We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence
Ranked #83 of 360 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here after a hectic visit to Vietnam & including Hanoi & Saigon + Phnom Penh Cambodia so it was a breath of fresh air to stay here for 3 nights.The hotel is beautifully appointed - dark timbers & many interesting items of décor.It was handy for the nearby temples & town.
We went into town & back by tuk tuk which was inexpensive & dropped us off at the aptly named Pub Street where all the markets bars restaurants & shops are.
The hotel staff were helpful & friendly & the dining room provided good Cambodian fare
The pool area was delightful - very restful.Finally for an inexpensive massage do use the spa.Expertly trained staff there

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterXaghraGozoMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanumanAlaya, Manager at HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thanks for your time to share your wonderful stay with HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence. we are happy to hear that you love our Cambodian style hotel; its facilities, location and personalize service.

Looking forward to welcoming you to the property again,

Yours sincerely,

Luon Thea
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We just loved this little gem of a hotel.
perfect location close to town center and temples, beautifully decorated rooms, intimate atmosphere cool pool and most of all very helpful and friendly staff. perfect value for money!

Room Tip: upstairs rooms have a lovely verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoytderanitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanumanAlaya, Manager at HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thanks for your time to share your perfect experiences of staying with HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence, a small hotel in Siem Reap "a home more than a hotel".

Look forward to welcoming you to the property again,

Yours sincerely,

Luon Thea (Mr)
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed in the Hanuman Alaya in the beginning of April 2014 for one week. It was a perfect stay with all the amneties and services one can imagine. The hotel is lockated inbetween Siem reap Downtown and Angkor Wat. So it is just a Short tuktuk ride in order to experience both. The Hotel as such distinguishes itself through the perfect staff. I have seldomly experienced such friendly and Customer orientied hotel staff.
The rooms are perfectly equiped and provide everything one needs for a stay in Siem reap.
The restaurant offered Great cambodian dishes all perfectly prepared.
Extra Services like renting a bike, bus Tours, tour guides have been organized perfectly.

I can Renommees the Hanuman Alaya to every Tourist who Plans to stay a couple of days in Siem Reap!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally equiped solely the size is differing. So if you have some spare Money, go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_schneid1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanumanAlaya, Manager at HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thanks for taking your value time to share your wonderful experiences of your stay with HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence.

Look forward to welcoming you to the property again,

Yours Sincerely,

Luon Thea (Mr)
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

If you want to stay in a place that is reasonably priced, has friendly staff, great restaurant and beautiful decor, you can't go past this hotel. It is much better than large resorts and in a quiet street. It is close to everything or just a tuk tuk away. From the moment we arrived we felt comfortable. You would be best to organise their tuk tuk driver to collect you from the airport as it is not that far and much cheaper. We used their driver called Sokhey )who was non invasive and a kind and gentle young man. He never wanted to rip you off. My friend had trouble with her glasses and he took us to where his girlfriend worked and they helped us. Last night i had dinner in the restaurant and had their lobster soup which is exquisite followed by Fish Amok and then bananas cooked in rum and caramel. Yum yum yum. My friend had lemongrass soup, tiger prawns and citrus tart. It was very cheap and beautifully presented. They have happy hour and cocktails are around 3.50 and if you buy one you get one free. I was here for three nights and had dinner in other places but wished we had just eaten in this restaurant. The staff are always wanting to help you. They are mostly young and a great asset to the hotel. We had the best massage ever in their spa and fitness centre. They have sauna and spa as well. I highly recommend this hotel. I found it to be just perfect.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel for the tuk tuk driver Sokhey. Go to the sunrise over Angkor watt. The hotel packs yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanumanAlaya, Manager at HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks for your time to share your wonderful stay with HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence, we are more than happy to hear that you had a good memorable experiences during your trip to visit Cambodia, Siem Reap, Angkor.

We look forward to welcoming you to the property again,

Yours Sincerely,

Luon Thea
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Having read the reviews of this hotel I was a little disappointed. After travelling all day arriving in the evening we decided to just eat in the hotel, we were placed adjacent to the back wall were I was bitten by bugs on the back of my legs, there were lots about. The food was acceptable however we ate better in Siem Reap. After a morning visiting the temples it was good to cool down in the pool and have lunch. In the heat of the day the only air conditioned space is in the bedrooms. The outside spaces by the pool could have been kept cleaner, a maid wandered round supposedly sweeping up but did not do a very good job the beds by the pool remained dirty. After the first 2 days things got better, the area was treated for bugs and the cleaning improved. I felt like the manager of the hotel was away for a couple of days and the staff were skiving.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanumanAlaya, Manager at HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence. We always place high value on feedback from our clients. It is important for us to know when and where we are not getting it right, as well as when we are doing a good job.

We place a very high value on the security and safety of our customers, which is why we have once a week schedule to spray the chemical and do smoking to kill the bug/insect, mosquito in the hotel, unfortunately you had been bitten by some bug while having dinner at our restaurant, I have a strict code of conduct amongst our staff concerning, so far we never have this kind of issue to our clients. We are of course sorry for the incident, but as you reported it after your departure.

We all work extremely hard to ensure every guest has an amazing stay and sincerely regret that this was not your experience.

Thanks,

Luon Thea
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel was chosen for us by Audley Travel in the UK. This is a great company. They take great care to select excellent value, characterful places to stay. Hanuman Alaya is no exception. It's just right for visitors who don't prefer small boutique to soulless high rise chain hotels.

It's away from the traffic and bustle of Siem Reap town, but only a short tuk tuk ride and that's an experience in itself. The wood decor may be a little dark for some tastes, but anyone looking for traditional Cambodian will love it. The pool is small but plenty big enough for the number of guests the hotel accommodates, and the garden surrounding it is simply beautiful.

The staff are wonderfully welcoming. There's an excellent South Asian dinner menu and, when we were there, Apsara dancing to entertain. Don't expect a big buffet breakfast, but if you choose, do start the day with English style bacon and eggs and lots of great Cambodian coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Graham2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanumanAlaya, Manager at HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thanks for your time to share your wonderful experience of your stay with HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence, we are happy to hear that you love our Cambodian style hotel and personalize service.

Looking forward to welcoming you to the property again,

Yours sincerely,

Luon Thea
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Arriving after dark it was impossible to see the exterior of the hotel. Entering the gates we were pleasantly surprised at the open courtyard and reception area. A warm welcome from the manager. Passing through the lobby area and by the pool with all the trees and lights we were impressed by the "open layout".
The room was a little dark in terms of natural light as it was long and narrowish with a small window. However the layout of the room and facilities offered were 1st class.
Huge comfortable bed and good linen.
Staff were helpful at all times and especially when we left as my wife had lost her spectacles. These were found by the staff and a delivery made to her at the airport. Great service!
Dinner menu was very good and we enjoyed local Khymer food. Breakfast was a little plain, the buffet table could perhaps offer a little more.
Lots of nice artefacts and art work on the first floor landing and a nice touch to have a seating area there, away from the bar and dining areas.
So nice to come back to this haven after hot days at temples and other locations. Super pool for a small hotel - much appreciated.
Overall a very comfortable and enjoyable stay - thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Derek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kulikar, Manager at HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thanks for your time to share your wonderful stay with HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence. We appreciate your comment about breakfast and will follow up urgently. Your kind words motivate us to do our best to improve continuously, day by day to be excellent

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you to Alaya again in future.

Yours Sincerely,

Luon Thea
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Natura Resort
Natura Resort
#111 of 360 in Siem Reap
218 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bunwin Residence
Bunwin Residence
#98 of 360 in Siem Reap
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regency Angkor Hotel
Regency Angkor Hotel
#130 of 360 in Siem Reap
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cyclo d’Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
#69 of 360 in Siem Reap
653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angkor Village Resort
Angkor Village Resort
#67 of 360 in Siem Reap
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence

Address: 5 Krom 2 | Phoum Treang, Siem Reap PO2321, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#64 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £44 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare for divine inspiration! The temples of Angkor, capital of Cambodia's ancient Khmer empire, are the perfect fusion of creative ambition and spiritual devotion. HanumanAlaya, Angkor's very own boutique residence, is just a short distance away from these magnificent temple monuments and is the perfect blend of traditional Khmer design and sophisticated international amenities. Many guests love our idyllic retreat. Our guest book is a eulogy to hospitality: a 'wonderful place', 'excellent service', a 'perfect retreat'. 'Paradise'. Lovingly finished in wood and elegantly decorated in local antiques and handicrafts, the HanumanAlaya is a home more than a hotel and guests find it the perfect place to unwind after an adventurous day exploring Angkor Wat and the many other temples. Surrounded by lush gardens, a swimming pool, tropical plants, and a soothing Spa, it is an idyllic retreat from the bustle of Siem Reap beyond, a stay to be savoured rather than rushed. Angkor is a magical experience, one that will stay with visitors forever. Make it more memorable at HanumanAlaya by immersing yourself in our rooms with a personal touch. We are delighted to invite you to visit our sister property, HanumanAlaya Villa, located just 5mn walk from the main hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanumanalaya Boutique Residence Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing