We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
Ranked #96 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2010

It's right smack down the center of the town without being noisy at all; you do save time and money haggling with and riding tuktuks around town! Everything is within walking distance. The hotel is of french colonial architechture and has a sauna and a swimming pool. We booked a triple room and it was so much bigger than what the photos show; it could actually fit six people. Breakfast buffet is good but try to dine in the numerous restaurants around the vicinity. It's a little pricey but well worth it! Staff speaks good english.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank phoenixmemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

649 - 655 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2010

The hotel is located just off the main street, near the old market, close to various restaurants and shops. Try the Mexican restaurant on the corner which offers 1$ margaritas. Another great place is the blue pumpkin café; climb to the 2nd floor to enjoy great pastries and ice cram at their “cool lounge”.
The hotel is set in 2 separate French colonial buildings, across the street from each other. The main building offers a swimming pool (which we didn't try) and the dining room that serves a nice breakfast with a selection of dishes.
Our room (not in the main building) had wooden floors and a beautiful French doors window. The bed was VERY hard - and I say this as a person who prefers their bed to be of the firmer kind. It seems that this is a Cambodian thing, as our other hotel suffered from the same problem.
A big plus - the hotel offers free internet service using your own laptop at the lobby. We managed to get a WI-FI signal in our room on the first floor but it wasn't at great quality.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yehudit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

A great hotel with all the usual amenities - nice room, king size bed, free American style buffet breakfast, free WiFi in the lobby, great saltwater swimming pool in the courtyard, 2 bottles of free drinking water provided daily. What sets this hotel apart from others in this city is its perfect location - only one block off the main tourist center, yet far enough away that it's not a noisy location at all. It was very enjoyable to be able to walk only several blocks and have literally 100's of restaurants, markets, whatever, right there, and then be able to easily retreat to the comfort of the hotel with a very short walk.

Another nice attribute is the friendly and attentive staff. Front desk personnel took the time to remember your names so they could greet you by name as you came and went. We arrived about 8 am from the airport and had no trouble with an early checkin. On our departure day, we had to leave the hotel a little before 6am to catch an early plane, so the front desk staff put together a little breakfast box for us to take along to the airport - fresh rolls, bottle of water, bananas, a nice touch.

If you're looking for a small, cozy, quiet boutique hotel right near city center, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NH_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel, location is A1, very close to market, pub street etc, Rooms good, quiet at night thanks to double glazing, stayed in main part of hotel (swimming pool side). Used pool all 3 days, especially after getting back from the 2 that we spent touring and sight seeing, pool was not big, but was very refreshing and also very clean.
Staff were very accommodating re- drinks/lunch etc. (even when it was pouring rain)
They must have thought us mad. Breakfast was quite good, considering the price of rooms. Did not eat Dinner or at restaurant, as there are many to choose from within 50-100 metres of hotel.
They even packed us a great boxed breakfast the morning we decided to leave for Angkor Wat at 5am.
Overall good value/ quality hotel.
Would stay again if ever in Siem Reap

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASBGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

My husband and I stay here for five days. The hotel looked nice. Our room was roomy and clean. Good breakfast for the morning, the staff worked fast and effectively. It's good overall.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KanoKona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We stayed five three days. The room was very great, clean and comfortable. The hotel was in the centre, convenient, pubs and restaurants surrounded. The wifi was free. Very kind staff and helpful. Enjoyable stay!

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
Thank liemswieking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in the middle of September. I chose it because of the location which is indeed excellent. It's not quite what it looks like in the picture - what looks like a drive is in fact the road and the hotel is in fact on both sides. The room we had was fine - roomy and at the front of the hotel. It was double-glazed so very quiet. The air conditioning was rather fierce (we got colds). The shower over the bath had decent grab handles which made a change. The breakfast was adequate without being exciting. The hotel didn't ask if we required transport or a tour to the Angkor Wat complex which I thought was a bit unusual. We organised our own taxi! Didn't use the pool but it looked nice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PipNZ49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#71 of 361 in Siem Reap
437 reviews
0.0 mi away
1920 Hotel
1920 Hotel
#75 of 361 in Siem Reap
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#127 of 361 in Siem Reap
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#13 of 361 in Siem Reap
823 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#91 of 361 in Siem Reap
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel

Address: Street 9, Mondul I, Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#67 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#73 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £34 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel is one of the few remaining historical buildings in Siem Reap strongly constructed by the rich heritage of Khmer Culture blended with French Architecture. The Hotel has its own unique theme with Khmer handmade furniture located in the French Colonial block. More importantly, the hotel construction dated back to its origin in 1930s since French colonial era. With its 76 beautiful, elegant and charming rooms decorated and furnished with Khmer Handmade products along with our modern hotel facilities and services, Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel extended our Khmer hospitality to make your stay in Siem Reap enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Steung Siemreap
Steung Siemreap Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing