We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem in Siem Reap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence
Ranked #90 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Awesome value for money but I guess all the hotels in this price range in cambodia would give me (european) the same impression.
Our room on the first floor was pretty big and very nicely decorated, full of old world artifacts, some of which can be bought at the antique shop across the road (but that was extravagantly pricy).
Nice pool, delicious restaurant, good massages. Location is a little outside downtown which is fine because a tuk-tuk ride is only 2 dollars from there, and besides you're closer to the temples. After all that's what you came to Siem Reap for, isn't it? well, coming back to this hotel after a long day at the temple is a bliss

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2010

Don't believe what it says on the Between the construction work going on within the hotel and outside up until 5pm, and then the disco next door which runs from 6pm until late (don't believe the staff when they tell you it stops at 10pm) this hotel is unbearably noisy, especially for the price. To top it all off they can't even serve a decent cup of coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nairobinairobi_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kulikar, Owner at HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2011

We are very pleased to announce to all guests and supporters of HanumanAlaya, Angkor's Boutique Residence, that the 'disco' next door (which was in fact a local beer garden) has long since closed. We are very sorry for any inconvenience this beer garden caused to our guests during their stay. The noise issue affected guests for a two-month period between August and October 2010. From November, we managed to obtain local authority support to limit both the volume and the operational hours of the beer garden. This went a long way to returning the situation to its normal tranquility at HanumanAlaya. However, since the new year, the offending beer garden has closed, so the owners and management can catergorically state that there are no outstanding noise issues with the property.

We confidently look forward to welcoming guests for a peaceful and relaxing stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

HanumanAlaya is slightly out of the centre of Siem Reap - we liked this. It was nearer to the temples and quiet at night - we simply picked up a tuk tuk to get into the centre in the evening. The rooms are slightly dark but other than that faultless. The atmosphere is great - peaceful, super friendly and relaxed. Breakfast is a feast - and delicious. Pool is an added bonus after a hot and dusty day of temple spotting. Much more charm than the big hotels and for it's price tag, very good value.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TigerandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Stayed at this hotel for a long weekend. It was a great hotel, with great staff and - as other reviewers have said - a great pool.

We stayed in the family suite, which was great with small children. The common area outside the rooms on the top floor were a great place to have a drink while the kids went to sleep.

Staff were very friendly and helpful when making tour bookings. They were also GREAT with the kids.

In all this was a good place to stay, except:

- for the very noisy restaurant/pub next door which had the same 10 Viet/Thai pop songs on repeat. The music went from about 7pm to 1am each night at very high volume. This is not the HanumanAlaya's fault, but it really reduced the quality of sleep. Bring some ear plugs.
- why, when the staff knew that there were four people sleeping in the room, were we only given two bath towels and two bottles of water each day? To their credit the staff leapt into action when we asked for more towels, but by Day 3 of a stay, this gets pretty old.

This is a great hotel/guesthouse, but let down by the noisy pub next door. On this basis I'd be telling friends to look somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urana77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kulikar, Owner at HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2010

Dear Urana77,

Once again, we were sorry to hear about the noise problem affecting your stay at HanumanAlaya, Angkor's Boutique Residence. As you can imagine by the two other responses we have given to this issue, it was driving us even more crazy than our guests. We have been established in our location for more than six years now and have never had this sort of problem before, so it has been very frustrating to see our reputation dented by something that was completely beyond our control. However, we have now found a solution to this problem and the boutique hotel is once again a peaceful oasis.

Just to recount the story one last time, the new neighbouring restaurant was playing loud music, so on a few occasions there was some noise pollution from next door. It was quite difficult for us to negotiate and reach an agreement with the owners, as they were proving very unsympathetic to our polite requests. Eventually we were forced to threaten the restaurant with a formal complaint to the Ministry of Tourism unless the noise disturbance to our clients ended. This finally convinced them to change their approach and two of loudspeakers have since been removed and the music is now kept at a minimum day and night. So the problem is now resolved. Last week, one or two of our senior management team from Hanuman stayed in HanumanAlaya and the noise was never an issue.

So we would encourage you to recommend the property to your family and friends on the basis of many years of wonderful experiences and positive reviews free from any noise disturbance. HanumanAlaya is an oasis once more.

On a side note, thank you for letting us know about the towels. It is important to note for improved training of the housekeeping team. We will ensure that they are all trained to supply the appropriate number of towels for the relevant number of guests, particularly in the case of the family room.

My warmest regards,

Sotho Tan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Slightly more out of the way than the other hotels in Siem Reip, this hotel provides a great place to relax and unwind after touring the temples of Angkor, I was a little aprehensive about this hotel but it came highly recommended from our travel agent. I really was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is quiet, tranquil and perfect for relaxing after a day in the heat and dust of the temples. The pool is not huge but perfect for relaxing and helping you to feel more refreshed in the cambodian heat. The food and service was very good in this hotel. With a freshly prepared breakfast which was very nice as most of the hotels that we had stayed in on this trip had breakfast buffets. You can get a tuk tuk into the town for about $3 US which the hotel will call a trusted one for you. Siem Reip town is buzzing and great for good food (of any nationality) and very cheap local beer. The shops and night markets are fantastic. The room at the hotel was very dark wood but was very beautiful. The hotel had made a fabulous effort to make our stay very romantic and had decorated our room with Jasmine flowers which smelled amazing. I also took the time to have a traditional Cambodian massage which was fantasic. I would stay in this hotel again a real hidden gem.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy_Davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Until last week I had never vacationed in Cambodia in all the time I have worked there. My family rarely comes to Cambodia with me, we actually live in China, so I wanted to make the trip a special one for them and Christopher Gow from Symbiosis in Phnom Penh http://www.symbiosis-travel.com/ recommended this hotel in Siem Reap. We could not have asked for a better experience while seeing all the sights around Angkor Wat. The Hotel was extremely well run and made things very comfortable for us. We have young children and they had a outstanding time while there which speaks volumes for overall quality of the hotel and staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotthuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. Fantastic service, possibly the best we experienced all trip. Small hotel with lots of Cambodian decorative objects and art everywhere. Very quiet location, slightly away from centre but easy to get tuk tuk there and back. Rooms were large, quite dark (dark wood), very comfortable, large beds. Very pretty swimming pool, less for swimming and more for lounging around admiring all the plants. Great service in bar, great breakfast. Wifi free but patchy, had to pay for internet access.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMaryT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Natura Resort
Natura Resort
#108 of 361 in Siem Reap
220 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bunwin Residence
Bunwin Residence
#103 of 361 in Siem Reap
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regency Angkor Hotel
Regency Angkor Hotel
#129 of 361 in Siem Reap
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cyclo d’Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
#66 of 361 in Siem Reap
653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angkor Village Resort
Angkor Village Resort
#67 of 361 in Siem Reap
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence

Address: 5 Krom 2 | Phoum Treang, Siem Reap PO2321, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#69 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £45 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare for divine inspiration! The temples of Angkor, capital of Cambodia's ancient Khmer empire, are the perfect fusion of creative ambition and spiritual devotion. HanumanAlaya, Angkor's very own boutique residence, is just a short distance away from these magnificent temple monuments and is the perfect blend of traditional Khmer design and sophisticated international amenities. Many guests love our idyllic retreat. Our guest book is a eulogy to hospitality: a 'wonderful place', 'excellent service', a 'perfect retreat'. 'Paradise'. Lovingly finished in wood and elegantly decorated in local antiques and handicrafts, the HanumanAlaya is a home more than a hotel and guests find it the perfect place to unwind after an adventurous day exploring Angkor Wat and the many other temples. Surrounded by lush gardens, a swimming pool, tropical plants, and a soothing Spa, it is an idyllic retreat from the bustle of Siem Reap beyond, a stay to be savoured rather than rushed. Angkor is a magical experience, one that will stay with visitors forever. Make it more memorable at HanumanAlaya by immersing yourself in our rooms with a personal touch. We are delighted to invite you to visit our sister property, HanumanAlaya Villa, located just 5mn walk from the main hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanumanalaya Boutique Residence Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing