We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap
Nearby Hotels
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Angkor Resort(Siem Reap)
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveller rating
304
145
30
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
145
30
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolden bananapub streetold markettuk tuktwo storeyacross the rivershort walkliving areaangkor watthe ground floorlocation is excellentswimming poolnight marketlate at nightcharming hotelperfect staylovely pool
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 496 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

The Golden Banana is not the most luxurious hotel in the world, but it's definitely my favourite. This visit was my second time visiting and I doubt the last.

The vibe in the hotel (and nearby resort) is a laid back, comfortable one. The staff are an absolute dream, enjoying the lovely Cambodian characteristics that make the people so god damn loveable.

The hotel is small and set around a dreamy salt water pool with a delicious waterfall whose sound adds to the tranquility of the day when sunbathing. Because the way the hotel is laid out, you do need to jump around sun loungers to get the sun all day. We moved to the resort when the sun wasn't around the hotel.

Rooms are comfortable and cute and well equipped. There were a good few mozzies lurking in there but we sprayed them out and bought some coils for hanging out on the balcony at night.

We had a lil issue with a blocked toilet which wasn't a dream.

Overall though, if I ever owned a hotel, I'd model it on this one. It makes me very happy staying here. I tried to wangle a job but alas to no avail. Devo.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank LadyAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The GB hotel is located in a small lane, a short walk away from the hubbub of the central Siem Reap. It has just ten rooms encircling the pool which gives it a very personal and private feel: you get to know all the staff and you see guests arriving and departing.

We booked all of our trips through the hotel and we ended up paying less that we would have paid to a travel agency. Because of dirt roads and clouds of dust, we opted for a car rather than a tuk-tuk and were very happy with our decision. We paid USD 8 for the airport ride, USD 25 for the small circuit of the temples, USD 30 for the large circuits and USD 25 for the floating village. The driver also bought the boat tickets for us, so we paid just USD 25 for the entire boat instead of USD 20 per person we would have paid had we decided to buy tickets ourselves (yes, they do take advantage of foreigners). Based on our experience, I recommend to let the hotel to handle all the reservations.

Also, the hotel is very close to what probably is the best restaurant in town - Cuisine Wat Damnak. At USD 22 for a delicious five-course meal, it was too good to be true. Just step out of the hotel and carry on walking along the same lane for some 500 metres.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smartnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A great comfortable oasis near the heart of Siem Reap, within a few minutes walk of the Old Market and Pub Street. The pool offers a place to cool off in the heat of the day or after visits to the temple complexes, or a place to sit and relax, read and enjoy a quite drink. The staff are delightful, doing their best to cater for the guests' wishes. Most 'rooms' are two storey and have a private balcony overlooking the pool. Internal stairs in these rooms can be steep, but several rooms have all facilities on the ground floor. Well done to Tommy, the current manager, who makes a point to chatting to guests and overseeing the day to day running of both the Boutique Hotel and the Resort. I will definitely be staying here on my next visit to SR.

Room Tip: Check for stairs inside the rooms if you have difficulty with steep, internal stairs. Other rooms are available with main facilities [sleeping and bathroom] on the lower floor.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stretch7250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The GB was recommended by a friend who had stayed the week before I arrived in Siem Reap. Wisely he arranged a poolside room for me, as there's a rather steep stairway to other rooms.

Like others have said, the amenities are just the basics - what's most important to me is a hot shower, a comfortable bed and a clean room. Tick - tick - tick (and lots more ticks). The staff have a reasonable grasp of English and it's refreshing to see such energetic and motivated young people working so well together.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Gregg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

hands down this is best price-quality hotel we stayed in during our 3 week trip in Asia!

we were staying in the rooms with 2 floors, bed and bathroom downstairs and small quite room upstairs with balcony overlooking pool and hanging chair(amazing). the room is quite modern and very personal which is great!

staff are friendly and attentive to details!

fantastic location!
the hotel is located 5min walk from the old market and city center, piece of tranquility compared to the bars and restaurants area..

pool area is charming, not a lot of sun but enough during lunch hours. very relaxing!

they have tuktuk services in front of te hotel with very reasonable prices, and friendly tuktuk drivers. we booked a daytour to ankor wat via the hotel.

breakfast and snacks are fantastic, only thing breakfast could have been a little more than what we got on our plate.. but delicious!

i would recommend anybody travelling to siem riep to stay here!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank travelling006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews