We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa
Ranked #108 of 372 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We have visited Siem Reap five times in five years. We always stay at the Somadevi because of location, close to the markets, many shops down the boulevard, Lucky Mall & of course Pub Street. All within walking distance. It is noted as a 4 star hotel but it could be a 5 star. Very reasonably priced. The rooms are lovely. A great pool with a bar. The staff is unbelievable. So friendly & eager to please. A must stay at the Somadevi

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lida T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel was lovely, offering good breakfast, and only walking distance to pub street and the night market.
Only disappointment was 1) There was no tourist information and staff was unhelpful with booking tours.
2) The hotel rooms where slightly out dated, but very clean and a good size.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bee7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

this hotel was in a great location, friendly, helpful - we really enjoyed it, and hope to get back there soon. staff very helpful, they even got my son a birthday cake for him..how nice !! and thoughtful - loved the hotel - great

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The title says it all - the hotel itself is very big and has a luxury lobby with traditional Khmer artworks, etc. The buffet breakfast is amazing with a big variety of foods to choose from. The staff are very friendly and most of them speak very good english. This hotel is only a 15-20 minute tuk-tuk drive from the Angkor temples, 5 minute walk to the night markets, pub street, etc.
The hotel also provides tuk-tuk service however it is usually $2-3 more expensive than the ones you can get on the streets.
The spa and massage facility that the hotel has is also very nice, they have a big range of different massages and spa treatments that will suit your needs.
However, the room is very old. When I first entered the room it had a very old mouldy smell. The furnitures looked old and it was obvious that they were they for ages. The bathroom is also old as well with mould patches along the ceilings. There are stains along the room walls and the bathroom walls.
My room overlooked the front of the hotel (parking area) so there was not enough sunlight coming into the room (maybe this was why the room smelt like moulds).
Also the wifi is terrible at this hotel. You have to constantly log into the hotel wifi as it disconnects every time you leave the room, or go down to the lobby area. Even when you are connected, sometimes the wifi is so slow that you don't get internet.

Room Tip: Hopefully to avoid the old mouldy smell coming from the rooms, ask for a pool view room as those roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Regina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely Hotel with lovely staff, good food and highly convenient for the town(be careful of the pavements). Sadly, for us the building works were too intrusive, so for the time being, this does not really represent s viable holiday option. If you plan to be out early and not back until after 4 pm, then it shouldn't be a problem.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank dartbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

I have listed the pros and cons of this hotel but have to say that the building works going on would prevent me from recommending to anyone.. It's noisy and intrusive and I cannot understand why other reviewers have said it's not a problem. It is a big problem 10 hours a day 7 days a week! We complained and were offered a free dinner but if our rooms hadn't been prepaid we would have found another hotel. For that reason I currently give this hotel an overall rating of Poor.

Pros
The hotel itself represents pretty good value for money.

Comfortable beds with good quality bed linen

The staff are friendly and helpful

Location is great - just a few minutes from Pub St.

Cons

Building noise !!!! The hotel is extending on the opposite side of the swimming pool and there is building noise from 7am - 5pm. It's impossible to relax at the pool after a day out.

The spa is also affected by the same noise.

The spa treatments are very expensive and you are expected to share a rooms. There are two rooms each with 4-5 beds with curtains around but you can hear the person next to you breathing! I opted out of this and went along the road and had the same treatment for a third of the price.

Bathrooms need updating, the shower is tiny!

There are not enough sun loungers for the size of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DartmoorBarnOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somadevi Angkor H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

Dear Sir / Madam,

Greeting from HOTEL SOMADEVI ANGKOR RESORT & SPA!
We are on behalf of SOMADEVI team would like to say thank very much for stay and using our service during your trip in Siem Reap Cambodia. We are deeply apologized any inconvenience and we will improved our service and property. we are sure that will not happen again in future. We really appreciate for what you have wrote on and your feedback our service. we are hoping, you will come to stay with us again in the nearest future.

Regards,
Phirom Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

On this my second trip to Siem Reap we stayed right in town. So much easier to walk to everything. Location perfect with supermarket right across the road and markets and Pub Street a 3 min stroll. Beds really comfy, service outstanding, breakfast and food a bit average. Excellent shower and linen and in room wifi. Pool was big and nice but shaded a lot of the time. Spa was expensive and treatments not really up to standard for the price paid. Would definitely stay here again though as overall an excellent experience.

Room Tip: Book online for the best room prices. Walk in rates considerably more expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliezzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
28.2 mi away
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Boutique & Resort
28.1 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#95 of 372 in Siem Reap
1,439 reviews
27.3 mi away
Tara Angkor Hotel
Tara Angkor Hotel
#90 of 372 in Siem Reap
3,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#40 of 372 in Siem Reap
5,388 reviews
28.1 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
28.1 mi away
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
#76 of 372 in Siem Reap
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa

Address: Sivatha Blvd, Mondul II Village, Sangkat Svaydangkum | Central City, Pub Street, Old Market, Night Market, Lucky Mall, Siem Reap River., Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#32 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#54 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#54 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#79 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#83 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £37 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL SOMADEVI ANGKOR RESORT & SPA is indeed a Resort of Class and Character in which you should not miss while you are visiting the mystical land - Siem Reap Angkor. The Resort has been designed to guarantee you a most pleasant and memorable stay as we aim to deliver products and services that consistently meet and exceed your travel's needs and wants. HOTEL SOMADEVI ANGKOR RESORT & SPA is quite centrally situated handy for Top Business, Restaurant, Shopping, Museum, Bank, and Entertainment Centers. It is just fifteen (15) minutes drive from Siem Reap International Airport and ten (10) minutes to the world-renowned Angkor Watt Temple. Truly, HOTEL SOMADEVI ANGKOR RESORT & SPA is a convenient address to business and leisure travelers. SOMADEVI was originally the name of the Cambodian Queen who led Cambodia in the first century during the Khmer Empire Period. Based on her successful merits in making Cambodia the most well-known country in South East Asia in terms of society and infrastructure, her name continues to rise in the mind of today's Cambodian people. Therefore, we have taken her extinct name as our business brand name with the sole purpose of respect and worship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somadevi Angkor Siem Reap
Hotel Somadevi Angkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing