We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would recommend this hotel, but a different room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angkor Holiday Hotel
Ranked #178 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
229 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“I would recommend this hotel, but a different room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This hotel has many points in it's favour:
- large rooms with large beds, and nice soft pillows
- TWO luggage racks!!! (yeah! Finally found a hotel that provides space for two suitcases without having to use the floor!)
- space in the bathroom for two people's stuff
- slippers and gowns provided, as well as bottled water
- safe easy to use (in fact the best I've ever come across!)
- nice central pool area with seating, and pleasant for "happy hour"
- local supermarkets just across the road (on two sides)
- laundry just across the road
- plenty of massage places just minutes from the hotel
- convenient location
Downside:
- rooms overlooking the highway are NOISY
- our shower pressure wasn't good
- rooms not well serviced: toilet rolls, soap (so small you can't really use it properly!) and small towels not replenished and had to phone twice to get more
- TV blaring on in the dining salon all through breakfast doesn't make for a peaceful start to the day
- eggs at breakfast were an issue: only one person doing that so you had to queue for ages, but the selection & quality of food was good
- hassle getting a second room key
Despite these points, I would recommend the hotel as overall it was a pleasant stay

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms over-looking the highway as they are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angtravel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    277
    100
    31
    15
See reviews for
73
151
48
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Was booked at the Angkor Holiday Hotel through a tour package, and would choose to stay elsewhere the next time.
Positives: the pool is a refreshing swim, the noodle soups at breakfast delicious and so are the fresh fruit, the housekeeping staff is friendly and very helpful, wifi is free.
Negatives: the pool is a little on the chilly side and over chlorinated, the fitness center is run done and not very inviting, the pillows smell like mildew, and the front desk insisted on charging us for a long distance call that we did not make, even after we explained to them we didn't make it. Very frustrating to see such poor customer service. Also the hotel only gives one copy of the room key, which is very inconvenient for two guests.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We were here for 4 nights right around Christmas. My partner and I were both very pleasantly surprised at how nice and well kept it is. I believe this is considered to be a 3-star hotel, but think it could easily be 4 star. The location is very central and easily walkable to the center of town, where there are many restaurants etc (10-15 min walk), and also a few good foot massage places within a block or two of the hotel. Our room was spacious, very clean, and the water pressure worked well. I'm a bit surprised at some of the negative reviews here. Yes, maybe the lighting in the room isn't the "best" -- but honestly, I can make that same complaint of many, many nice boutique hotels in Europe and elsewhere. Again, location is key. We've seen many large and maybe even "nicer" hotels on the way to/ from the airport, but they're just dotted along a wide road ("highway") and not convenient for walking into town at all. So keep this in mind when you're looking. There very well could be many similar or better places in Siem Reap at lower prices, but personally I'm very pleased and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ltnathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We found this hotel a great place to base ourselves for our visit to Siem Reap. Besides its central location, the service, food, and our room couldn't be faulted. The pool is a great place to relax and have a drink after a day of visiting Angkor Wat, etc. We will be revisiting this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Although you have to walk up one level, the fourth floor has a great balcony with views of the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicko7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
190 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Had a very pleasant two day stay here. On arriving we were surprised to be upgraded to a suite- always nice. Room 1136 was spacious, well appointed, and generally excellent. The en-suite was just as good with a good shower and a bath.
The staff here showed typical Cambodian friendliness.
Breakfast was a little average, but it's difficult to find better here.
The bars and restaurants are a two dollar tuk tuk ride away.
A small word of warning- beware of going down the stairs; they have daft stripes across them which makes one stair blend into the next. It's easy to trip.
A very good hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DullDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I was booked in here as part of a tour. Very comfortable hotel, guests mostly older or families. Comfortable bed, clean bathroom, in room safe, a/c. Laundry was overly expensive. Very friendly staff. The Asian style breakfast options and omelette/pho station were very good, but western style was below average (but then you are in Siem Reap!) coffee was particularly undrinkable.

Hotel put on a very big new years buffet with amazing food, free drinks and a show by the pool, it was fantastic. Great location for $1 rides to Pub St, or very walkable.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Jono L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

If you like green shaded windows, uncomfortable furniture, dark rooms, mostly Asian food for breakfast and few amenities then this hotel is for you. For a Western palate they have fruit, bread and omelettes you have to wait in line forever to get.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Angkor Century Resort & Spa
Angkor Century Resort & Spa
#167 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Angkor Hotel
Casa Angkor Hotel
#227 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#92 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal Empire Hotel
Royal Empire Hotel
#133 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Boutique & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Holiday Hotel

Property: Angkor Holiday Hotel
Address: Corner Of Sivutha Boulevard and the 6th National Road | National Road No. 6, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Angkor Holiday Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angkor Holiday Hotel conveniently situated at the heart of Siem Reap Commercials & Businesses district with fast & easy access to wide and variety of restaurants and the popular Pub Street. Both world famous Angkor Wat & Siem Reap International Airport are only 10 minutes drive and the Royal Palace is 2 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angkor Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angkor Holiday Siem Reap
Hotel Angkor Holiday

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing