We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
Ranked #100 of 357 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Melb Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We stayed at Steung (pronounced "Stung Siem reap" if your talking to to a tuk tuk driver) whilst we were visiting the temples and were very impressed.
The staff are very friendly and went out of their way to help us with anything and even wrote Cambodian instructions to give a taxi driver in Phnom Phen for our next hop.
The location is fantastic just take a left and your in the middle of all the food and bars.
I would definitely come back if in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Motor_Scooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    404
    107
    26
    13
See reviews for
167
345
105
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2010

The staff is very courteous and helpful. Great access to the local market and great convenience. The hotel is very clean and well kept.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickLoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Great hotel.. No1 for location you will find every you want within a 2min walk. The staff are all really friendly. Nice pool as well which is great as Cambodia is a very hot country! I really recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JadesTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We only stayed here for one night before joining a tour group at another hotel. Although our stay was brief we can report that we found the hotel to be quite OK. All the usual facilities were there and in good clean order. We had the breakfast buffet and it was more than adequate. All Foodies were catered for. My wife belongs to the fruit, cereal and yoghurt brigade whereas I like my bacon and eggs. Both satisfied! We paid $AUD 74 for a double room for one night.

But the other really good thing about this hotel is the location. Most /all of the tourist books recommend eating at 'Pub Street'. This well signposted eating area is right around the corner from the hotel (less than 50 metres). Please remember that when you get into 'Pub Street' you should be seeking the majority of eateries that are in the laneways leading off Pub Street and not only those actually in 'Pub Street'.

This may assist intending visitors to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

This hotel made my first stay in Cambodia a pleasant one.  The staff were all friendly and welcoming, and the receptionist was very helpful in arranging an extra night's stay for me even though no rooms were available online.

The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. Laundry service was timely. Free wifi is available on the first floor.

The location is ideal if you want to visit the bars restaurants around Pub Street. Temple visits, etc. are easy to arrange with one of the many nearby tuktuk drivers. The area was fairly busy with tourists, but still felt relatively laid back. A contrast to touristy spots in Thailand.

I'll probably stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

It's right smack down the center of the town without being noisy at all; you do save time and money haggling with and riding tuktuks around town! Everything is within walking distance. The hotel is of french colonial architechture and has a sauna and a swimming pool. We booked a triple room and it was so much bigger than what the photos show; it could actually fit six people. Breakfast buffet is good but try to dine in the numerous restaurants around the vicinity. It's a little pricey but well worth it! Staff speaks good english.

Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank phoenixmemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

The hotel is located just off the main street, near the old market, close to various restaurants and shops. Try the Mexican restaurant on the corner which offers 1$ margaritas. Another great place is the blue pumpkin café; climb to the 2nd floor to enjoy great pastries and ice cram at their “cool lounge”.
The hotel is set in 2 separate French colonial buildings, across the street from each other. The main building offers a swimming pool (which we didn't try) and the dining room that serves a nice breakfast with a selection of dishes.
Our room (not in the main building) had wooden floors and a beautiful French doors window. The bed was VERY hard - and I say this as a person who prefers their bed to be of the firmer kind. It seems that this is a Cambodian thing, as our other hotel suffered from the same problem.
A big plus - the hotel offers free internet service using your own laptop at the lobby. We managed to get a WI-FI signal in our room on the first floor but it wasn't at great quality.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yehudit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#120 of 357 in Siem Reap
550 reviews
0.0 mi away
1920 Hotel
1920 Hotel
#89 of 357 in Siem Reap
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#12 of 357 in Siem Reap
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#70 of 357 in Siem Reap
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ta Prohm Hotel
Ta Prohm Hotel
#179 of 357 in Siem Reap
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel

Property: Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
Address: Street 9, Mondul I, Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#68 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#75 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel is one of the few remaining historical buildings in Siem Reap strongly constructed by the rich heritage of Khmer Culture blended with French Architecture. The Hotel has its own unique theme with Khmer handmade furniture located in the French Colonial block. More importantly, the hotel construction dated back to its origin in 1930s since French colonial era. With its 76 beautiful, elegant and charming rooms decorated and furnished with Khmer Handmade products along with our modern hotel facilities and services, Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel extended our Khmer hospitality to make your stay in Siem Reap enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Steung Siemreap
Steung Siemreap Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing