, shop until you drop and it's all in walking distance.

Recommendations:
Use mosquitos spray if you are going out at night, your feet, toes or arms...etc...

There a market store near by, go buy water, sodas, beer...as you need and stock up in your fridge. ***if you are hiking and out all day, remember to put a bottle or 2 of your water in the freezer slot overnite, when you leave the next day out on your outting, the ice bottle water will help you cool down and you have cold water to drink at hands.

Eat at Aha restaurant if you can splurged, food is excellent, service is okay.
Eat at Selandra if you can splurged, food is good and attentive services, they are right there within good distance; and give you full eye-contacts incase you need anything. They greet you, give you cold-scented towels to clean your hands before eating. Try Banana Blossom and chicken salad, it's to die for, full of flavor.

***Warning***Eat at Abacus if you can spluged, the burger is awesome if you misses home and need a burger. Burger is big with fries, can be shared by 2. This is a french-cambodian fusion. The burger is cooked to your liking, gourmet, flavorful, BUT the services is terrible if you ask me; and I'm a go with the flow type of guy. The male-service person didn't even bother to greet, introduce himself, no clean towels, no free water***not even tap, didn't even want to explain, offer any meal-suggestions, you are pretty much needs to know what you like. I went there for a burger because I have been travelling for 15days already and salivating-dreaming for a good old burger; so I sucked it up, just eat my burger and left. And thankful for all other places have been giving me great services.

Buy stuffs - my wife said: remember to bargainnnnn, whatever price they give you, cut it in 1/2 and go up from there.

Try Dr Fish massage......one of those fish tank where you dip your feet in. Go with the one that has little fish if it's your first time. It's cool.

Massage - it's so cheap and good for your health. $6/hour at Kimmech's sister massage palor, just a 5min walk from the hotel. (Kimmech - front desk lady at Steung Hotel). Hotel price is pricey in my opinion.

Good luck! I was greatful for such an experience that this country has given me; may this info help you all make good choices in your travelling.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BruceM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed at the Steung Siem Reap for 8 nights and could not fault it in any way. The staff were polite and always smiling and the room was large, well equipped and spotless. I stayed in room 229 which overlooked the swimming pool and the Buddhist Wat next door. It was a lovely room with the wooden floors and teak style furniture. Everything was supplied - hot drinks, toiletries, hairdryer, robes and slippers. The power shower was amazing and certainly relieved the aches I got from the long flight to Cambodia! Good variety of food available...breakfast and lunches. I used the pool every day and it was a godsend after trapsing around the temples in the stifling heat. Some other reviews said it was freezing but I found it just the right temperature...may be because it was so hot when I was there! The location of the hotel is second to none - very central - literally seconds to town, the night markets and The Alley. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I emailed the hotel in advance and asked for a room on a high floor - I didn't get this but was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Django987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I just completed a five night stay at the Steung Siem Reap Hotel.

This hotel has a perfect location, right in the heart of all the day and night activity yet just far away so that you hear no noise at night. I had a deluxe room with a balcony facing the street and noise was never an issue.

Hotel rooms are large and beautiful. Towels are old and need to be upgraded. The breakfast was somewhat limited but okay. Swimming pool only got sun from early morning until about 1:00 p.m. and the water was very cold.

The staff at the hotel couldn't have been nicer or more friendly. Great group of people.

Overall, a great place to stay in Siem Reap if you are looking for a 3.5* hotel.

Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Request a room in the building with the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights with my family during Christmas. It was a wonderful stay for us.
Location of the hotel is excellent which is just a walking distance to the old and new night markets for shopping. Just across the road is the popular Pub Street where you can dine and wine in the many restaurants.
Although the buffet breakfast is quite basic with some western and local foods, it is enough to fill our stomachs before we set out for the great exploration of Angkor Wat. My children stayed in a triple bedded room which is clean and quite spacious. As for the parents, we stayed in corner room which is very spacious.

Wit such an excellent location, it is advisable to book early.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

The breakfast selection is good. Only grouse - you will walk out smelling of fried eggs as the egg station is located right at the entrance and there is no exhaust for the the fumes to escape.

The customer service can be better though:
1: although we had a twin share room (2 person to a room) - we were only given 1 room keycard despite our request for another. The reply was a curt "it is not possible".

2: there were only 1 pillow each on the bed. we had to go down personally to the reception (we tried to call from our room but no one answered) to ask for more - again the quota was 1 extra pillow per guest. I asked for 2 extra as the pillow on my bed was very soft. The reply was again a curt "it is not possible".

3: although it was advertised that free WiFi is available, we need to ask for the password and network is not stable. On our 3rd day, they changed the password, but we were not informed of that. Only when we enquire, that they gave us the new password. It was frustrating in that sense.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeBo1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed at the Steung Siem Reap as part of a work conference and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

I was a little dubious when I found out we were staying in a 3.5* hotel, as we are used to being put up in 4-5* hotels for business trips. However I was very pleasantly surprised and impressed by the quality of hotel, given it was only rated as 3.5*.

The rooms were very spacious, the beds comfortable and the traditional architecture just gorgeous. The pool was a little chilly, however after a stinking hot day walking around Angkor Wat, it's just what was needed.

The location was absolutely fantastic, with Pub Street being a mere 5mins walk away. Tuk tuk's were always readily on hand and it never cost more than a few dollars to get anywhere.

I would most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Siem Reap!

Room Tip: The rooms on the pool side of the hotel are a bit quieter and have lovely views over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cat-aaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#106 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#67 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Terrasse des Elephants
Terrasse des Elephants
#180 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#9 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ta Prohm Hotel
Ta Prohm Hotel
#160 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steung Siemreap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steung Siemreap Hotel

Property: Steung Siemreap Hotel
Address: Street 9, Mondul I, Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#68 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#76 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Steung Siemreap Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steung Siemreap Hotel is one of the few remaining historical buildings in Siem Reap strongly constructed by the rich heritage of Khmer Culture blended with French Architecture. The Hotel has its own unique theme with Khmer handmade furniture located in the French Colonial block. More importantly, the hotel construction dated back to its origin in 1930s since French colonial era. With its 76 beautiful, elegant and charming rooms decorated and furnished with Khmer Handmade products along with our modern hotel facilities and services, Steung Siemreap Hotel extended our Khmer hospitality to make your stay in Siem Reap enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Steung Siemreap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Steung Siemreap
Steung Siemreap Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing