We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap
Ranked #114 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bit of home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I couldn't have asked for a more pleasant atmosphere and experience at the Golden Banana. For the month my group and I were studying in Cambodia, GB provided a haven for us and a place that felt like home. After a hot and exhausting day in the sun, nothing felt better than a dip in the pool and a nap in the air conditioning. The staff were very friendly and accommodating; by the end of my stay, they felt like family to me. Additionally, the location was perfect as it wasn't more than a 15 minute walk from all the hot spots around the old market but was far enough away to feel private and relaxing. Thumbs way up for Golden Banana!

Room Tip: Rooms located closer to the entrance are quieter as there is a hostel in back of the GB that always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyalD1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    141
    30
    8
    8
See reviews for
44
213
74
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a small, very charming place with duplexes surrounding a lovely pool. The staff is very helpful and can make all sorts of arrangements to help travelers visit the area. Excellent food. Quiet. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean-Francois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I loved staying at this hotel. It is set in a charming alleyway full of sister Golden Banana hotels. The rooms are stylish, the setting ever so pretty and the staff are friendly without being too cloying. The food was just lovely! The location is close to all the action of Pub Street, the river and the night market. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our room was in need of maintenance, wobbly faucets and taps, loose loo seat, door wouldn't shut, but the hotel is a little oasis, lovely pool, just out of town, but close enough to walk. A little uncomfortable around the pool or restaurant as the female staff member seemed to find us so curious she spent most of her time staring at us. The breakfast was disappointing as the hollandaise sauce on the eggs had a liberal helping of sugar!
Compared to Rambutan in Phnom Penh, it is a poor cousin.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicorobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldtraveller062, General Manager at Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Nicorobbo,

Thank you for your interesting feedback.
It is always helpful for us to receive positive or less positive feedback.
In your case it seems several things went not really like they should.
Let us first of all apologize for this.
We checked your room and indeed discovered the taps needed an extra twist and the screws of the toilet seat where a bit loose. Also the door can be closed again after a small adjustment. These issues where fixed within minutes.
A pity we where not informed about this during your stay so we could fix it immediately and make your stay more pleasant.
Regarding our female staff who was staring a bit to long in your direction, we had a talk with her about this, seems she was not aware this could cause an uncomfortable feeling, staring is always an interesting, I think a cultural difference between the Cambodians and Western visitors. Anyway, we asked her to keep this in mind for the next guests. She asked me to apologize to you if this created an uncomfortable feeling.
About your remark regarding our Hollandaise sauce; I am a bit surprised because we just had a serious training from a well know chef in Siem Reap to improve several dished in our menu, including the Hollandaise sauce.
Will check again, maybe there was a mix up between the salt and sugar pot during that day.
We really regret we could not meet your expectations expectations you had after staying at our Rambutan Resort in Phnom Penh.
Let me know when you have plans to come back to Siem Reap so we can offer you a free upgrade to one of our Deluxe Suites at the Golden Banana Boutique Resort by Rambutan who are in the same price range as the rooms at Rambutan Phnom Penh. The hotel, although lovely is a three star property, Rambutan and the Resort in Siem Reap are 4 star.

With best regards,
Tommy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
東京
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Convenient and private hotel.
Yong hotel staff are very kind, having hospitality and functional never pussy. The equipments and aspects are very relaxing and comfortable
The TukTuk arranged by the hotel is always accurate, reliable and fair. It was the quite important factor for such a kind of typical tourist like me.
All of the customers in the hotel might be foreigners of personal travelers for Angkor sightseeing and their attitude are present and appropriate.
My favorite of the hotel is the location.
It takes less than 10 min to go to Pub Street across the river
Additionally there is the new night market behind the hotel whose name is Artisanal Night Market? or something.
This new market might is definitely for tourists but it was amusing to walk around after Angkor sightseeing during the night.
On the other side of the nigth market I can feel local and residential atmosphere in Siem Reap.
It seems to be the connecting hotel named similar are located around the neighborhood so first able it was a little bit complicated.
But it also provided the same atmosphere around the area.Nice!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natsunoowari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Just a great hotel in Siem Reap, clean, nice pool, quiet by Siem Reap standards, close to old market, and pub street, (restaurant area,entertainment area), excellent food, But the thing that makes this hotel great is the Manager, Tommy, and staff, very friendly and helpful. will be sorry to leave Siem Reap and this hotel.

Room Tip: Have stayed in many hotels in Siem Reap over the last 8 years, and this is one of the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william_brum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was my second time staying at the Golden Banana in Siem Reap and I can honestly say that this is the only place I'll stay when I'm in town. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, mine have had a terrace and a mini-bar. The bathrooms are well-appointed and clean. The staff are friendly and VERY helpful and the in-room massage is the perfect way to wind down after a long day of temple viewing or a nature safari. I've stayed here both with my partner and on my own; it's perfect for couples or for a solo visit. While it's quiet and away from the insanity of Pub Street and the Night Market, the walk is five minutes AT MOST and very safe and well-lit. Stay here if you come to Siem Reap.

Room Tip: If you aim to sleep in or take a nap, you might stay away from the pool area if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#103 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Rock Boutique Hotel
King Rock Boutique Hotel
#80 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Crown Hotel & Spa
Royal Crown Hotel & Spa
#84 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Steung Siemreap Hotel
Steung Siemreap Hotel
#98 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap

Property: Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap
Address: Phum Wat Damnak, Kum Sala Komreuk | Krom 10, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Hotel)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#61 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel by Rambutan. Villas built in traditional pagoda style in garden setting -5 minutes walking distance to the old centre of Siem Reap -Located in a quiet residential area - Swimming pool with fountain and cocktail bar -Gay friendly. Visiting the temples of Angkor Wat is an experience you will never forget. Staying in our lovely Hotel makes that experience even better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Banana Boutique
Golden Banana Boutique Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing