We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but poor management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence
Ranked #90 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. First impressions are very good - very friendly, helpful staff and attractive rooms. However on 2 of 3 nights there was no water (hot or cold) available in our room so we could not have a shower or wash.We had to cool down in the pool which is very small but better than nothing ! On 2 days we were informed there was no coffee available in the restaurant - however the dinner and lunch we ate in the restaurant were very good. When checking out we were informed that their computer was not working so everything was done manually! At this price service and management should be better.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATWALMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

305 - 311 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed the Hanuman Alaya. We thought it was better for being a bit out of the centre of town and away from the hustle and bustle. The room was spacious and well furnished, the food was delicious and they even provided a beautiful flower arrangement in honour of my birthday!
Our only problem was when the water pressure went down to a trickle as we were needing to shower but it was back to normal within half an hour. There was always a tuk-tuk available for a ride into town. The pool was also lovely - not really designed for serious swimming, more for lounging about - but that was fine.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Loads of positives about the Hanuman Alaya which is comfortable and well furnished. The room was very well appointed and modern although the dark wood made it feel a bit gloomy. The staff were very obliging. There is a small pool for relaxing between sightseeing trips. And the restaurant is fine if a little pricey.

It is some distance from Siem Reap's nightlife [not a problem for us]. This was more than balanced by its proximity to Angkor and to the airport.

Our only negative point is probably unique to our room (101) which was opposite reception. It also had a [locked] interconnecting door to the room next door which meant that sounds carried. Finally, it is near a "Beer Garden" which on the first night was noisy into the early hours although, to be fair, did not disturb us thereafter.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_ivycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Fantastic 3 night stay here. Had special price for stay 2 get 1 free. Whole place is full of art and beautiful Khmer decor. Large room, nice bathroom. Huge delicious breakfast included. Small gardenside pool. Booked all our guides and tuk tuk drivers here and were pleased. Can always get a tuk tuk out front immediately to go into town.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzierosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

The hotel is lovely, probably aimed a little more at the older traveller. The service is absolutely outstanding. I would recommend it absolutely un-reservadly except for a couple of problems.
The bar next door is loud and if you're a light sleeper may stop you sleeping.
The rooms are dark as there are no locks on the glass windows, so you have to have the shutters shut the whole time meaning there is no natural light.
We had no water one night - their tank had run out.
We asked for box breakfast as we were getting up early and they only managed to get half of the breakfast ready in time.
We did complain and they offered us a foot massage and a meal to apologise. Generally the staff are outstanding - their English isn't great, but they are very patient and very polite.
I would recommend the hotel, as for what you get it's great value and there are tonnes of worse options in Siem Reap. It's a shame they couldn't have sorted out the other little problems.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex_Sonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kulikar, Owner at HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2010

Alex Sonic, many thanks for your feedback on your stay at HanumanAlaya, Angkor's Boutique Residence. We certainly value your constructive criticism and will try to action some of these small changes to ensure an improved guest experience. Adding locks to the windows is relatively easy and something we would agree is a good idea so that guests can leave the shutters open throughout the day if they prefer. As for the water problem, this is unfortunately an issue that can strike any hotel at any time due to the unreliability of water pressure and supply in Siem Reap and that is why most hotels, including ours, also has its own pumps and back up supply.

Our apologies for the picnic breakfast experience. However, it sounds like it was resolved in a generous and appropriate manner for which would commend our staff.

As mentioned in another response to the noise disturbance from the next door bar-restaurant, this was a real challenge for a relaxing boutique property like HanumanAlaya, but one we have now solved. The neighbouring restaurant was playing loud music, so on a few occasions there was some noise pollution from next door.

It was quite difficult for us to negotiate and reach an agreement with the owners, as they were proving very unsympathetic to our polite requests. Eventually we were forced to threaten the restaurant with a formal complaint to the Ministry of Tourism unless the noise disturbance to our clients ended. This finally convinced them to change their approach and two of loudspeakers have since been removed and the music is now kept at a minimum day and night. So the problem is now resolved. Last week, one or two of our senior management team from Hanuman stayed in HanumanAlaya and the noise was never an issue.

Peace has returned to HanumanAlaya, Angkor's boutique residence and it is an oasis once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Awesome value for money but I guess all the hotels in this price range in cambodia would give me (european) the same impression.
Our room on the first floor was pretty big and very nicely decorated, full of old world artifacts, some of which can be bought at the antique shop across the road (but that was extravagantly pricy).
Nice pool, delicious restaurant, good massages. Location is a little outside downtown which is fine because a tuk-tuk ride is only 2 dollars from there, and besides you're closer to the temples. After all that's what you came to Siem Reap for, isn't it? well, coming back to this hotel after a long day at the temple is a bliss

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Don't believe what it says on the Between the construction work going on within the hotel and outside up until 5pm, and then the disco next door which runs from 6pm until late (don't believe the staff when they tell you it stops at 10pm) this hotel is unbearably noisy, especially for the price. To top it all off they can't even serve a decent cup of coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nairobinairobi_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kulikar, Owner at HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2011

We are very pleased to announce to all guests and supporters of HanumanAlaya, Angkor's Boutique Residence, that the 'disco' next door (which was in fact a local beer garden) has long since closed. We are very sorry for any inconvenience this beer garden caused to our guests during their stay. The noise issue affected guests for a two-month period between August and October 2010. From November, we managed to obtain local authority support to limit both the volume and the operational hours of the beer garden. This went a long way to returning the situation to its normal tranquility at HanumanAlaya. However, since the new year, the offending beer garden has closed, so the owners and management can catergorically state that there are no outstanding noise issues with the property.

We confidently look forward to welcoming guests for a peaceful and relaxing stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Natura Resort
Natura Resort
#108 of 361 in Siem Reap
220 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bunwin Residence
Bunwin Residence
#103 of 361 in Siem Reap
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regency Angkor Hotel
Regency Angkor Hotel
#129 of 361 in Siem Reap
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cyclo d’Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
#66 of 361 in Siem Reap
653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angkor Village Resort
Angkor Village Resort
#67 of 361 in Siem Reap
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence

Address: 5 Krom 2 | Phoum Treang, Siem Reap PO2321, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#69 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £45 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare for divine inspiration! The temples of Angkor, capital of Cambodia's ancient Khmer empire, are the perfect fusion of creative ambition and spiritual devotion. HanumanAlaya, Angkor's very own boutique residence, is just a short distance away from these magnificent temple monuments and is the perfect blend of traditional Khmer design and sophisticated international amenities. Many guests love our idyllic retreat. Our guest book is a eulogy to hospitality: a 'wonderful place', 'excellent service', a 'perfect retreat'. 'Paradise'. Lovingly finished in wood and elegantly decorated in local antiques and handicrafts, the HanumanAlaya is a home more than a hotel and guests find it the perfect place to unwind after an adventurous day exploring Angkor Wat and the many other temples. Surrounded by lush gardens, a swimming pool, tropical plants, and a soothing Spa, it is an idyllic retreat from the bustle of Siem Reap beyond, a stay to be savoured rather than rushed. Angkor is a magical experience, one that will stay with visitors forever. Make it more memorable at HanumanAlaya by immersing yourself in our rooms with a personal touch. We are delighted to invite you to visit our sister property, HanumanAlaya Villa, located just 5mn walk from the main hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanumanalaya Boutique Residence Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing