We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pool and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa
Ranked #96 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Pool and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Somadevi hotel was very welcoming. The staff is extremely polite and helpful, the room was quite big and comfortable, and the breakfast was tasty and offered a good variety. The hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from the night market and Pub Street with all its restaurants. This short walk was especially welcome after a good dinner. The hotel's pool is quite big (you can actually swim there) and was a great place to relax after a long day of exploring local temples.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikolayG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    590
    165
    23
    19
See reviews for
229
498
122
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Booked 4 nights stay at the Somadevi Angkor Hotel, with friends, so that we could explore as many of the Angkor Temples etc as possible & with it stating that it was located walking distance to Pub Street & the night markets we knew that after our exertions during the day, we would have somewhere nearby to go to eat & relax on a night.
That might have been the initial reason for booking the Hotel & therefore we weren't totally bothered what it was like, because there would be a fair chance that we would be sightseeing during the day & relaxing during the night in a bar/restaurant.
But from the minute we walked into the Hotel Lobby we were all blown away by the looks of the place & the friendliness of the staff, this excitement didn't stop when we got to our rooms overlooking the pool, absolutely fantastic. Even managed a dip in the pool, which was very refreshing.

The breakfast has something for everyone, if you can't find something to eat here then you have to be the fussiest eater known to man. Of the 4 of us, 3 were from the UK & 1 was from Thailand and we didn't struggle once to find something to eat. There is the 'egg station' cooking omelet’s, scrambled eggs etc to your liking, a fresh meat/salad bar (for your continental breakfast) and various hot meals with different choices every day. They even had a noodle section, where they cooked your breakfast noodles for you (which my Thai partner loved).

One day we returned back from sightseeing early, so relaxed around the pool area, which was very good. Decided to have something to eat & was pleasantly surprised at the cost, very reasonable for a Hotel & very tasty as well.
Booked a Tuk-Tuk driver through the Hotel & he was so good & couldn’t do enough to help us with what we wanted to see & do, that we kept him for 3 days. Spoke perfect English & even Thai which catered well for the 4 of us. He took us to some wonderful places to eat during our sightseeing tours, so we had no complaints at all as unfortunately others appeared to have with their drivers.

When we go back to Siem Reap we will definitely be stopping in the Somadevi Angkor Hotel, no need to look anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smoggy1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marikina, Philippines
Level Contributor
333 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The Somadevi is a Beautiful Centrally located hotel in Siem Reap. The rooms are big and have their own balcony. The pool is excellent, the water is just right. Breakfast is extensive, lots of choices available. Staff are friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingRegis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
324 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Paid extra for a Deluxe room (room 4 161) Good value with a buffet breakfast included. The breakfast was good but caters more for asian tastes. Hot food unfortunately like many other 4 star hotels in asia was not kept hot. Settled for the freshly cooked egg options. Too much hand drying of plates and glasses was also observed in the restaurant each morning. A used food plate was also left outside a neighbouring room for two days until I flagged it. Plenty of staff so that was odd.
Other facilities clean and very well kept with beautiful flowering orchids around the nice pool area.
The room had adjustable air cond and a free room safe. No top sheet and a heavy doona but again this silly choice is too common in a country that is hot year round.
As others have said this hotel is city center and it is an easy 10-15 min walk to Pub Street and the good value local markets. Plenty of eating options close nearby.
There is a construction site currently happening next door but this did not bother us as we were out visiting the temples all day.
We were there for their New Year's Eve show out besides the pool. Great food spread but too much of the hot food was again not being kept hygieneically warm.

Room Tip: Even the cheaper front rooms face a courtyard well back from the main room. They indeed may even be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeenPhotographer-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Pines, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel this week and already miss it. Excellent value for money, just 5 minutes walk to the night markets and pub street, buffet breakfast in the morning was perfect not to mention lunch and dinner. We also had buffet dinner with traditional Khmer dance show. The staff was really friendly and helpful.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

For a start, Siem Reap is incredible, just breathtaking. And this hotel made our trip even better!

My husband and I visited as part of our honeymoon trip to SE Asia and on arrival we were well looked after from the start. The staff had made a special effort in our room and there were flowers in the shape of a heart and towel-swans on our bed - a lovely touch!

The pool is the best bit of the hotel though and we really enjoyed coming back to the hotel in the afternoons for a cooling swim and crisp Angkor beer at the swim-up bar.

All the staff were great, and the hotel is really clean and well located for the Angkor Temples. There is quite a lot of building work going on at the rear of the hotel but it didn't bother us at all. The hotel were also able to arrange for one of their drivers to collect and return us to the airport which was very convenient for us.

Our only regret is that we didn't have more time to explore Cambodia.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern New Jersey, US
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We booked a package online that included free airport transfers, a dinner, and two 30-min massages. Overall I thought this hotel was an excellent value for what we paid. It was well located in town, easily walkable to restaurants and shops. The 3-course dinner in the restaurant was delicious. The room was large, clean and comfortable. Best thing about this hotel: they were really willing to break bills for us - whenever we needed smaller US bills (especially singles), they were able to make change! Free airport pickup was on time and it was easy to arrange the return trip. They also set up a cooking class for us at Le Tigre de Papier. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast and the massage weren't the best we had on our trip but were fine. There were lots of choices for breakfast though.

Watch out for the tuk tuk drivers, even ones booked through the hotel. We booked a driver through the hotel for sunrise, dropping us off afterwards in town for a 1 pm cooking class at Le Tigre de Papier. I assumed we could go anywhere in the main temples area, as the hotel and driver hadn't asked us to say which temples we wanted to go to. He took us to Angkor Wat for the sunrise, and when we asked to go to the next set of temples (Angkor Thom), he said usually half day tour only includes Angkor Wat - Really? 5:30 am until 12:30 pm at Angkor Wat? 7 hours at Angkor Wat? It doesn't take 7 hours to tour Angkor Wat - everything else I've seen with half-day tours has Angkor Wat and another temple (e.g. Angkor Thom). He finally took us to Angkor Thom begrudgingly, and after touring the Bayon I wasn't sure if we could walk to the rest of it (elephant terrace, etc.) or whether he would want to pick us up on the other side, etc. In trying to explain this, he was saying we couldn't go anywhere else and, flustered, I mistakenly told him Ta Prom instead of Angkor Thom. We finally got it sorted out. In any case, I was tempted to ditch him and find another way back to the hotel so I didn't have to deal. The next day, instead of rolling the dice with renting a tuk tuk and having him tell us where we could and couldn't go and try to charge us "extra", we rented bicycles instead and saw three temples on our own (Ta Prohm, Banteay Kdei and Prasat Kravan). It's about 45 min-1hr bicycle ride out to those temples; we made it back in time to catch an afternoon flight. If you do decide to take a tuk tuk, write down ahead of time which places you plan to go and get him to confirm beforehand, even if you already paid through the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
28.2 mi away
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Boutique & Resort
28.1 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#92 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
28.1 mi away
Angkor Paradise Hotel
Angkor Paradise Hotel
#100 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.3 mi away
Tara Angkor Hotel
Tara Angkor Hotel
#81 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,958 reviews
27.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#37 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,699 reviews
27.9 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#65 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa

Property: Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa
Address: Sivatha Blvd, Mondul II Village, Sangkat Svaydangkum | Central City, Pub Street, Old Market, Night Market, Lucky Mall, Siem Reap River., Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#32 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#55 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#55 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#68 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#71 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL SOMADEVI ANGKOR RESORT & SPA is indeed a Resort of Class and Character in which you should not miss while you are visiting the mystical land - Siem Reap Angkor. The Resort has been designed to guarantee you a most pleasant and memorable stay as we aim to deliver products and services that consistently meet and exceed your travel's needs and wants. HOTEL SOMADEVI ANGKOR RESORT & SPA is quite centrally situated handy for Top Business, Restaurant, Shopping, Museum, Bank, and Entertainment Centers. It is just fifteen (15) minutes drive from Siem Reap International Airport and ten (10) minutes to the world-renowned Angkor Watt Temple. Truly, HOTEL SOMADEVI ANGKOR RESORT & SPA is a convenient address to business and leisure travelers. SOMADEVI was originally the name of the Cambodian Queen who led Cambodia in the first century during the Khmer Empire Period. Based on her successful merits in making Cambodia the most well-known country in South East Asia in terms of society and infrastructure, her name continues to rise in the mind of today's Cambodian people. Therefore, we have taken her extinct name as our business brand name with the sole purpose of respect and worship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somadevi Angkor Siem Reap
Hotel Somadevi Angkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing