We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with a wonderful buffet breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa
Ranked #105 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with a wonderful buffet breakfast.”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Somadevi is a big hotel located nearby Pub Street. We have been there 6 times in about two years.
You have to know that there are several room types (superior & deluxe in the main buiding), premium deluxe & suites in a new building accross the swimming pool. Rooms are much nicer in the enw buiding (but also more expensive). Although, for returning customers, they upgraged us regularly.
Swimming pool is gorgeous and there are lots of sunbeds around. Breakfast is somptuous with an amazing choice of hot dishes, an egg and noodle station, pastries, excellent bread, cheese, vegetables etc. No fresh juice though. If you don't sleep there, indulge yourself and go there for breafast only : it costs only 8US$.

On one occasion, we got a so so room (on the ground floor in the main building). So try to avoid those ones. Try to get a room with pool view (3rd or 4th floor). If you are staying in Siem for a long time, you can also get a pass for their swimming pool & spa. It costs only 85US$ per month for a couple. You have access to the pool, the sauna & steam bath and you get 15% disount on food & beverage.

There is a very good Indian restaurant just next door (Curry Wallah) and a little further (same direction), a small khmer restaurant supplies food & drinks 24 hours a day.

Within walking distance from Pub Street (7 minutes). You should enjoy your stay there.

They build antother building on the premise (a "Boutique" section). This construction started already a long time ago and was still underway end of December 2013. This should be a more upscale section when ready.

Room Tip: On one occasion, we got a so so room (on the ground floor in the main building). So try to avoid tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZowieZiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    605
    167
    24
    19
See reviews for
234
506
126
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

When you enter the hotel you can see that this hotel has been an amazingly stunning hotel. Now however it is a little bit old and run down. The rooms Are big, but the cleaning could have been better.
The room also had a tv with movie channels on like HBO etc.
The hotel is perfectly situated nearby a shoppingcenter where you can get whatever you might need and far enough away from pub street that you wont here the noice (apx 5. Min walk to pubstreet).
The breakfast buffet offered a variety of dishes, but the food In the restaurant and poolbar was not so good. There is two amazing restaurants around the corner (to your left when you go into the main street). There offers good Khmer and Indian food.
The service at the hotel is impeccible. Really nice staff who Will help you with tours, busses etc.
The spa was really good and the people who worked there amazing! You should definitly try it!
I could have stayed here again, but my expectation would have been more realistic ;-)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights. The hotel provided airport transportation. The reception staff were always friendly, helpful and well informed about the area. We were very tired and my husband wasn't well, and were given an early check in. The room was spacious, bed very comfortable and the pool looked like about a 20 metre pool ? Maybe 25? We didn't use it but could hear people having fun when our balcony doors were open. When our doors were closed it was quiet! Hot water taps go the opposite way to our country and the water pressure and temperature control was excellent. Very central location and the tuktuk drivers we used at the hotel, price compared favourably with the ones outside of the hotel, but in this we may have just got lucky. The breakfast was good not great but still plenty of options, Khmer food was always the better option and lots of fresh fruit!. As an aside the hotel dollar exchange rate was very poor ( 77 cents per AUD ) but literally two doors to the left is a currency exchange shop that gave us 92cents per AUD. in Australia we only got about 89cents and had to pay $5 Every time we used our cash card. Excellent value for money. We will happily return.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room overlooking the pool. I think it's called a garden view. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

After 12 days travelling through Vietnam we arrived in Cambodia and had no idea what to expect and quality of the hotel we were about to stay at, what a surprise this was a full on resort! large pool, swim up bar, large spacious room with good air conditioning and one of the most comfortable bed we had encountered on our holiday. The breakfast more than adequate, staff very friendly.

The hotel is centrally located to the night markets and Pub Street the place everyone goes and there is a supermarket close by good for water and snacks.

We would recommend a visit to the Angkor National Museum we found this very interesting and helped us understand the history of Angkor and the Khmer Empire this helped us relate to the Temples that we visited during our stay here. This was a very good hotel would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed at the Somadevi again (last time a year ago) for more Dental work in Siem Reap. Had a great time - friendly staff, great food and the pool was excellent. Had 3 on-site spa treatments and they were fantastic! Took 2 friends who will return there also. Room price reasonable and the balcony was great for chilling out on after a hard day shopping or sightseeing.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool great if you have a stay longer than a couple of nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Can't fault this place, I found it perfect. Great value, staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are clean, big and of a high standard.

At arrival we were treated very well and allowed to check in early. Was impressed with everything. They also provided us with a free shuttle service to the airport.

It's in a great location (close to pub street) and has a fantastic pool area with a cool pool bar. Also the breakfast isn't bad!

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone!!






Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basingstoke
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

First stayed here on a Travel Indo China Group holiday for 2 nights only. Were so impressed that booked again the following year and stayed for 7 nights. The location is good, close to the temples and also walking distance from BAR street and all its various facilities. Great restaurants whether eating formally or on the street market cafes. Never any problems . The rooms at the hotel are very good, we had one overlooking the swimming pool on the 3rd floor.
Breakfast was good, plenty of variety, the crusty bread was excellent. Swimming pool was good, and it was nice to come back to after a long day out at the temples. Would highly recommend this hotel, and would stay again.

Room Tip: room overlooking swimming pool, nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
28.2 mi away
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Boutique & Resort
28.1 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#96 of 353 in Siem Reap
1,361 reviews
27.3 mi away
Tara Angkor Hotel
Tara Angkor Hotel
#88 of 353 in Siem Reap
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.1 mi away
Angkor Paradise Hotel
Angkor Paradise Hotel
#100 of 353 in Siem Reap
892 reviews
28.1 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
28.2 mi away
Somadevi Residence
Somadevi Residence
#131 of 353 in Siem Reap
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa

Property: Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa
Address: Sivatha Blvd, Mondul II Village, Sangkat Svaydangkum | Central City, Pub Street, Old Market, Night Market, Lucky Mall, Siem Reap River., Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#32 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#55 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#55 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#75 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#78 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL SOMADEVI ANGKOR RESORT & SPA is indeed a Resort of Class and Character in which you should not miss while you are visiting the mystical land - Siem Reap Angkor. The Resort has been designed to guarantee you a most pleasant and memorable stay as we aim to deliver products and services that consistently meet and exceed your travel's needs and wants. HOTEL SOMADEVI ANGKOR RESORT & SPA is quite centrally situated handy for Top Business, Restaurant, Shopping, Museum, Bank, and Entertainment Centers. It is just fifteen (15) minutes drive from Siem Reap International Airport and ten (10) minutes to the world-renowned Angkor Watt Temple. Truly, HOTEL SOMADEVI ANGKOR RESORT & SPA is a convenient address to business and leisure travelers. SOMADEVI was originally the name of the Cambodian Queen who led Cambodia in the first century during the Khmer Empire Period. Based on her successful merits in making Cambodia the most well-known country in South East Asia in terms of society and infrastructure, her name continues to rise in the mind of today's Cambodian people. Therefore, we have taken her extinct name as our business brand name with the sole purpose of respect and worship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somadevi Angkor Siem Reap
Hotel Somadevi Angkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing