We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional spot with a salt water pool.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
Ranked #102 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Functional spot with a salt water pool.”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Hit up the Steung in Siem Reap on an REI cycling tour from Saigon. It was nice to strip down and dive into the salt water pool after all that biking (we rinsed first, I think).

The hotel staff was friendly and the rooms were comfortable. The hotel is within walking distance of a lot of shops and an outdoor market. Of note, you can buy a lot of meds from the pharmacies here without a Rx for cheap, so it may be an opportunity to stock up on antibiotics and the like if you happen to be planning a medical trip elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank japangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    404
    107
    26
    13
See reviews for
166
345
104
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here 3 nights as part of an Intrepid tour and would definitely stay here if I ever go back. Close enough to walk to everything. Pub street nearby. There is a great bar with a pool table directly across the road where the atmosphere is incredibly friendly without being too loud like Pub street. Hotel has a pool. Best of all, in the middle of summer (40c + every day) the airconditioner in the foyer and the rooms was among the best I come across in a month. Curtains that kept ALOT of light out so good sleep was easy to come by. Front desk service were more than willing to help out finding places.

Room Tip: Any room with a balcony overlooking the front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N_M_Traveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

If you plan to have some escape nights in the busy Pub street (and around), there is no better choice than this hotel. On top of this, low season rate are quite interesting. I only stayed stayed there once but I would really recommend this hotel.

We got a standard room (facing the street), but it was quiet. Room are of good size. We had one problem with the showerhead and report it; but the problem was not fixed during our stay (5 nights). This is the only weak point that I can remember.

Buffet breakfast is pretty good (croissants are one of the best in Siem Reap) and varied, bedding is very good as well. Personnel was also very friendly (as most are in Siem Reap). A nice stay indeed!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZowieZiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Siem Reap itself have such an attraction iwth so many things to see...and certainly staying at this hotel complimented it in every way.
We recently stayed in this hotel during one of our visits to Siem Reap. This hotel tops it on atmosphere, location, staff and good quality rooms.
We love the scent of lemongrass envoloping the place and is always refreshing and relaxing everytime we walk into the lobby. Though it is not a big hotel, it is comfortable enough and certainly welcoming. The place provides a business centre too if that is a plus to any business trips around this area.
The hotel could not have been in a better place! Temple is opposite the road, market is literally 80 paces away from the doorstep, 5mins walk to the night markets, a pub next door for a quick drink, 2mins to a supermarket to buy your necessities...what more could you ask for? This is where we would want to stay if we were to come back again.
The staff is so friendly and we really feel at home. they are very helpful in terms of accommodating to our needs but also full of information if you have to ask.
The rooms are really nice, cosy and has that certain "je nais se quoi" to the place. From the modern part of the room which is equipped with LCD tv, fridge, and a complete bathroom and then suddenly..to a nice french feeling when you open the windows to the balcony.
It ticks all the right places where it is one of those places where you want to visit again and again.
Certainly a recommend place.

Room Tip: Go easy on the aircon...it can get very cold and THAT'S a good thing when you are visiting a hum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kennethpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

What a wonderful find this cute hotel was in the glorious city of Siem Reap.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and well appointed.
I was on a street room, and the hotel had soundproof doors so there was no noise from the street. LOVED THAT!
Everything was within walking distance and just minutes away.
There are some renovations going on so we couldn't use the pool, but that was okay as there was so much else to do in this fabulous city.
Be sure to go next door for a massage. The best I found in the town.
I can't think of anything negative to comment on, which sums up this place. It is a great hotel and worth booking into. I would happily return.

Room Tip: Soundproofing on the balcony doors is a great move. So peaceful! Why don't more hotels do this?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EasytravelSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 days with a bunch of students for a school trip. During my stay there was renovations being done so we never explored that half of the hotel (which included their swimming pool)
I stayed in a double room with two other people and even though I got a spare mattress bed it was very comfortable and there was ample space left to roam around the room.
The location of the hotel is awesome and is only around 200m away from Pub Street which has some very quaint restaurants and cafés.
The staff at the hotel are very friendly but the language barrier can be an issue sometimes.
The breakfast they serve is limited but still relatively good with foods such as toast, croissants, egg, sausages, bacon and some Asian food as well.
Overall my stay was above par and if I was back in Siem Reap I would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaSAdevntures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port macquarie
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We returned to this hotel after our previous enjoyable trip. There is actually an a and b site opposite and the lager one with the pool has major renovations being don in the off season so the pool was closed and they made arrangement for guests to use the pool at their other hotel 500 metres away including a drop off and pick up with many apologies from the staff. The rooms are clean and large, when we wanted a balcony option they were happy to arrange this. The place is right in the tourist precinct and we realised how quiet it is with serious double glazing plus shutters so you can easily sleep in totally unaware of the busy street activity out side. The staff make a great effort that their attention is almost embarrassing. After a few days they were more relaxed when it was obvious we didn't require all the sirs and madames and were happy to use names and chat. Breakfast is the range of west and east from croissants, soup, the hot selection and eggs to your preference cooked to order.the ambience is good. Quality, comfort and position at mid price

Room Tip: Ask for the refurnished wing closer to the pool next season
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moriac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#114 of 353 in Siem Reap
540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#71 of 353 in Siem Reap
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#12 of 353 in Siem Reap
707 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ta Prohm Hotel
Ta Prohm Hotel
#169 of 353 in Siem Reap
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayon Boutique
Bayon Boutique
#106 of 353 in Siem Reap
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel

Property: Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
Address: Street 9, Mondul I, Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#68 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#76 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel is one of the few remaining historical buildings in Siem Reap strongly constructed by the rich heritage of Khmer Culture blended with French Architecture. The Hotel has its own unique theme with Khmer handmade furniture located in the French Colonial block. More importantly, the hotel construction dated back to its origin in 1930s since French colonial era. With its 76 beautiful, elegant and charming rooms decorated and furnished with Khmer Handmade products along with our modern hotel facilities and services, Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel extended our Khmer hospitality to make your stay in Siem Reap enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Steung Siemreap
Steung Siemreap Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing