We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa
Ranked #93 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was our 5th stay at the Somadevi. That's got to tell you something! This time we stayed for 12 nights! For the price, this hotel is the best in Siem Reap. (We've gone 'hotel shopping' over the years while we've stayed there and we just keep going back to the Somadevi. The rooms may not be the very best quality, but they are super clean and extremely comfortable. (Make sure to get a pool view - best view and the morning sun).

The staff are exceptionally friendly and polite (as are all the locals really). We even know a few of them by name (such as we can pronounce, anyway).

Everything is in walking distance - all the markets, the river, the restaurants, supermarkets, specialty shops and more more more. And if it a tuk-tuk you need for the longer journey, the tuk-tuk drivers in this hotel do not rip you off at all! In fact I feel like we should pay them more!

I will stop now or I shall write a few thousand words. Do yourself a favour. Stay here.

Room Tip: Pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    582
    160
    23
    18
See reviews for
226
491
120
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I was a group of nine mid 20-something year olds travelling through SE Asia in January. We really enjoyed our stay (three nights) at Somadevi basically because it was so nice. We had just stayed at a rather crud place in Thailand for NYE and Somadevi was paradise in comparison. The service was fantastic, the rooms were super comfy and quite large (really great beds) and the pool was amazing (heads up: it is phenomenally cheaper to get water/ drinks from the minimart around the corner from the hotel than buying it from the pool bar when you overheat). It was the perfect base to walk into the main shopping area (about 10mins) and the hotel was able to organise a minibus for us to get around the temples. The only little angsty thing was they forgot about the minibus we organised to get to the airport but they quickly found one when we realised and we got there on time. A great stay, highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AjlGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is within walking distance to the old market, night market and pub street so in terms of location, it is excellent. Impressed with the standard of English from the staff. Staff were helpful with reservation of restaurants and confirmation of pick up. Room was spacious, hugh bathroom. However, ants could be seen in the room and the images from the TV were quite grainy. Breakfast was good with quite a bit of variety.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grayee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina sask
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

A very nice Hotel, but what caused me to bother with the review was the excellent service of the people behind the frount desk. We were booked in for a few days as a group of 18 people. We were scheduled to take a bus from this Hotel to Bangkok. On the day before our group was to leave by bus, 14 of the group decided they wanted to take the plane to Bangkok. The frount desk on this short notice managed to book these people on to a flight the next day, and delivered their tickets to their door in a few short hours. I couldn't believe a hotel would give this level of service!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool are a little nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We found this hotel online and got a good rate. Location was perfect and it was walking distance to Pub Street, the river and the night markets. There was some confusion on arrival as the confirmation stated complimentary airport transfers which never materialised. After waiting at the airport for 20 minutes and trying to call the hotel (and failing) we got a cab for US$7. On check in the hotel stated that they no longer offered these transfers - no big deal, it just would have been helpful for them to have updated their confirmation.
Our room was on the 4th floor and the lifts only go to the 3rd. The porter took our cases so it wasn't a drama and we had a lovely view of the huge pool from our balcony. The hotel offers free wifi which was great except it kept dropping out.
We only ate breakfast at the hotel which was a buffet and average as far as buffets go.
There is a building site next door which I gather is going to be a boutique hotel attached to the existing resort. If you fancy a couple of quiet days lazing by the pool after you've done the temples, you may want to find somewhere else to stay as the noise from the site starts around 8am and goes all all day in full view of the pool. That said, once your iPod is in or you're into a good book you begin to ignore the noise and the pool bar staff make fantastic cocktails.
Service was generally of a high standard too. Overall the hotel could do with a bit of a facelift but for the money, it's pretty good.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room that's not on the 4th floor if you don't like stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Siem Reap is a fairly small city where one can reach the market, temples and spas by riding the tuktuk. Somadevi is one of the large hotels that dot the whole city (they sure have lots) but it was good as it was a few blocks away from the market (where the action, the food and the shopping were). I got sick with stomach flu when we visited and my bed was really a comfortable one making the discomfort a bit tolerable. And for this reason I was not able to enjoy their big pool and the extensive breakfast served for our first two days. I caught up on our last morning and was surprised that they had a wide spread of food served. Wifi was not so strong on the upper floors and we had to go to the room balcony for a good connection. The staff were helpful, spoke good English and they allowed us to use the spa showers to freshen up before our night flight. I felt at home in this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the pool view room, I think the wifi is stronger there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTJison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We have visited Siem Reap five times in five years. We always stay at the Somadevi because of location, close to the markets, many shops down the boulevard, Lucky Mall & of course Pub Street. All within walking distance. It is noted as a 4 star hotel but it could be a 5 star. Very reasonably priced. The rooms are lovely. A great pool with a bar. The staff is unbelievable. So friendly & eager to please. A must stay at the Somadevi

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lida T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
28.2 mi away
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Boutique & Resort
28.1 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#91 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
28.1 mi away
Angkor Paradise Hotel
Angkor Paradise Hotel
#96 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 mi away
Tara Angkor Hotel
Tara Angkor Hotel
#82 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,922 reviews
27.9 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#67 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
27.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#36 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa

Property: Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa
Address: Sivatha Blvd, Mondul II Village, Sangkat Svaydangkum | Central City, Pub Street, Old Market, Night Market, Lucky Mall, Siem Reap River., Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#32 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#55 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#55 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#66 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#69 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL SOMADEVI ANGKOR RESORT & SPA is indeed a Resort of Class and Character in which you should not miss while you are visiting the mystical land - Siem Reap Angkor. The Resort has been designed to guarantee you a most pleasant and memorable stay as we aim to deliver products and services that consistently meet and exceed your travel's needs and wants. HOTEL SOMADEVI ANGKOR RESORT & SPA is quite centrally situated handy for Top Business, Restaurant, Shopping, Museum, Bank, and Entertainment Centers. It is just fifteen (15) minutes drive from Siem Reap International Airport and ten (10) minutes to the world-renowned Angkor Watt Temple. Truly, HOTEL SOMADEVI ANGKOR RESORT & SPA is a convenient address to business and leisure travelers. SOMADEVI was originally the name of the Cambodian Queen who led Cambodia in the first century during the Khmer Empire Period. Based on her successful merits in making Cambodia the most well-known country in South East Asia in terms of society and infrastructure, her name continues to rise in the mind of today's Cambodian people. Therefore, we have taken her extinct name as our business brand name with the sole purpose of respect and worship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somadevi Angkor Siem Reap
Hotel Somadevi Angkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing