We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place - 2nd time we have stayed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap
Ranked #114 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Love this place - 2nd time we have stayed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

In 2010 we stayed at the resort but in May 2012 we stayed 5 nights at the hotel and it was just a good. Loved how its only 10 rooms so nice and small. Great staff (who remembered us from our 2010 stay which was lovely), great food, cocktails. Location to town is 5min walk or $1 tuk tuk ride for 1min. Rooms are great. Two stories with nice bathroom and space for bags and all your shopping.

We will come back to the hotel for another stay for sure. THe staff are just great. Love Siem Reap.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMAC1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    141
    29
    8
    8
See reviews for
43
213
74
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Big Sky, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

The staff at the Golden Banana were all just wonderful! They were so helpful and accomodating and they were always smiling. The pool was lovely and the rooms were so cute and fun. It was incredibly hot though and even though there was airconditioning many cool showers were needed. We were lucky enough to get NAGA as our tuk tuk driver and guide right from the get go. PLEASE request NAGA as your tuk tuk driver and guide for your entire trip. He was absolutely amazing and we were so incredibly lucky to have had him pick us up from the airport that first day. He guided us the whole time and became our very good friend very quickly. The food at the Golden Banana was very good and the drinks, non alcoholic and alcoholic were delicious! Best place in Siem Reap!

Room Tip: Get a room above the pool. It was amazing and for just a little more money, I think it was worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

Whats in a name you would think for sure golden it is, A perfect hideaway from the city and lovely looks will make u want to stay forever, friendly staff and could be famous for their name and peoples background. The staff is friendly the food I good and many nice pools around. The boutique place I love the most 2 floor rooms and very private it's a must see in siem reap

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed here in June 2011 for only 2 nights with my brother on a flying trip to beautiful Cambodia. Booked on the recommendation of a friend in Australia and they were certainly right. When we arrived there was only a queen bed in the room, and as two brothers, we didn't much fancy spooning each other. As the hotel was full, and no other rooms available, they carried a 2nd bed on their backs up the steep stairs to our room. Problem solved. Great pool, lovely breakfast (and food during the day), the staff were so friendly and kind. Always up for a chat. They hooked us up with the most amazing tour guide and tuk-tuk driver for our day at the temples, which really helped make our trip all that more special. Have recommended the hotel to friends, who've also written glowing reviews on here. Its an easy walk, or a $1 tuk-tuk ride into town, to explore the markets or eat another amazing Amok.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mymanmarshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Location :
5 min of walk to the pub street and center of siem reap
Apartments:
That is the weakest fracture in that place , we have been in the apartment on the ground floor , it is a two floors apartment and to get to the floor you need to climb by stairs almost like a ladder.
We were told that in june hotel will be renovated so meaby they will make sth with that and renew restrooms which are not quite good level .
Garden :
Perfect garden
Service :
Never ever we have met before such a kindly , polite and helpfoul guys like there!!!!!Best wishes for them and hope to see them one time !!!!
Breakfast:
Score from 1 to 10 ???? 10!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank g1zmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldtraveller062, General Manager at Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear G1zmoo,

Thank you for your positive feedback, we always appreciate if guests spend some of their precious time to write a nice review about our property.
There is a small issue with your review as you probably by accident posted it under our Golden Banana Boutique RESORT listing instead of the Golden Banana Boutique HOTEL listing.

We already asked Tripadvisor to move it and this way avoid misunderstandings because these are two total different premises owned and manged by the same company. Maybe by the time my reaction is posted they fixed this already.

To come back to your review, regarding our two level Villa's you are totally right; Most people love our two level Villa's because of the original feeling of living in a cozy house instead of a hotel room, never the less for some people the stairs can seem a bit steep as we tried to make our villa's as spacious as possible without losing to much space on items like stairs.

About the other issues you highlighted in your review and pictures we fully agree it was necessary after a few years to do some refreshment and repairing work here and there. So therefor during May we closed down the Boutique Hotel for two weeks to repaint all buildings from the outside and the inside, renewed all walls and tiles in the bathrooms, change some toilet modules, sinks furniture, lamps, and did many other updating works to guarantee our guest can enjoy an excellent stay.
Unfortunately you stayed at our hotel just before these major renovation works.
If you had the feeling this effected your holiday in any negative way, please feel free to contact us at any time so we can offer you a nice compensation during your next visit.
We hope to see you again soon, so you can fully enjoy our renewed accommodations.

With warm regards,
Tommy
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

I stayed at the Golden Banana for four nights in April. This is a very well run hotel, with very good customer service - helpful and obliging staff. The location is ideal and only a five minute walk to the Old Town - the centre of nightlife. Breakfast is basic but good. Simply for the money that you pay this hotel is very good value for money. I would have no hesitation in recording this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reybro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

First time in Cambodia - what great introduction - Golden Banana hidden away down a dusty alley-way across river from city -centre . Great welcome from staff , walked from bedroom into lovely pool - staff and manager always polite and available - good food - very reasonable prices.
Helpful in organising drivers and taxis - nothing too much trouble

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#102 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
0.1 mi away
King Rock Boutique Hotel
King Rock Boutique Hotel
#74 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
0.2 mi away
Royal Crown Hotel & Spa
Royal Crown Hotel & Spa
#83 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap

Property: Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap
Address: Phum Wat Damnak, Kum Sala Komreuk | Krom 10, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Hotel)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#61 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel by Rambutan. Villas built in traditional pagoda style in garden setting -5 minutes walking distance to the old centre of Siem Reap -Located in a quiet residential area - Swimming pool with fountain and cocktail bar -Gay friendly. Visiting the temples of Angkor Wat is an experience you will never forget. Staying in our lovely Hotel makes that experience even better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Banana Boutique
Golden Banana Boutique Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing