We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lush Garden resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Angkor Village Hotel
Ranked #64 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Stayed in a villa here over new year. We liked the fact that it was a bit out of the way compared to the ever expanding Hotel areas close to the airport. It's a short walk to the river, butterfly farm/restaurant & old market area. You can always get a tuk tuk to anywhere from outside at a reasonable rate at any time of day or night. The room was like a traditional khmer house on stilts overlooking the garden & lovely waterways (kampongs) packed with lotus flowers. Loads of room with a large bathroom with open shower & traditional green tiles every day decorated with fresh lotus flowers (the plumbing wasn't great however & we had to ask a few times for the plughole to be unblocked). Make sure you check out the library - enough books (coffee table type books) to last a year. Also try & find the pool, its a bit hidden away but lovely.
Our only other niggle was the reception staff. It took for ever to organise something & we usually had to make several visits until it was done. Each time they just wrote it down in a diary. If you need something go to reception rather than phone & allow time for this in your daily schedule. The girls were charming - its just the system that was wrong.
Breakfast was brilliant served overlooking the pools in a traditional open khmer building- make sure you try the crispy bacon, fruit, pancakes, honey, yoghurt. Everyday there is an English Language cambodian newspaper & you can read this & find out what is going on during breakfast.It has useful info such as sunset & sunrise times. Definitely recommend you book a car, driver & guide when you get there for visits to Angkor wat etc. Also don't go without a visit to the Apsara Dance theatre across the road owned by the hotel. We had to as it was part of being there at New Year, but I would do it anyway. The show is lovely, not tacky like another one I have heard about, & the food excellent. Don't bother with the Hotel laundry you will find extremely cheap laundries a very short distance away down a side street to the river. there is also a balcony all around the room, ours faced the back of the hotel so we were able to hang washing out there too.
We eat one evening in the restaurant & had an excellent meal, also at Viroths a short walk away and great & FCC not so good (very poor service). Apart from all the usual places we also recommend the Aki Ra's landmine museum (moving), Mcdermott Photo gallery, Neak Pean temple, Senteurs d"Angkor, Artisan's d'Angkor, Butterflies Garden restaurant, River of 1000 Lingas at Phnom kulen & if you have children the dead fish tower restaurant in the evening (your food arrives via a series of pulleys & the whole restaurant looks like something designed by Heath Robinson - complete with a real crocodile pit on the way to the loos). Also check out "Stay another Day Cambodia" if you are into responsible, sustainable Travel for places to visit

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barefeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2009

I spent 4 days here with my girlfriend and couldn't have been happier with it. Great location, beautiful interior, nice room. Only a bit on the expensive side for Cambodia!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We stayed one night at Angkor Village and were very pleased by the water gardens full of beautiful plants. There are various bungalows accessible by walkways over the waterways. Our room was very roomy and the bed had a comfortably firm mattress. The shower had a large rain-type head. Hot water took a bit of time to arrive, understandably because the buildings are spread out over a large compound. The room air conditioning worked well. Breakfast was included, except for--get this!--water, which we were charged for. The food was very good: delicious fried eggs and shrimp/rice porridge with bean sprouts, carrots, and dried-shrimp topping.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DancerGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 10 February 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 January 2009

I stayed for 4 nights with my wife and parents in this hotel. From the first minute there we were on real holidays, perfect service, the hotel staff is always smiling and happy to attend to your request, we had a nice drink offered also at the pool, it seems that they have it once a week! good idea. If you can get a room upstairs it is even better, the rooms are perfect.
we will go back there...
take a guide for the temple tour! it is a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Regisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 26 January 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 January 2009

My wife and I booked a room at the Angkor Village Hotel for two nights last year on our first trip to Cambodia. It was a wonderful experience. In Siem Reap, where large and impersonal mega-hotels are going up daily, it's nice to see the quaint but elegant Angkor Village doing well. It's a beautiful, picture perfect location.

The restaurant situated at the center of the lagoon has terrific food and the chef even prepared a birthday cake and bouquet of flowers for my wife knowing that it was her birthday.

They also arranged a driver and guide for the Angkor temple complex and were very accommodating with all of our requests.

The two nights we spent in Siem Reap weren't nearly enough. When we return to Cambodia there is no doubt that we will be staying at the Angkor Village Hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank arbiter777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.8 mi away
Angkor Village Resort
Angkor Village Resort
#69 of 365 in Siem Reap
820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#22 of 365 in Siem Reap
3,747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#29 of 365 in Siem Reap
875 reviews
2.0 mi away
Nita by Vo Luxury Hotel
Nita by Vo Luxury Hotel
#19 of 365 in Siem Reap
386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Village Hotel

Address: Wat Bo Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#54 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#59 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £81 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Angkor Village Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the old colonial area, Angkor Village Hotel blends harmoniously architecture, culture and tropical nature to make it an oasis of greenery and tranquility right in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Angkor Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Angkor Village
Angkor Village Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing