We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Angkor Village Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angkor Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Angkor Village Hotel
Ranked #55 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Angkor Village Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Big room, clean linen, clean bathroom
Wifi only in lobby
Pool not for little kids who cannot swim - starts at 1,4m
Close to night market & Pub Street
close to Temples - 20minutes ride
Tuktuks outside hotel - can arrange return trip with tuktuk driver

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amanda_2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    127
    27
    15
    9
See reviews for
74
291
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

This was a pleasant hotel, great breakfast with good sized rooms. The shower needs a door or the floor floods, but our major complaint was the god dam lights over the windows till all hours of the night, just a pain! I understand that you need to see to get back to your room at night but for the prices charged here garden lighting would be the way to go.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildwilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Firstly, let me rave about the unique style of the Angkor Village, and the beautiful décor. The central lake is habitat for birdlife and lizards. That sound you hear echo out at night is the Tokay. Breakfast in the restaurant surrounded by water each morning was a lovely tranquil way to prepare for the bustle of Siem Reap.

During our extended stay here we really grew to appreciate how special the hotel and its location are. It's an easy walk across the river to the centre of Siem Reap, yet that river serves as a divide between the craziness of Pub St and the markets and the haven of Angkor Village, which is hidden behind high secure walls. You can't mistake where you are - the style is understated but Cambodian. The pool area is bliss on a hot afternoon - I can recommend the lime soda. The staff are constantly maintaining the standard of grounds and rooms.

A must do is the Apsara Theatre night that can be booked at reception. Such grace and poise is rare - but they also manage to have fun which is typical of this amazing part of the world.

Due to a sprained ankle at Phnom Kulen NP, we had to extend our stay by a week. The Manager, Christine and her brilliant staff helped in every respect they could: moving us to the ground level, helping contact the insurance company and change travel arrangements and always greeting me with those beautiful smiles. So, our sincere thanks to all the staff at the Angkor Village Hotel.

Room Tip: Wat Bo Rd is a busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Siem Reap Cambodia
Our short holiday in Cambodia has been an wonderfully impressive experience. Visiting the temples of Ta Prom (tomb raiders fame) Angkor Wat (largest religious monument in the world) & Angkor Thom (temple of many faces) has been incredible & I feel very fortunate to have seen them.  I am probably unexpectedly more surprised & impressed by the people of Siem Reap , Cambodia.

The country is 85% Buddhist & the seemingly calm & humble nature of this religion is felt in the many aspects of our stay. From crossing & driving along the roads, to bargaining in the markets, everything is done in a very easy, calm, non aggressive  & friendly way. The traffic moves slowly, if somewhat chaotically, but with no sense of hostility or impatience. From my experience this is completely the opposite of somewhere like Egypt or even Australia. Travel in a Tuk Tuk along the streets of Siem Reap is not the edge of the seat, "hold on for dear life" ride I was expecting before I arrived. It is a rather unhurried experience of the journey, with time to see the passing scenery of the city & everyday goings on of the people & not having to get to a destination in the fastest time & before everyone else. Cars, Tuk tuks, bikes & people all seem to flow & blend in a smooth & courteous, if not perfect manner.

Wandering through the markets is another unexpectedly enjoyable way to pass some time in Siem Reap. Smiling shopkeepers invite you in to look at their wares with the offer of a "very good morning price" & are quite willing to haggle to win a sale, but they are far from aggressive. If you indicateyou are  "just looking thanks", the storekeeper, like any good salesman, may make a couple of further friendly attempts to show you that they do have the market's "best quality" merchandise or your perfect size, before they let you on your way. Here there doesn't seem to be the constant feverish & very annoying badgering to buy, buy, buy. Some people enjoy the thrill of "bargaining to the death", where the  outcome, & ones pride, depends on winning the battle of the haggle at the expense of the other. The winner celebrates & the loser limps away battered & broken. It seems quite different here with the outcome more of a win win situation where both seller & buyer conclude a transaction in a calm & stress less way. What a different experience to the markets of China or Bali where simply glancing at or, heaven forbid, picking something up is taken as you obviously having purchased the product, and are trying to get away without paying for it "yet" !!!!
Give me Siem Reap any day.

The weather in Siem Reap has been very warm during our stay, with mid afternoon temps getting to a very humid 36 to 37 degrees C. March is the beginning of the very hot "dry season". Everything seems to be coated in a layer of dust - the roads, cars & vegetation are all light brown  A perfect excuse to cool off in the lovely shady pool at our hotel with a cold beer or two. Even the weather seems to conspire to slow everything down. It is another reason not to rush & just enjoy the moment ( very phiosophical aren't I )
The hotel staff at angkor village resort all seem very young & few seem to have perfect English, but for me, this just adds to the enjoyment of the place. Their friendly greetings as we come & go, the smiles & giggles as they struggle with an english word or phrase & their willingness to make ones stay enjoyable make this hotel "5 star" as far as I am concerned.

I would certainly come back to Siem Reap in the future, but I hope it doesn't change too much from the dusty, friendly, calm & good natured City I have enjoyed. If I could use just three words to explain my feelings of the people of Siem Reap they would be friendliness, calmness & courtesy. 

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank tim4travel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Nice design, comfortable & clean room, quiet and peaceful place to rest after the long walk in Angkor Wat. Staff are very friendly & make us feel like home. The restaurant where we had our buffet breakfast in the hotel was surrounded by beautiful grow water lily. Highly recommended to stay in this hotel if you are in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sky5333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hua Hin, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our experience here and would recommend it with out reservation. Very peaceful ambiance yet it is a short walk from all the hustle and bustle of the markets and the popular 'pub street' where you can eat and drink at very low cost. Staff were delightful, very friendly and helpful, especially Christina Grosse the general manager, who was so generous with her advise on what to do and where to go.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheinfelden, Aargau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
177 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Entering the hotel area is like entering an oasis in the middle of a desert: very close to the city center placed, inside the hotel area you are welcomed by a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. It consist of a couple of 2 story cottage around the central entrance area and the water surrounded restauranr. Off course spa and swimming pool are not missing. Rooms are spacious and modern oriental furnished. Good western breakfast is served and the menue offers a selection of eastern kitchen inspired meals. Service is excellent and very friendly.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GerhardCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.8 mi away
Angkor Village Resort
Angkor Village Resort
#58 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#12 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,403 reviews
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#28 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#18 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Residence Hotel
Apsara Residence Hotel
#77 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Village Hotel

Property: Angkor Village Hotel
Address: Wat Bo Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#45 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#60 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Angkor Village Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the old colonial area, Angkor Village Hotel blends harmoniously architecture, culture and tropical nature to make it an oasis of greenery and tranquility right in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Angkor Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Angkor Village
Angkor Village Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing