We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical, peaceful and a great place to relax.”
Review of La Maison d'Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Maison d'Angkor
Ranked #123 of 357 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tropical, peaceful and a great place to relax.”
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We had a 4 night package and would have stayed longer if there had been availability. The rooms were spacious, clean and well maintained The staff were friendly and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious with plenty of variety . Although a little out of town a Tuk Tuk was always there to transport you. I highly recommend this Villa as a nice, comfortable place to stay while in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misty16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    99
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
76
186
25
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2011

A very nice setting. The rooms were beautiful, as were the pool and dining areas. An oasis of calm and beauty, especially considering that the property is located on a major highway just outside of Siem Reap. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvialard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed at La Maison D’Angkor for 5-nights in November as part of a tour of Thailand, Laos and Cambodia, in a Deluxe room on the first floor of the main building. Prior to our visit I had a few questions which Joffrey Gris, the General Manager answered very promptly which is reassuring when booking a long time in advance many miles away. He also organised transfers to and from the hotel from the airport.

The first thing to note is that the website for La Maison D’Angkor does not do the hotel justice. This is a beautiful oasis only a few minutes tuk-tuk ride from the centre of Siem Reap and about 20-minutes from the temple complex. There are only 16-rooms spread around lushly planted grounds with a large refreshing pool in the centre and lots of sun beds - there is also a jacuzzi hidden away. Although on the Airport road, once inside the gates you simply are not aware of any noise or the fact that beyond the perimeter is a busy area.

Our room was a very good size with everything we needed during our stay including a good constant WiFi connection. There was a room safe and minibar and complimentary water each day. We had a massive balcony/veranda with a large table and views across the pool and grounds. The bathroom was well equipped although on occasions the hot water in the shower did run a bit tepid. The room had both air-con (could have been a little more efficient although it was adequate) and a ceiling fan.

The hotel has its own tuk-tuk drivers who wait outside of the grounds in case you need a ride into town or a days visiting the temples. We met ‘Kimsong’ on our first day and we hired his services for the next few days as well. He was a very safe driver and also very punctual (including for our 3.30am departure to Angkor Wat to photograph the sunrise!). The hotel also can arrange spa treatments and after a couple of days of early starts to visit temples I booked a pedicure in the peace of the thatched treatment room which was very good.

Although most people visit Siem Reap to visit the Angkor Wat complex, the town itself is very interesting and well worth a half day or so visit. The Phsar Chas (the 'Old Market') is fascinating and do try the Butterflies Garden restaurant for lunch or dinner - across the bridge from the old market (sign posted). Not only does the restaurant serve very good traditional Khmer food (eaten while surrounded by butterflies), it also has a social mission to support disadvantaged communities and helps fund local children to attend schools.

It is well worth adding an extra day to your stay for relaxation and to enjoy the facilities of the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in La Maison D’Angkor and not consider staying anywhere else if we were lucky enough to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaDurnford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed here for 4 days in December 2010. Had a large room with large bathroom overlooking the garden. Very comfortable & clean, though the furniture could be updated. Long narrow pool, same depth throughout, which, as a non-confident swimmer, I loved. Very few sun loungers & many not in the sun. Some pool furniture (sofas) needs updating & the area around the sun loungers seemed not to be swept daily.

Breakfasts are good, though not over generous. The garden is attractive, but not manicured. Staff are very charming & helpful. A bit of a way from the town, so if you want to be in town, not for you. Tuk-tuks just outside the hotel.

I booked an English speaking guide through the hotel & was not impressed. His English was not good enough, & when one strayed into a conversation beyond Angkor, he faltered. The hotel should be sure that the guides really can speak English well.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footloose111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Honestly, it is hard to find a more cosy and better place to stay. It is a very intimate atmosphere, quiet and peaceful. Rooms are large and comfortable, service is attentive and the kitchen is excellent. You will enjoy to relax in the garden, near the pool.
You can get a breakfast box if you wish to watch the sunrise.
The decoration is great and the hotel is thinking of a lot of small details to make the stay most enjoyable : a library with many books, possibility to book excursions through the hotel, massage in house, billard, business corner with free internet, ....
Great value for money, I can only recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Excellent well-run establishment in Siem Reap, this really was a great Cambodian boutique experience. The staff is outstanding; quick and professional, and let’s not forget, extremley friendly. I will put this down to the excellent management at L’Maison (well done Joffrey). What I really loved here was the hide-away aspect of the place; I always felt as if we were escaping the busy, tourist-ville of S.R, to our private and calm tropical jungle to lounge by the pool followed by a massage.

The location is great as the city centre is only about 10 mins by Tuk-Tuk, which was U$2.5 each way. Don’t be put off by this as you will travel by Tuk-Tuk really no matter where you are.

We stayed in the junior suite and must say whoever designed the bathroom deserves an award. It is stunning and simple.

I would highly recommend this over any of the hotels in S.R (visited many).

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyle-Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Stayed for 3 nights for visiting temples etc.
Beautiful boutique hotel, delivering perfect personal service, and surroundings.
If you want glass and concrete go elsewhere, but if you are an experienced traveller, wanting a little class, at sensible prices look no further.
We had the 3 night package which we considered good value. They could not do enough to make our stay memorable, and the food was excellent. Rooms were spotlessly clean and the bathroom unique. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John46Surrey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
2.9 mi away
Angkor Village Hotel
Angkor Village Hotel
#64 of 357 in Siem Reap
539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Sokhalay Hotel
Grand Sokhalay Hotel
#279 of 357 in Siem Reap
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
#72 of 357 in Siem Reap
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel & Spa
Pacific Hotel & Spa
#86 of 357 in Siem Reap
525 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angkor Elysium Suite
Angkor Elysium Suite
#96 of 357 in Siem Reap
134 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Palmeraie d'Angkor
La Palmeraie d'Angkor
#46 of 497 in Siem Reap
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d'Angkor

Property: La Maison d'Angkor
Address: No. 71, National Road No. 6, Village Kaksekam, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#51 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#87 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison d'Angkor 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison D'Angkor is a charming and quiet boutique hotel. The luxuriant garden offers a home full of serenity for travelers after a long day of sightseeing. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Only 16 rooms. Free internet, free shuttle to the town. The manager (French) stays in Cambodia since 5 years and helps you to organize original trips. Rates include breakfasts and pick up upon arrival. Best value in Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Maison d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison d`Angkor Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing