We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place that could be even better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence
Ranked #101 of 385 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2011

This is a beautiful small hotel on the outskirts of Siem Reap near to Ankor Watt. The design makes liberal use of local wood, silks and antiques making it one of the most attractive places in which we stayed during our holiday; its added value are its staff who are superbly attentive. There is a small spa (excellent foot massage) and business centre and a plunge pool for cooling off in - too small to be callled a swimmming pool.
There are a couple of points which, if addressed, could make a good place even better. We had the room opposite the reception and it was ocassionally noisy in the early morning with dawn departures to the temple. (Conversely we were not bothered by noise from the adjacent restaurant to which other reveiws refer.) More serious, from my point of view, was the hardness of the bed which prevented me sleeeping well. Others have not commented on this so it may just be this room as my partner, who can normally sleep anywhere, also found the mattress too hard. A mattress topper would probably address this issue.

Drinks service was ocassionaly slow and some odd results ensued - a dry martini was served warm with red vermouth! If cocktailsare to be offerred then more attention needs to be given in this regard.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosyposy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2011

Everything worked out well based on a recommendation of a friend. The rooms we had were large and comfortable. The staff is extremely nice and willing to help, the location is within $2 tuk-tuk distance of the center, and it seems very quiet at night. One night we heard some music in the background, but the noise reported by others seems to have disappeared or certainly abated. The wireless Internet connection was not terribly reliable, and doesn't seem to currently work on the upper floor where we stayed, but that wasn't a tremendous inconvenience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosephAlsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. First impressions are very good - very friendly, helpful staff and attractive rooms. However on 2 of 3 nights there was no water (hot or cold) available in our room so we could not have a shower or wash.We had to cool down in the pool which is very small but better than nothing ! On 2 days we were informed there was no coffee available in the restaurant - however the dinner and lunch we ate in the restaurant were very good. When checking out we were informed that their computer was not working so everything was done manually! At this price service and management should be better.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATWALMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed the Hanuman Alaya. We thought it was better for being a bit out of the centre of town and away from the hustle and bustle. The room was spacious and well furnished, the food was delicious and they even provided a beautiful flower arrangement in honour of my birthday!
Our only problem was when the water pressure went down to a trickle as we were needing to shower but it was back to normal within half an hour. There was always a tuk-tuk available for a ride into town. The pool was also lovely - not really designed for serious swimming, more for lounging about - but that was fine.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Loads of positives about the Hanuman Alaya which is comfortable and well furnished. The room was very well appointed and modern although the dark wood made it feel a bit gloomy. The staff were very obliging. There is a small pool for relaxing between sightseeing trips. And the restaurant is fine if a little pricey.

It is some distance from Siem Reap's nightlife [not a problem for us]. This was more than balanced by its proximity to Angkor and to the airport.

Our only negative point is probably unique to our room (101) which was opposite reception. It also had a [locked] interconnecting door to the room next door which meant that sounds carried. Finally, it is near a "Beer Garden" which on the first night was noisy into the early hours although, to be fair, did not disturb us thereafter.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_ivycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Fantastic 3 night stay here. Had special price for stay 2 get 1 free. Whole place is full of art and beautiful Khmer decor. Large room, nice bathroom. Huge delicious breakfast included. Small gardenside pool. Booked all our guides and tuk tuk drivers here and were pleased. Can always get a tuk tuk out front immediately to go into town.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzierosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

The hotel is lovely, probably aimed a little more at the older traveller. The service is absolutely outstanding. I would recommend it absolutely un-reservadly except for a couple of problems.
The bar next door is loud and if you're a light sleeper may stop you sleeping.
The rooms are dark as there are no locks on the glass windows, so you have to have the shutters shut the whole time meaning there is no natural light.
We had no water one night - their tank had run out.
We asked for box breakfast as we were getting up early and they only managed to get half of the breakfast ready in time.
We did complain and they offered us a foot massage and a meal to apologise. Generally the staff are outstanding - their English isn't great, but they are very patient and very polite.
I would recommend the hotel, as for what you get it's great value and there are tonnes of worse options in Siem Reap. It's a shame they couldn't have sorted out the other little problems.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex_Sonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kulikar, Owner at HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2010

Alex Sonic, many thanks for your feedback on your stay at HanumanAlaya, Angkor's Boutique Residence. We certainly value your constructive criticism and will try to action some of these small changes to ensure an improved guest experience. Adding locks to the windows is relatively easy and something we would agree is a good idea so that guests can leave the shutters open throughout the day if they prefer. As for the water problem, this is unfortunately an issue that can strike any hotel at any time due to the unreliability of water pressure and supply in Siem Reap and that is why most hotels, including ours, also has its own pumps and back up supply.

Our apologies for the picnic breakfast experience. However, it sounds like it was resolved in a generous and appropriate manner for which would commend our staff.

As mentioned in another response to the noise disturbance from the next door bar-restaurant, this was a real challenge for a relaxing boutique property like HanumanAlaya, but one we have now solved. The neighbouring restaurant was playing loud music, so on a few occasions there was some noise pollution from next door.

It was quite difficult for us to negotiate and reach an agreement with the owners, as they were proving very unsympathetic to our polite requests. Eventually we were forced to threaten the restaurant with a formal complaint to the Ministry of Tourism unless the noise disturbance to our clients ended. This finally convinced them to change their approach and two of loudspeakers have since been removed and the music is now kept at a minimum day and night. So the problem is now resolved. Last week, one or two of our senior management team from Hanuman stayed in HanumanAlaya and the noise was never an issue.

Peace has returned to HanumanAlaya, Angkor's boutique residence and it is an oasis once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
HanumanAlaya Villa
HanumanAlaya Villa
#144 of 385 in Siem Reap
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angkor Village Resort
Angkor Village Resort
#76 of 385 in Siem Reap
857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Clara
Hotel Santa Clara
#88 of 385 in Siem Reap
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#33 of 385 in Siem Reap
901 reviews
0.5 mi away
The SAMAR Villa & Spa Resort
The SAMAR Villa & Spa Resort
#187 of 385 in Siem Reap
228 reviews
1.4 mi away
Angkor Village Hotel
Angkor Village Hotel
#82 of 385 in Siem Reap
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence

Address: 5 Krom 2 | Phoum Treang, Siem Reap PO2321, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#33 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#77 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £52 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare for divine inspiration! The temples of Angkor, capital of Cambodia's ancient Khmer empire, are the perfect fusion of creative ambition and spiritual devotion. HanumanAlaya, Angkor's very own boutique residence, is just a short distance away from these magnificent temple monuments and is the perfect blend of traditional Khmer design and sophisticated international amenities. Many guests love our idyllic retreat. Our guest book is a eulogy to hospitality: a 'wonderful place', 'excellent service', a 'perfect retreat'. 'Paradise'. Lovingly finished in wood and elegantly decorated in local antiques and handicrafts, the HanumanAlaya is a home more than a hotel and guests find it the perfect place to unwind after an adventurous day exploring Angkor Wat and the many other temples. Surrounded by lush gardens, a swimming pool, tropical plants, and a soothing Spa, it is an idyllic retreat from the bustle of Siem Reap beyond, a stay to be savoured rather than rushed. Angkor is a magical experience, one that will stay with visitors forever. Make it more memorable at HanumanAlaya by immersing yourself in our rooms with a personal touch. We are delighted to invite you to visit our sister property, HanumanAlaya Villa, located just 5mn walk from the main hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanumanalaya Boutique Residence Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing