We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with huge rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap
Ranked #115 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
121 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great hotel with huge rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel was an oasis in the craziness of Siem Reap. Each room is on 2 levels, they seem like town homes from outside. The rooms are wrapped around the pool, and the hotel seems intimate and cozy. The breakfast was plain but lunch and dinner are not bad.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bella134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    141
    29
    8
    8
See reviews for
43
213
74
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Ca
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Let's get to the most important part of the stay, the bartender here was no joke. The bar was the utmost delightful part of our stay. The cocktails were economical, strong and freakin' delicious. My husband spent most of his waking hours stuck right by the bar area. The breakfast/food in the bar area were quite good. I love the fish and chips enough to eat it three times during our two night stay.

We booked the double (deluxe?) villas upstairs with rooftop tub and lounging area. There was no way we were going to utilize the rooftop as it was too hot. I still would recommend staying upstairs, however. Our friends had a room downstairs and had a hard time battling mosquitoes while we didn't have any issues. They also had some issues with electricity. Our room was spacious with one large bed and a single bed. It's dated but with considerable charm. The fridge was well stocked. The shower pressure was good. Pub street was 3 minutes away for $1 on a tuk tuk. At night, the place was quiet. AC worked fine for us.

Staff service was superb. We booked a day trip through the hotel. Tuk tuk services were always arranged promptly with a smile. They even let us get a half day rate in another room to store our luggage and freshen up on the day our departure since our flight was late at night. We had a great time in SIem Reap due this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: upstairs, back end of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tifw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I couldn't have asked for a more pleasant atmosphere and experience at the Golden Banana. For the month my group and I were studying in Cambodia, GB provided a haven for us and a place that felt like home. After a hot and exhausting day in the sun, nothing felt better than a dip in the pool and a nap in the air conditioning. The staff were very friendly and accommodating; by the end of my stay, they felt like family to me. Additionally, the location was perfect as it wasn't more than a 15 minute walk from all the hot spots around the old market but was far enough away to feel private and relaxing. Thumbs way up for Golden Banana!

Room Tip: Rooms located closer to the entrance are quieter as there is a hostel in back of the GB that always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyalD1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a small, very charming place with duplexes surrounding a lovely pool. The staff is very helpful and can make all sorts of arrangements to help travelers visit the area. Excellent food. Quiet. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean-Francois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I loved staying at this hotel. It is set in a charming alleyway full of sister Golden Banana hotels. The rooms are stylish, the setting ever so pretty and the staff are friendly without being too cloying. The food was just lovely! The location is close to all the action of Pub Street, the river and the night market. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our room was in need of maintenance, wobbly faucets and taps, loose loo seat, door wouldn't shut, but the hotel is a little oasis, lovely pool, just out of town, but close enough to walk. A little uncomfortable around the pool or restaurant as the female staff member seemed to find us so curious she spent most of her time staring at us. The breakfast was disappointing as the hollandaise sauce on the eggs had a liberal helping of sugar!
Compared to Rambutan in Phnom Penh, it is a poor cousin.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicorobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldtraveller062, General Manager at Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Nicorobbo,

Thank you for your interesting feedback.
It is always helpful for us to receive positive or less positive feedback.
In your case it seems several things went not really like they should.
Let us first of all apologize for this.
We checked your room and indeed discovered the taps needed an extra twist and the screws of the toilet seat where a bit loose. Also the door can be closed again after a small adjustment. These issues where fixed within minutes.
A pity we where not informed about this during your stay so we could fix it immediately and make your stay more pleasant.
Regarding our female staff who was staring a bit to long in your direction, we had a talk with her about this, seems she was not aware this could cause an uncomfortable feeling, staring is always an interesting, I think a cultural difference between the Cambodians and Western visitors. Anyway, we asked her to keep this in mind for the next guests. She asked me to apologize to you if this created an uncomfortable feeling.
About your remark regarding our Hollandaise sauce; I am a bit surprised because we just had a serious training from a well know chef in Siem Reap to improve several dished in our menu, including the Hollandaise sauce.
Will check again, maybe there was a mix up between the salt and sugar pot during that day.
We really regret we could not meet your expectations expectations you had after staying at our Rambutan Resort in Phnom Penh.
Let me know when you have plans to come back to Siem Reap so we can offer you a free upgrade to one of our Deluxe Suites at the Golden Banana Boutique Resort by Rambutan who are in the same price range as the rooms at Rambutan Phnom Penh. The hotel, although lovely is a three star property, Rambutan and the Resort in Siem Reap are 4 star.

With best regards,
Tommy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
東京
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Convenient and private hotel.
Yong hotel staff are very kind, having hospitality and functional never pussy. The equipments and aspects are very relaxing and comfortable
The TukTuk arranged by the hotel is always accurate, reliable and fair. It was the quite important factor for such a kind of typical tourist like me.
All of the customers in the hotel might be foreigners of personal travelers for Angkor sightseeing and their attitude are present and appropriate.
My favorite of the hotel is the location.
It takes less than 10 min to go to Pub Street across the river
Additionally there is the new night market behind the hotel whose name is Artisanal Night Market? or something.
This new market might is definitely for tourists but it was amusing to walk around after Angkor sightseeing during the night.
On the other side of the nigth market I can feel local and residential atmosphere in Siem Reap.
It seems to be the connecting hotel named similar are located around the neighborhood so first able it was a little bit complicated.
But it also provided the same atmosphere around the area.Nice!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natsunoowari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#98 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
0.1 mi away
King Rock Boutique Hotel
King Rock Boutique Hotel
#71 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
0.3 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bayon Boutique
Bayon Boutique
#89 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap

Property: Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap
Address: Phum Wat Damnak, Kum Sala Komreuk | Krom 10, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Hotel)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#61 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel by Rambutan. Villas built in traditional pagoda style in garden setting -5 minutes walking distance to the old centre of Siem Reap -Located in a quiet residential area - Swimming pool with fountain and cocktail bar -Gay friendly. Visiting the temples of Angkor Wat is an experience you will never forget. Staying in our lovely Hotel makes that experience even better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Banana Boutique
Golden Banana Boutique Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing