We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lots of positives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence
Ranked #90 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

First the positives
- staff (couldn't be better)
- good food / drinks selection
- complimentary WiFi
- chill out pool (after lots of temples)
- spa treatments very good
- spacious rooms with overhead fans and air con.

Negatives
- $2 dollar taxi ride to pub street (where most of the restaurants are)
- limited sun beds
- a few too many mosquito's in the room
- no balcony
- very thin walls (we like/ need lots of rest and relaxation)

The hotel staff were top class with everything. Very hard working and always aim to please. Sometimes the language barrier slowed things down [I don't speak Khymer (Cambodian) and definitely not complaining] but that's part of the fun.

To the people saying its noisy by the pool you are all very very wrong. This is a pool situated in a CITY. A busy busy CITY. So if it was noisy fair point but it is NOT. Cambodian's do not drive fast, they do not honk their horns, it's silent, organised chaos. Like I said the pool is a very relaxing place.

Basically this is a small, boutique hotel with lots going for it - We wouldn't necessary have chosen it but is was included in our tour package- But if its in your price band then I'd highly recommend it.

Suggestions:
Try the FCC club - happy hour (5-7pm) very good cocktails.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LovinTheGoodStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2013

We wanted a hotel with some character for our stay and this was perfect in rvery way. The room was spacious spotless and well air conditioned . The pool was the perfect spot to relax between sight seeing trips. . The food in the restaurant was some of the best we had beautifully presented and the same sort of prices as elsewhere . We both had a traditional massage which was excellent and again good value @$15 .
It is a bit noisy but that's almost part of the atmosphere and it'd quite at night.
I really recommend using a guide to get the most from your visit we would not have seen as much or learnt as much on our own or on a group tour .
All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clurina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We wanted a hotel that was essentially Cambodian, with character. Hanumanalaya seemed to tick all the boxes, but once we checked in we began to change our minds.
The hotel is on a busy side street and the noise persists when you are sitting around the pool. But we didn't come to Siem Reap to sit around the pool.
The room was pleasant, a bit small but stuffed with interesting antiques. The staff were lovely, very helpful although sometimes their English faltered. I booked a meditation session at the spa, and got a manicure. Tant pis.
BUT on the plane to Phnom Penh after we checked out, my husband remarked that we had spent an alful lot of money in our four days there. I began to count - how could we? Apart from the temple admission and taxies, everything else had gone on a card. It transpired that several hundred dollars had gone missing, almost certainly from the room safe.
We contacted the manager and his reply was disingenuous: he was checking the CCTV but only one person had been in our room, he alone had the access code. I once forgot something and returned to find 4 people in our room, three cleaning and one returning laundry. The manager said that this had never happened before. We had a stack of $100 bills and three had gone missing. There were no smaller denomination notes.
Apart from anything else, had the notes been $20s, we wouldn't have noticed.
I would have thought that a reasonable response would have been an apology and an offer to help with the police report for our insurance, which wasn't forthcoming.
With hindsight, we realised that it woukd be easy to guess the safe access code from our passports.
Apart from that, Hanumanalaya reminded us that you get what you pay for, and if you pay £60 or so for a room in a busy tourist destination, all will not be perfect. It's OK for a night, if you guard your cash, but no longer. On our way back, we stayed at a more expensive property, which was so worth it for the peace and seclusion.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirstyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kulikar, General Manager at HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence. We always place high value on feedback from our clients. It is important for us to know when and where we are not getting it right, as well as when we are doing a good job.

Thank you for your comments about our staff. English language training and general hospitality service training is on-going at HanumanAlaya and improving the skills of our service team is paramount in our future plans.

We place a very high value on the security and safety of our customers, which is why we have installed CCTV at the hotel, have security staff on site 24 hours a day and have a strict code of conduct amongst our staff concerning access to guest rooms. We are of course sorry for your loss, but as you reported it after your departure, we checked the CCTV footage, questioned our staff and notified the police, who were ready to help with your report, but unfortunately, you didn’t return to the hotel as you indicated that you would.

We all work extremely hard to ensure every guest has an amazing stay and sincerely regret that this was not your experience.

Thanks,

Yours Faithfully,

Luon Thea (Mr)
Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

An oasis in a hot bustling town. The rooms are of an excellent standard with large comfortable beds and led tvs. The bathrooms are great by Cambodian standards.
The pool is a welcome addition after a day visiting temples.
Location is a possible drawback for some however being a 10 min $1 tut tut ride from towm means hotel is quiet.

Room Tip: Pick an upstairs room to avoid footsteps from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed here 5 days, very well looked after and very helpful and friendly. Only a $2 Tut Tut ride to the market. Great room, Wifi everywhere and a relaxing small pool. Had a Soa treatment in the hotel and they help organise other trips too.

Room Tip: Ground floor are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rpennie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This is a small but very charming oasis and we had a lovely time. If you are looking for typical big facility amenities and services don't bother, but if you'd like an authentic, welcoming and peaceful retreat we highly recommend it. All of the staff is warm, welcoming and helpful. Service is exceptional and attention to detail is evident everywhere. The spa services are out of this world and the food is very nice. We'd happily stay with them again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RamblinRoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

this hotel is small, friendly, clean, quiet. all the food is good, the amok was the best! it is aesthetically decorated with lovely art and plants. the staff is alert and helpful. it is a 20-minute walk to the busy, noisy town, a bicycle ride to the ruins, a short walk to the magnificent museum. there is a spa but we did not use it; ask for a massage by a blind person and they come to the hotel. great massage. i would return in a heartbeat!....

Room Tip: try to reserve upstairs, but anywhere is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunshine187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Natura Resort
Natura Resort
#108 of 361 in Siem Reap
220 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bunwin Residence
Bunwin Residence
#103 of 361 in Siem Reap
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regency Angkor Hotel
Regency Angkor Hotel
#129 of 361 in Siem Reap
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cyclo d’Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
#66 of 361 in Siem Reap
653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angkor Village Resort
Angkor Village Resort
#67 of 361 in Siem Reap
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence

Address: 5 Krom 2 | Phoum Treang, Siem Reap PO2321, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#69 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £45 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare for divine inspiration! The temples of Angkor, capital of Cambodia's ancient Khmer empire, are the perfect fusion of creative ambition and spiritual devotion. HanumanAlaya, Angkor's very own boutique residence, is just a short distance away from these magnificent temple monuments and is the perfect blend of traditional Khmer design and sophisticated international amenities. Many guests love our idyllic retreat. Our guest book is a eulogy to hospitality: a 'wonderful place', 'excellent service', a 'perfect retreat'. 'Paradise'. Lovingly finished in wood and elegantly decorated in local antiques and handicrafts, the HanumanAlaya is a home more than a hotel and guests find it the perfect place to unwind after an adventurous day exploring Angkor Wat and the many other temples. Surrounded by lush gardens, a swimming pool, tropical plants, and a soothing Spa, it is an idyllic retreat from the bustle of Siem Reap beyond, a stay to be savoured rather than rushed. Angkor is a magical experience, one that will stay with visitors forever. Make it more memorable at HanumanAlaya by immersing yourself in our rooms with a personal touch. We are delighted to invite you to visit our sister property, HanumanAlaya Villa, located just 5mn walk from the main hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanumanalaya Boutique Residence Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing