We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, good value hotel”
Review of La Maison d'Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Maison d'Angkor
Ranked #120 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charming, good value hotel”
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed here for 4 days in December 2010. Had a large room with large bathroom overlooking the garden. Very comfortable & clean, though the furniture could be updated. Long narrow pool, same depth throughout, which, as a non-confident swimmer, I loved. Very few sun loungers & many not in the sun. Some pool furniture (sofas) needs updating & the area around the sun loungers seemed not to be swept daily.

Breakfasts are good, though not over generous. The garden is attractive, but not manicured. Staff are very charming & helpful. A bit of a way from the town, so if you want to be in town, not for you. Tuk-tuks just outside the hotel.

I booked an English speaking guide through the hotel & was not impressed. His English was not good enough, & when one strayed into a conversation beyond Angkor, he faltered. The hotel should be sure that the guides really can speak English well.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footloose111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    99
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
76
186
25
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Honestly, it is hard to find a more cosy and better place to stay. It is a very intimate atmosphere, quiet and peaceful. Rooms are large and comfortable, service is attentive and the kitchen is excellent. You will enjoy to relax in the garden, near the pool.
You can get a breakfast box if you wish to watch the sunrise.
The decoration is great and the hotel is thinking of a lot of small details to make the stay most enjoyable : a library with many books, possibility to book excursions through the hotel, massage in house, billard, business corner with free internet, ....
Great value for money, I can only recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Excellent well-run establishment in Siem Reap, this really was a great Cambodian boutique experience. The staff is outstanding; quick and professional, and let’s not forget, extremley friendly. I will put this down to the excellent management at L’Maison (well done Joffrey). What I really loved here was the hide-away aspect of the place; I always felt as if we were escaping the busy, tourist-ville of S.R, to our private and calm tropical jungle to lounge by the pool followed by a massage.

The location is great as the city centre is only about 10 mins by Tuk-Tuk, which was U$2.5 each way. Don’t be put off by this as you will travel by Tuk-Tuk really no matter where you are.

We stayed in the junior suite and must say whoever designed the bathroom deserves an award. It is stunning and simple.

I would highly recommend this over any of the hotels in S.R (visited many).

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyle-Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Stayed for 3 nights for visiting temples etc.
Beautiful boutique hotel, delivering perfect personal service, and surroundings.
If you want glass and concrete go elsewhere, but if you are an experienced traveller, wanting a little class, at sensible prices look no further.
We had the 3 night package which we considered good value. They could not do enough to make our stay memorable, and the food was excellent. Rooms were spotlessly clean and the bathroom unique. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John46Surrey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Spend a few days there during a trip to anghor wat then move to another hotel as they were fully booked. I will definately come in this hotel. The stay was top from A to Z. Staff and management very nice and service mind. Room big and very clean. Garden and swimming pool really restfull after a good day of visit and for relax. I eat at their restaurant several time and was highly satified of their selection and food tasting. Not far away from downtown and historical temples. So relax and confidential away from the crowd of tourists...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RnoBkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Three enjoyable days and nights. Delightful rooms. lovely gardens, very obliging staff and interesting good value food and drink. Loved the pool , bar and outdoor restaurant. We booked the deluxe package which included Tuk Tuk, a dinner and a lunch and a Khmer massage. Dont miss the latter.
Booking the Tuk Tuk was a good move. Made it very easy to get around the temples and the city.
Recommend strongly.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

La Maison d'Angkor is a nice place outside of town, but on the main road so it's easy to get to. It is quiet, and the grounds are covered with trees and bushes, giving the place a tropical resort feel. Although only yards from the main road, you rarely hear any traffic, just the occasional horn from a tuk-tuk. The villa I rented was in the back, away from the road, so we couldn't hear anything back there anyway. They have a large pool surrounded by trees, which we used both day and night. We were never bothered by any of the hotel staff; they always worked in the background, which suited me fine.

The room was very clean, our bay doors opened out into the common grounds with trees and flowering bushes, so we often kept the doors opened just for the view. We had a sunken bathub (but as is the case in every hotel I've ever stayed, there wasn't nearly enough hot water to fill it to take a hot bath), but was fine for showers. Huge bathroom by the way, with two sinks. If I ever built a house I would have made it the same way.

The hotel has a small kitchen/dining area outside near the pool, but we never ate there so I can't judge the food, but since the place is run by French people, I'm sure it was great. Everything was run well and I have no issues to complain about, which for a hotel in Cambodia is quite a feat. The service was great, we had peace and quiet the entire time, we were never bothered by anyone or anything. Any issues we had were promptly taken care of.

We were picked up and delivered to the airport without any hassle (which I can't say for most other hotels I've stayed at in Siem Reap). There are always several tuk-tuk's sitting outside waiting for customers. A ride to the Old market took maybe 15 minutes and cost $3. I plan to return to Siem Reap in a year or two, and would probably stay here again, just because I know it is clean, safe, quiet and well managed. They had just finished an outdoor bar near the pool, but sadly, no one in my party drank alcohol so we never sat there.

Near our villa there is a small jacuzzi and a nipa hut, where we often sat and ate our meals we brought it, which was a nice touch. Surrounded by trees with the water splashing into the jacuzzi.

The only advice I could give is to the owner; I saw him walking around one night barking at the Cambodian staff, slapping the counter and acting like a colonialist. If you have to talk to or discipline your staff, do it in private, not next to the pool in view of guests.

My rating is 5 stars for cleanliness, rooms, sleep and service, location gets 4 because it is a good drive from downtown (some people might not like that). One good thing about the place is, the other guests all seemed to be well cultured individuals, and not the sex-tourist crowd that are all over downtown. No "DOM" (Dirty Old Men) with their little girls.

Also, I read some review saying the place had bedbugs, and that is a lie. My room was great. My guess is that if someone DID write the review intentionally, they probably had fleas from the dogs and cats downtown. At almost every place we ate in the Old market, dogs and cats from the street would come up and lie under the table, waiting for scraps. My legs were itching almost immediately, and I was soon using bug repellent on my legs everytime I went downtown. I'm guessing this happened to whomever wrote that review. But the place is immaculate, and there are no bedbugs.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dharma_Punk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Angkor Elysium Suite
Angkor Elysium Suite
#99 of 353 in Siem Reap
120 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Cyclo d’Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
#73 of 353 in Siem Reap
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel & Spa
Pacific Hotel & Spa
#81 of 353 in Siem Reap
522 reviews
3.0 mi away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#4 of 353 in Siem Reap
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Palmeraie d'Angkor
La Palmeraie d'Angkor
#45 of 493 in Siem Reap
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d'Angkor

Property: La Maison d'Angkor
Address: No. 71, National Road No. 6, Village Kaksekam, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#51 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#87 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison d'Angkor 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison D'Angkor is a charming and quiet boutique hotel. The luxuriant garden offers a home full of serenity for travelers after a long day of sightseeing. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Only 16 rooms. Free internet, free shuttle to the town. The manager (French) stays in Cambodia since 5 years and helps you to organize original trips. Rates include breakfasts and pick up upon arrival. Best value in Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Maison d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison d`Angkor Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing