We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience made Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence
Ranked #79 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad Experience made Good”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We arrived in Siem Reap and were met by an affable driver. The check in was great, cold towels, welcome drink....the works. Reached the room and to our dismay found that the air-conditioning was not working. While the staff were polite, they just didn't know how to sort out the problem. Finally the told us that we can stay at the room without any cost and they would fix it the following day. You would imagine that when a room is ready, everything is ready....including the air-conditioning. Other than that one experience our stay was great. We stayed for 4 nights and loved it. Its a small hotel and the people know you within a day. Not the getting lost in a 5-Star hotel kind of feel. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a small and cozy hideout.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 1st floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunil561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    86
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
60
206
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed 4 nights in one of their Deluxe rooms on the first floor, the room was huge and had everything that we needed for our stay. I will say that the beds are very hard and took some getting used to.

The dark wood can make the room feel quite dark but that is the style. The bathroom was large and the shower over the bath was good. Shampoo, conditioner and moisturiser was provided but not shower gel.

The free wifi was a bonus and worked in our room at the dressing table area but not on the bed as I think that was just a bit too far away. They do have 2 computers for guest use downstairs as well.

The breakfasts were fine but not a great choice, we had lunch there a couple of times and everything we had was lovely, allow time to be served as they could take quite a while. One morning we had planned to be out for breakfast and when we asked the night before they arranged a picnic breakfast for us to take with us.

The pool was small and not that deep but was all we wanted, not that many sunbeds that were in the sun for too long as the beautiful trees etc provided a lot of shade.

When our driver turned down the road the hotel was on we did wonder if we had made a huge mistake but the hotel was like a little oasis, we never heard any noise from outside the hotel and every tuk tuk driver knew where it was. The staff would get a tuk tuk for us very time we wanted one which was helpful.

The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: We were in room 115 which was tucked away on the first floor so we were not disturbed by early start...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma_N68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed at the Hanumanalya just over a year ago. One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in! Really was a quiet paradise. We had the beautiful pool to ourselves most afternoons. The rooms were nicely done and extremely comfortable. Service was great. And the food... best fish amok I had in Cambodia, simply delicious. Great hotel. Brilliant place to do the temples from. What a holiday!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomeAndAway2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We loved our stay at the HanumanAlaya. The hotel is slightly out of Siem Reap which meant it was very peaceful and the hotel staff were quick to arrange a tuk tuk to town when needed. The garden area and pool were beautiful. The pool was quite small but due to the small number of guests in the hotel and the fact that most were visiting Angkor Wat during the day it was never busy. The spa was great.

We ate in the restaurant 2 of our 3 nights in Siem Reap and the food was probably the best we ate during our time in Cambodia (which is why we ate there for a second night)

Overall a peaceful, relaxing. comfortable hotel and we would definitately recommonded to anyone staying in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

What a great place. Everything about our stay at HanumanAlaya was positive. We stayed in the close-by HanumanAlaya House, which is a short (5-10min) walk from the main hotel, but we had full use of all the Hotel's facilities and of course the professional and attentive staff bent over backwards to help us with anything we needed.

The "House" is a separate property along a quiet road that winds to the river. Our rooms opened out onto a beautifully decorated outdoor dining deck that was seemingly open to the world, but the security bloke stationed downstairs made sure that only 'residents' had access. The road from the main hotel to the House gives a glimpse of 'real' Siem Reap life, with small stores and artisans plying their trade without any tourists to bother them. It turned out that our tuk-tuk driver, "Mr. Hotty" (yes, that was his name!) owned one of these small shops so it was easy for him to pick us up whenever we needed transport into town (10mins away) or to the temples ($12 for the entire day, amazing).

The HanumanAlaya pool is meticulously kept and is perfect to refresh at the end of a day of temple-hopping or market shopping. Hotel food is also excellent, we had several breakfasts and all were lovely.

The staff also helped to organise a memorable day - a biking trip from Siem Reap to Rolous, then to the flooded village, out on Tonle Sap and home again along the river. A full day trip using bikes, boats and our faithful minibus. A highlight of our month away, without a doubt. Bikes were in excellent condition (especially compared with our later Nha Trang downhill trip from hell!) and our guide and hotel staff were meticulous in matching and adjusting the bikes to our various needs before we set off. The food that was sent along for our lunch was unexpectedly good, beautifully presented and of course gorgeous. All this makes it sound like a high-end resort, and whilst we certainly felt like we were in one, we are budget-ish travelers so this was simply excellent value and terrific quality.

One caution: apply your mosquito repellent liberally at night - the mozzies were thick near the creek and found their way into our rooms easily, and with signs at the hospital warning of 'haemorraghic dengue fever' we took extra precautions.

Stay here, it is an oasis.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Bilbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

This was a recommendation from a frequent visitor to Siem Reap and Angkor and a very welcome one. The whole hotel is beautifully presented, from the garden round the pool to the artworks in every space, from public areas to guest verandahs to the individual rooms. This rather traditional design might not appeal to everyone as much as it did to us, but the courteous and helpful staff are a big bonus. It is not walking distance to the town centre, but given the heat of Siem Reap who is walking anywhere? While the restaurant food is fine, service for lunch and dinner can be extremely slow which fits the climate, but not if you have a tuk-tuk waiting.

Room Tip: The hotel does also have a low price Lodge but this is not adjacent to the main hotel. Stay at the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radix7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Other reviews have perfectly described the place, so there's no point repeating that - so this is just opinion. Nice (but small) plunge pool; very nice and helpful staff, perfectly acceptable rooms (we were upstairs) and not bad food. Being a ride from town is plus/minus - you're out of the noise and car horns etc. But then you can't stroll outside to sample the nightlife. A couple of reviews have mentioned the bar next door to the hotel; during our stay it wasn't too bad a problem (although we were aware of it) but it does rather take away from the oasis of tranquility which I think you're buying into in a place like this. Its tough for the management as I think they seem to do quite a good job internally but this is outside their control.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonno_the_Yachtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cyclo d’Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
#63 of 356 in Siem Reap
645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angkor Boutique Tropic Hotel
Angkor Boutique Tropic Hotel
#139 of 356 in Siem Reap
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chronicle Residence & Spa
Chronicle Residence & Spa
#46 of 356 in Siem Reap
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Natura Resort
Natura Resort
#118 of 356 in Siem Reap
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regency Angkor Hotel
Regency Angkor Hotel
#125 of 356 in Siem Reap
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence

Property: HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence
Address: 5 Krom 2 | Phoum Treang, Siem Reap PO2321, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#36 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#62 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare for divine inspiration! The temples of Angkor, capital of Cambodia's ancient Khmer empire, are the perfect fusion of creative ambition and spiritual devotion. HanumanAlaya, Angkor's very own boutique residence, is just a short distance away from these magnificent temple monuments and is the perfect blend of traditional Khmer design and sophisticated international amenities. Many guests love our idyllic retreat. Our guest book is a eulogy to hospitality: a 'wonderful place', 'excellent service', a 'perfect retreat'. 'Paradise'. Lovingly finished in wood and elegantly decorated in local antiques and handicrafts, the HanumanAlaya is a home more than a hotel and guests find it the perfect place to unwind after an adventurous day exploring Angkor Wat and the many other temples. Surrounded by lush gardens, a swimming pool, tropical plants, and a soothing Spa, it is an idyllic retreat from the bustle of Siem Reap beyond, a stay to be savoured rather than rushed. Angkor is a magical experience, one that will stay with visitors forever. Make it more memorable at HanumanAlaya by immersing yourself in our rooms with a personal touch. We are delighted to invite you to visit our sister property, HanumanAlaya Villa, located just 5mn walk from the main hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanumanalaya Boutique Residence Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing