We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location and very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steung Siemreap Hotel
Ranked #101 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ideal location and very comfortable”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The rooms are large and spacious, the staff are always smiling and friendly and the air-conditioned hotel is perfect to return to after a day visiting temples. The bed was very comfortable and this hotel was recently refurbished. WiFi works well, in fact everything is in good working order. Full complimentary breakfast which caters to both Asian and European taste.
Everything is within walking distance, Pub Street, Old Market, Night Market and River. I would definitely suggest shopping along the River if you prefer a less frenetic form of haggling. A tour by Tuk Tuk or trip to Temples by Tuk Tuk also highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    401
    107
    26
    13
See reviews for
164
343
103
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, and had a great time. The location is unbeatable, RIGHT next to pub street and Old Market, but a little bit out of the way so not noisy at all.

The rooms were spacious and clean, as was the entire hotel. Beds very comfy. Buffet breakfast was good. Pool was really nice.

Staff were very friendly, though we needed to organise all our own tours etc. as the hotel didn't have a tour desk and the staff didn't seem overly keen to assist (though I noticed all hotels I stayed at in Cambodia were the same). There are many tour shops on Pub St/Old Market area though so it didn't really bother us.

Overall, an excellent stay and great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonSyd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

+ Great location. The hotel is literally right on the corner of the pub street and the old market.
+ Lovely but small swimming pool. We didn't see any people there, so we had the pool for ourselves the entire time while we were there.
- Communication problem. Staff members don't really understand English except basic English.
- Our room look old and has a funny smell.
- Quality of breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights during my stay at Siem Reap at the end of Sept. This hotel is one of the choices of my package tour.

The location of this hotel is perfect, the Old Market is just around the corner, while the Pub Street is just 2 mins walk. It's only a 15mins walk to the largest shopping mall, the Lucky Mall at Siem Reap from the hotel, so I didn't need to spend any $$ on tuk tuk, as short distance tuk tuk usually takes around US1 or 2.

The hotel serves buffet breakfast. The choice was not that much, but you could still have a full breakfast. This hotel also provides a breakfast box service if you go to watch the sunrise and leaves the hotel early in the morning, I appreciate this service very much!

The front desk staff was very polite and nice, he once helped me to call my tuk tuk driver by using his own mobile without any charge on me!

I was quite satisfied with the serivce and location of this hotel, but there's one issue I would like to point out, I didn't open the window of my room as I saw there was many unused stuff on the window balcony. It would be fine if the hotel can clear all those unused stuff on the balcony.

Room Tip: Great location.......it's perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

So disappointed. We were so looking forward to staying in what sounded like a lovely hotel. Booked this hotel 8 1/2 months ago after viewing great reviews on trip advisor. We made very specific room requests for our small group. At no time were we contacted to advise of any rooming issues. On arrival we were informed our requested rooms were not available due to hotel being renovated and that we would be housed in the hotel across the road. This was interesting considering people were clearly staying in the so called construction site. We ran the gamut of lies and excuses from we don't understand you, we don't have your booking, its locked in another office so we cant access it til tomorrow, the manager is not here etc. An hour and a half later all unfolded as we found they were holding our booking form in their hand the whole time, the hotel renovations were an excuse to cover over-booking. The alternative rooms they were offering in the old hotel were below the standard we booked and expected. We could get the gist of what they were saying in Cambodian and it was a different story to the one they were telling us in English. We spoke to our booking agency, who investigated; they agreed we were being offered a lower standard of accommodation, that they had over-booked and agreed to terminate our booking. We ended up in a hotel half the price and were much happier with our treatment and the rooms. See review of New Riverside.

Room Tip: Don't believe your booking will be honoured and don't accept their reasons as they will say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth , West Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Not a good start as reception looks rather old and dirty and then ,reception told us they had no record of our booking.Fortunately, they did give us a room as we had all our records,including booking numbers etc. In the end,we emailed our agent at home and Anushka at Harvey World, had it sorted in no time. It was the fault of the hotel but we never received an apology, either verbally or in writing..We were in the right hand side of the street where everything seemed so much more appealing. Nice reception area,lovely hallways and the rooms were large and looked clean.,with all the usual facilities,including free wifi. Upon closer inspection we found the bath had a very large gap in the grouting and when standing in the bath to shower, it seemed like a water bed.the mirror light was stuck together with tape and although rooms were cleaned regularly and linen changed, the pillow cases were very worn one day. The breakfast was adequate, if a little boring. The staff,particularly on our side of the property were friendly and helpful. We had a little balcony with a view of the town. The hotel was old French colonial and quite attractive.
The hotel is situated in 9th street, with the old market on the next corner, eating places all around,walking distance to Pub street and the Alley, for more. Restaurants, the river and the lovely temple. The hotel is mainly run by very young staff and that may be the problem, they don't understand that tourists want certain qualities as standard in an hotel.
Would we go there again ?......we would because the hotel was not bad enough to reject it's ideal location.

Room Tip: Street side, opposite main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omacarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

When picking a hotel in a new city, we like to be careful in our pick and then trust the hotel to make other arrangements for us. This worked wonderful for this hotel.

Location: This hotel is the perfect location. It is a close walk to the pub street so you can go out at all hours for food and drink. (There is a Mexican place right on the corner - the frozen Margaritas were such a relief when it was hot.) We tried many local restaurants and hit quite a few on the night light spots as well.

Transportation: The hotel arranged a TukTuk driver for the length of our stay. He was available whenever we want to head somewhere. We found visiting Angkor Wat in the morning taking a break in the middle of the day and heading back in the evening was good for us. The hotel also arranged a trip out to the floating villages. Our TukTuk driver had to take us quite a ways away so we could see a non-tourist floating village. We also had the TukTuk driver take us to the airport when we checked out.

Hotel Amenities: The pool is very nice and very clean. However, be warned, it is a chilled pool. Considered a luxury there, they keep it cold for the hot days. To cold for me but my husband loved to get in and cool down. Breakfast was good and had variety. Nice way to start a long day. If you leave before the kitchen opens (to see the sunrise at Angkor Wat) they will prepare a sack breakfast to take along.

We were three adults traveling together and being able to book a triple was a big help. Our room was large and accommodated all of us easily.

This is not a 'five star' accommodation compared to big city five star resorts, but a hotel like this in the middle of Siem Reap was a real find.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 0TravelTime0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#109 of 342 in Siem Reap
538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#70 of 342 in Siem Reap
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ta Prohm Hotel
Ta Prohm Hotel
#167 of 342 in Siem Reap
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#10 of 342 in Siem Reap
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cheathata Suites Hotel
Cheathata Suites Hotel
#53 of 342 in Siem Reap
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steung Siemreap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steung Siemreap Hotel

Property: Steung Siemreap Hotel
Address: Street 9, Mondul I, Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#68 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#74 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Steung Siemreap Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steung Siemreap Hotel is one of the few remaining historical buildings in Siem Reap strongly constructed by the rich heritage of Khmer Culture blended with French Architecture. The Hotel has its own unique theme with Khmer handmade furniture located in the French Colonial block. More importantly, the hotel construction dated back to its origin in 1930s since French colonial era. With its 76 beautiful, elegant and charming rooms decorated and furnished with Khmer Handmade products along with our modern hotel facilities and services, Steung Siemreap Hotel extended our Khmer hospitality to make your stay in Siem Reap enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Steung Siemreap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Steung Siemreap
Steung Siemreap Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing