We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing hotel, great restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence
Ranked #71 of 334 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing hotel, great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We loved our stay at the HanumanAlaya. The hotel is slightly out of Siem Reap which meant it was very peaceful and the hotel staff were quick to arrange a tuk tuk to town when needed. The garden area and pool were beautiful. The pool was quite small but due to the small number of guests in the hotel and the fact that most were visiting Angkor Wat during the day it was never busy. The spa was great.

We ate in the restaurant 2 of our 3 nights in Siem Reap and the food was probably the best we ate during our time in Cambodia (which is why we ate there for a second night)

Overall a peaceful, relaxing. comfortable hotel and we would definitately recommonded to anyone staying in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    82
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
56
195
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

What a great place. Everything about our stay at HanumanAlaya was positive. We stayed in the close-by HanumanAlaya House, which is a short (5-10min) walk from the main hotel, but we had full use of all the Hotel's facilities and of course the professional and attentive staff bent over backwards to help us with anything we needed.

The "House" is a separate property along a quiet road that winds to the river. Our rooms opened out onto a beautifully decorated outdoor dining deck that was seemingly open to the world, but the security bloke stationed downstairs made sure that only 'residents' had access. The road from the main hotel to the House gives a glimpse of 'real' Siem Reap life, with small stores and artisans plying their trade without any tourists to bother them. It turned out that our tuk-tuk driver, "Mr. Hotty" (yes, that was his name!) owned one of these small shops so it was easy for him to pick us up whenever we needed transport into town (10mins away) or to the temples ($12 for the entire day, amazing).

The HanumanAlaya pool is meticulously kept and is perfect to refresh at the end of a day of temple-hopping or market shopping. Hotel food is also excellent, we had several breakfasts and all were lovely.

The staff also helped to organise a memorable day - a biking trip from Siem Reap to Rolous, then to the flooded village, out on Tonle Sap and home again along the river. A full day trip using bikes, boats and our faithful minibus. A highlight of our month away, without a doubt. Bikes were in excellent condition (especially compared with our later Nha Trang downhill trip from hell!) and our guide and hotel staff were meticulous in matching and adjusting the bikes to our various needs before we set off. The food that was sent along for our lunch was unexpectedly good, beautifully presented and of course gorgeous. All this makes it sound like a high-end resort, and whilst we certainly felt like we were in one, we are budget-ish travelers so this was simply excellent value and terrific quality.

One caution: apply your mosquito repellent liberally at night - the mozzies were thick near the creek and found their way into our rooms easily, and with signs at the hospital warning of 'haemorraghic dengue fever' we took extra precautions.

Stay here, it is an oasis.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Bilbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

This was a recommendation from a frequent visitor to Siem Reap and Angkor and a very welcome one. The whole hotel is beautifully presented, from the garden round the pool to the artworks in every space, from public areas to guest verandahs to the individual rooms. This rather traditional design might not appeal to everyone as much as it did to us, but the courteous and helpful staff are a big bonus. It is not walking distance to the town centre, but given the heat of Siem Reap who is walking anywhere? While the restaurant food is fine, service for lunch and dinner can be extremely slow which fits the climate, but not if you have a tuk-tuk waiting.

Room Tip: The hotel does also have a low price Lodge but this is not adjacent to the main hotel. Stay at the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Radix7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

Other reviews have perfectly described the place, so there's no point repeating that - so this is just opinion. Nice (but small) plunge pool; very nice and helpful staff, perfectly acceptable rooms (we were upstairs) and not bad food. Being a ride from town is plus/minus - you're out of the noise and car horns etc. But then you can't stroll outside to sample the nightlife. A couple of reviews have mentioned the bar next door to the hotel; during our stay it wasn't too bad a problem (although we were aware of it) but it does rather take away from the oasis of tranquility which I think you're buying into in a place like this. Its tough for the management as I think they seem to do quite a good job internally but this is outside their control.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonno_the_Yachtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

This is a beautiful small hotel on the outskirts of Siem Reap near to Ankor Watt. The design makes liberal use of local wood, silks and antiques making it one of the most attractive places in which we stayed during our holiday; its added value are its staff who are superbly attentive. There is a small spa (excellent foot massage) and business centre and a plunge pool for cooling off in - too small to be callled a swimmming pool.
There are a couple of points which, if addressed, could make a good place even better. We had the room opposite the reception and it was ocassionally noisy in the early morning with dawn departures to the temple. (Conversely we were not bothered by noise from the adjacent restaurant to which other reveiws refer.) More serious, from my point of view, was the hardness of the bed which prevented me sleeeping well. Others have not commented on this so it may just be this room as my partner, who can normally sleep anywhere, also found the mattress too hard. A mattress topper would probably address this issue.

Drinks service was ocassionaly slow and some odd results ensued - a dry martini was served warm with red vermouth! If cocktailsare to be offerred then more attention needs to be given in this regard.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosyposy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

Everything worked out well based on a recommendation of a friend. The rooms we had were large and comfortable. The staff is extremely nice and willing to help, the location is within $2 tuk-tuk distance of the center, and it seems very quiet at night. One night we heard some music in the background, but the noise reported by others seems to have disappeared or certainly abated. The wireless Internet connection was not terribly reliable, and doesn't seem to currently work on the upper floor where we stayed, but that wasn't a tremendous inconvenience.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephAlsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. First impressions are very good - very friendly, helpful staff and attractive rooms. However on 2 of 3 nights there was no water (hot or cold) available in our room so we could not have a shower or wash.We had to cool down in the pool which is very small but better than nothing ! On 2 days we were informed there was no coffee available in the restaurant - however the dinner and lunch we ate in the restaurant were very good. When checking out we were informed that their computer was not working so everything was done manually! At this price service and management should be better.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATWALMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Clara
Hotel Santa Clara
#14 of 334 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cyclo d’Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Angkor Village Resort
Angkor Village Resort
#57 of 334 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Siddharta Boutique Hotel
Siddharta Boutique Hotel
#44 of 334 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
#11 of 334 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nita by Vo
Nita by Vo
#15 of 334 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence

Property: HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence
Address: 5 Krom 2 | Phoum Treang, Siem Reap PO2321, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#36 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#54 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare for divine inspiration! The temples of Angkor, capital of Cambodia's ancient Khmer empire, are the perfect fusion of creative ambition and spiritual devotion. HanumanAlaya, Angkor's very own boutique residence, is just a short distance away from these magnificent temple monuments and is the perfect blend of traditional Khmer design and sophisticated international amenities. Many guests love our idyllic retreat. Our guest book is a eulogy to hospitality: a 'wonderful place', 'excellent service', a 'perfect retreat'. 'Paradise'. Lovingly finished in wood and elegantly decorated in local antiques and handicrafts, the HanumanAlaya is a home more than a hotel and guests find it the perfect place to unwind after an adventurous day exploring Angkor Wat and the many other temples. Surrounded by lush gardens, a swimming pool, tropical plants, and a soothing Spa, it is an idyllic retreat from the bustle of Siem Reap beyond, a stay to be savoured rather than rushed. Angkor is a magical experience, one that will stay with visitors forever. Make it more memorable at HanumanAlaya by immersing yourself in our rooms with a personal touch. We are delighted to invite you to visit our sister property, HanumanAlaya Villa, located just 5mn walk from the main hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanumanalaya Boutique Residence Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing