We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect in every way”
Review of Shinta Mani Shack

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shinta Mani Shack
Ranked #12 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

we stayed in both the resort and the club,and I can honestly say they are both perfect in every way.the staff greet you every time and welcome you home with cool towel and cold water.
the support they give to the foundation which they support very pleasing.
the music in the rooms very relaxing ,well chosen easy listening.
the staff were fantastic could not do enough for you. the first day I step into the hotel, you knew that these people ( staff) were proud of the hotel. their job was to please.they are not only well trained, they want to learn more.
The person who trained them done a beautiful job. A place a would always be happy to return to.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ffilia45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,161)
There are newer reviews for Shinta Mani Shack
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,815 - 1,821 of 2,161 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

The property itself is a more than pleasant surprise after our trip from Hanoi, it is like an oasis. When entering the well appointed room was beautiful music playing on sound bar, a great touch. The staff were unbelievable, they couldn't do enough for you. I ordered a jug of milk for my wife's coffee and I swear they must have been waiting outside the room with the milk. One of the people made a joke when they were asking if he was comfortable enough whilst waiting to pay his bill "he said a beer wouldn't go astray" and yes his wish was granted and complimentary. They just couldn't do enough for you, they were just lovely people.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevenandO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were on a tour and were booked in the the Shinta Mani resort and we found it was the most wonderful place. The staff could not do enough for you and always willing to help in any way. Most are learning the hospitality trade and wanting to improve their English and willing to teach you simple Cambodian. Our room was very clean as was all the public areas, the pool well maintained. The only thing wrong in our room was the toilet roll holder was broken but that is no problem. there was spray for insects in the room and a plug in as well but we were never bothered by them. At night fall lanterns were placed around the pool which looked great at night. Beach towels were placed out on each daybed every morning and if you were sitting around the pool cold water was served to you. It was just a short walk to the main shopping markets and bars. happy hour at the Shinta Mani club opposite the resort was great value for money. Next time we stay in Siem Reap we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We had 2 nights here and it was just perfect. The rooms are very modern and comfortable, service is impeccable, the pool area is lovely. We ate at the restaurant for dinner and lunch and the food was top quality. We booked a day trip of the temples trough the hotel and it was very smooth and we were very well looke after. I highly recommend the shinta mani resort we were very impressed!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Briony1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The staff at the Shinta Mani is among the most gentle and caring that we have encountered in our travels. From the moment you check in, their main concern is your comfort and well-being. They are always smiling and happy to see you. The ratio of staff to guest is very high.

The hotel is located a few blocks from the main center of town – where the shops, bars and restaurants are. A 10 minute walk or a quick tuk-tuk ride ($2 each way) and you are in the middle of the action. The old saying “close enough, but far enough” truly applies here.

The hotel arranged the transfers to and from the airport on an air conditioned car (too far for a tuk-tuk ride on a hot day) – and they showed up on a timely manner.

We had a jr. suite room (only a few at this hotel) and it was very large and comfortable. It was located in the 3rd floor and the hotel has no elevator. No a big issue for us, but may be for someone with mobility issues. The shower in the bathroom had a no door design and inevitably, water would splash on the floor.

The pool was a very welcoming sight each day after spending the day at the ruins. However, they need more lounge chairs around the pool.

Breakfast was very adequate, but not as good as other hotels we visited during our trip.

The hotel is a great option in Siem Reap. It has a boutique feel to it, but provides all the services of a larger hotel with a smile.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Troy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

What can you say about a place whose sole aim is to make you welcome and address every concern or need you may have. I certainly did not want to leave the best and friendliest hotel I have ever come across.

Room Tip: ground floor has easier access to the pool
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven07plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I are on our 2 month honeymoon thru Asia so we have been staying in various hotels. We were originally at the Le Meridien Angkor and had to switch hotels due to the mildewy smell of linens and metallic smell of the water.

We went to see if shintamani had any availability and as soon as we got there we were greeted with a jasmine cold towel and a smiling employee. We were then brought into the lobby and the concierge immediately showed us the poolside room and then she also offered to take us to the shintamani club to view the rooms as well.

The shintamani club room we saw was on the second floor and didn't have a balcony so it felt a bit cramped. The plus side was the mini bar at the club was free of charge (only water, soda, and Angkor beer was visible). Also we had to walk up to the second floor. I had enough walking doing the temple tours that it wasn't something I wanted to do.

The shintamani resort room had a balcony that led directly to the pool and had access to the Green restaurant. The room was very clean, smelled nice and the water did not smell of metal. Very modern looking. Only thing I wished the resort side offered that the club had were the free mini fridge. The resort also provided unlimited free water but no beer or soft drinks. HINT HINT :-)!!

We decided to take the shintamani resort due to the balcony and the openness of the room plus the pool was much bigger than the club. We also liked how the resort was a newer building (about 1 year) vs. the club which was about 5 years. It felt less crowded for some reason too. Maybe I'm just romanticizing it :-)

When we got back from the other hotel the manager greet us with a bouquet of lotus flowers congratulating us on our honeymoon and told us the flowers were originally for the gods for luck and prosperity and wished us the same and added, "and hopefully a baby soon". We laughed and he gave us some carrot orange ginger juice as we did some paper work. The manager was very friendly thru our stay and always checked how our day was and he was quite funny.

The whole staff was very sweet and very attentive. It really felt like they trained the staff well to make guests feel at home (every time you return to the hotel they greet you saying, "welcome home"), which feel great on long trips.

I had sprained my ankle during the temple visit and had walked in with a slight lump and the concierge noticed it as soon as I walked in the lobby and asked what happened. She then said she will send some ice to the room. I was surprised the attention to detail she had and felt much better after icing in the evening.

The breakfast there was included and it was pretty good. Like I said we've stayed in various hotels so these are subjective to which other hotels I compare to. The food was generally good at the hotel. But I really love the staff. They are so friendly and if you have any food allergies or aversions they will make accommodations to help you. I can't eat coriander/cilantro which seems to be a staple here so when I ordered a noodle soup it came with it. When I asked if that was coriander the waiter actually apologized (it wasn't his fault at all. I forgot to tell him I can't have it) and smiled and took it away. He brought me another one in few minutes. They were checking if we needed anything, but not being over bearing and hovering. When my husband and I were eating breakfast he disappeared for about 15 minutes and I found out that he was just chatting with the chef and one of the waiters having a great time.

On our last night the manager was asking when our flight will be and when we told him we plan to leave around 3pm, he said he will check if the room is available for us (check out is normally at 12pm) and he came back and told us that we can stay until we need to leave for the flight. He just wanted to make sure we were comfortable.

Overall this was a great stay and I think the resort is just as good as the club just newer so it doesn't have as high reviews. (We planned our trip pretty much based on TA reviews so it's important to us). If I come to Siem reap again I'm coming back to the shintamani resort and telling all my friends just to stay here.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank WonderwomanChloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Angkor
Shinta Mani Angkor
#15 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,047 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#6 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,618 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jaya House River Park
Jaya House River Park
#2 of 361 in Siem Reap
353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#20 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,672 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#4 of 361 in Siem Reap
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinta Mani Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinta Mani Shack

Address: Street No 3 | Junction of Oum Khun and 14th Street, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia (Formerly Royal Bay Inn Angkor Resort)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#1 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#1 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#9 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £87 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shinta Mani Shack 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shinta Mani Shack is a newly renovated Bensley-designed boutique property centrally located in the leafy French Quarter between The Royal Gardens and the Old Market Area. Each of the courtyard-style resort's 62 rooms & 2 Junior Suite enjoy first floor balcony views or direct access to the stunning swimming pool and flourishing tropical gardens. Public spaces include an all-day dining cafe/restaurant as well as complimentary wifi throughout. The Spa, Bensley's Bar and Kroya Restaurant which are located directly opposite at the Shinta Mani Shack are open to guests for their enjoyment. Shinta Mani strongly supports responsible tourism and community outreach through the Shinta Mani Foundation which is located at the nearby Shinta Mani Shack. The Foundation provides free hospitality training to less fortunate members of the Siem Reap community. A stay at Shinta Mani Shack assists the Shinta Mani Foundation to achieve its goal of creating a bright future for the people of Cambodia. A percentage of all guests daily room rate will be contributed to the Shinta Mani Foundation to support their activities. Guests are welcome to visit The Development Centre at Shinta Mani Shack or speak to staff about how they can make a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shinta Mani Shack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Bay Inn Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Day Hotel Angkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing