We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming centrally located retreat from the crowds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angkor Village Hotel
Ranked #63 of 343 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Big Sky, Montana
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Charming centrally located retreat from the crowds”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

When you are done with the thousands of tourists at the temples, the markets and pub street, there is nothing nicer than going back to an oasis of tranquility. This lovely hotel is designed in the Khmer style of very private yet connected bungalows around a pond and fountains. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, with poster beds, a sitting area and large windows giving out on the water and the beautiful rooflines. This hotel is designed to give a feeling of serenity: there is no television in the room but there is free wifi. Breakfast is served in the open air restaurant that you access by the walkway over the pond. It is plentiful and offers everything from continental and American breakfast to Asian noodle breakfast soups.The pool is a nice size with good lounge chairs and beds available. If you wish, there are traditional Khmer massages available by the pool provided by their spa staff.
The staff here is absolutely charming. No, this is not a 5-star hotel but you will never see a staff member without a genuine smile, a welcoming bow, and a true desire to help. The ladies who take care of the lobby bar will mix you a cocktail or bring you tea, all with a gracefulness and peacefulness that is refreshing after a busy day.
This hotel is across the bridge from the old market and pub street, the central location for many bars and restaurants. It is a 5 minute walk .

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pond and away from the pool. Second floor rooms are my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbp59716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    129
    27
    15
    9
See reviews for
75
298
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Cambodia, and the Angkor Wat area in particular, is a great place for a family with some sense of adventure. People are charming and friendly, the sights are gorgeous, and the food is great. It is like Thailand was 30 years ago. The hotel grunds are beautiful, very large rooms with traditional Khmer architecture, and an easy walking distance to the night markets and central restaurant areas. We try to find places that reflect some local charm and tradition and this place fits it perfectly. A great place for families as you can get adjoining rooms (across a private hallway/foyer area) easily as well. Very friendly staff who will know the names of your whole family within an hour of your arrival! Pool was nice, although with all the temple touring, etc., our kids did not find much time to use it. Restaurant serves a great buffet breakfast. We didn't check it out for dinner given there are a ton of restaurant options all within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalTrekFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed here recently on the second leg of an Asian break, the first being Nepal. Cambodia is very different to Nepal, not least of which is it's attempt to woo new visitors. Siem Reap is a case in question. There are many good quality hotels here and we spent one time choosing. We wanted somewhere close to town but not in the centre.
Angkor Village & Spa fits the bill to the t. A beautiful setting. In stunning grounds just a short tuk tuk or taxi ride fom the action, and just a few miles fom Angkor Watt one of the most magnificent places I have ever visited.
The staff are brilliant and can't do enough for you, the rooms are spacious and the food is superb.
A few niggles were ironed out immediately and we were made to feel most welcome throughout.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor, better views and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merlin509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

it was a rewarding experience to see that some Hotel staff make the extra effort to communicate with their guests. We asked for a room change as the veiw from the room allotted to us was overlooking the services, we were asked to bear with them for one night and were promptly shifted to a better room the next morning.

Room Tip: floors creak so if you wake up in the night and dont want to wake your girlfriend study the floorboa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdmanbombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Hotel is beautiful, incredible arquitecture, and you feel really in touch with nature. It also has a nice swiming pool and a wonderfull bouffet breakfast. People working there are always triying to help, and are really nice and speak very good english. The help received to design a 2day tour in the temples had been great, but we found some negative aspects detailed in other comments. Wifi and internet connections are terribly bad. And the noise of air conditioned in our room broke all the peacefull ambiance from the garden, and I had to sleep with ear plugs. For the price of the room and for the comments I read about the place, I expected more.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elvira78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I first stayed at Angkor Village Hotel almost a decade ago and in the intervening years it has lost none of its charm. Ignore the reviews that criticise the rooms and the bathrooms, this is a great slice of Cambodian hospitality served up with considerable style. I defy anyone not to gasp when they first see the setting for the amazing restaurant surrounded entirely by water (of which more later) the teak walkways and bridges over the pools, the antique-stuffed lobby, the verdant immaculately kept tropical gardens and the candlelit bar in the evening. It's in a perfect location , a short stroll away from the local market and the nightlife and a short ride away from the temples of Angkor. Service is never less than faultless and the front desk staff cannot do enough to make you feel welcome. There is an issue with the Angkor Village Hotel however - the restaurant. It's heartbreaking to see what is potentially one of the finest dining rooms in this part of Cambodia go to such waste. The setting is astonishing and with a little more work could be world-class. The food however is a shadow of what is possible. I'm under no illusion about how hard it is to do this well here, many good restaurants in Siem Reap struggle to find their way. My friend who I was travelling with (a professional chef) was on the verge of saying to the management that she wanted to take it over and fulfil its obvious promise. Everything about the restaurant needs to be changed, the service, the breakfast, the dinner menu, it has such amazing promise but it needs an expert eye over it to bring it up to the standard of what is otherwise a great hotel for Siem Reap.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boywithkite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We arrived to Siem Reap and our driver took us to the hotel, we had a great welcome with drinks and cold towels and then we discovered that it was the wrong hotel!!! same owners but we had our booking in another property, they were extremely nice with us saying we could stay in that hotel if we wanted but we went to our hotel where we had the same excellent welcome. The hotel is a little bit hidden and the streets are dark, I wouldn't walk but there are always tuk tuks and you can be in the downtown area in 4-10 mins. The facilities are very good, they make the room twice a day and the food is very good, including the breakfast which is included. The staff is very courteous and smiley, very helpful. We had only one problem, I asked for 2 twin beds and they gave us a 1 bed but then they added another one. Ah, rooms don't have tv, there's only 1 tv room for all rooms, but I didn't miss it!!! I definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Wake up early and enjoy the breakfast buffet, mornings are beautiful in the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lourdes A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.8 mi away
Angkor Village Resort
Angkor Village Resort
#68 of 343 in Siem Reap
789 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#24 of 343 in Siem Reap
853 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#17 of 343 in Siem Reap
3,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#33 of 343 in Siem Reap
1,307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Residence Hotel
Apsara Residence Hotel
#85 of 343 in Siem Reap
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Village Hotel

Property: Angkor Village Hotel
Address: Wat Bo Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#50 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#60 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Angkor Village Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the old colonial area, Angkor Village Hotel blends harmoniously architecture, culture and tropical nature to make it an oasis of greenery and tranquility right in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Angkor Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Angkor Village
Angkor Village Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing