We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angkor Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Angkor Village Hotel
Ranked #55 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

We were at the Angkor Village Hotel for 4 nights over Christmas. We had been staying in moderately priced hotels and decided to splurge for the holidays. While the rooms and setting are gorgeous,the service is poor. In a hotel like this, you expect that there will be attention to detail but there wasn't: we had to ask for fresh towels every day, the staff was not knowledgeable about different options for sightseeing, and requests for booking a taxi or checking flight times were met with incomprehension. It appeared that there wasn't anyone who overseeing the operation.
They also over-charged for every service, including internet, airport pickup, newspapers, telephone. We had a much better experience in hotels that were half the price.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roaming09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngkorVillage, Management representative at Angkor Village Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2009
Dear Roaming09,

Thank you for posting your review on us. We can understand your disappointment based on the experience you described. We are looking into your comments and we have passed your comments on the relevant executives and the person concerned.

Angkor Village management team takes pride in our flamboyant architectures surrounded by lush tropical gardens and warm Khmer hospitality with the service standards. We've valued your comments greatly as an invaluable tool to improve our service standards.

We do look forward to welcoming you to appreciate our improvement in the areas that you gave us the comments . Enjoy your holiday and safe travel.

Best regards,
Angkor Village Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    127
    27
    15
    9
See reviews for
74
292
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

This hotel is perfect if you are looking for a more quiet and homey place than the big luxury hotels in Siem Reap but at the same time need more comfort than the average guesthouse. The hotel area is butiful with low khmer style houses and lotus ponds as well as a nice pool with plenty of shade which feels like heaven after a hot day at the temples. The hotel restaurant serves several good cambodian dishes and an exellent breakfast. You can also take cooking classes in the kitchen. The staff is helpful and most of them speaks prety good english. Rooms are spacious and beautiful, but the room we stayed in had some plumming issues so practically the whole bathroom floor was filled with water after we had used the shower.
The Apsara theatre is right across the street from the hotel and although the show is entertaining enough, the food is below average.
The hotel is located only 10-15 min walk from downtown Siem Reap, but you can also get a tuk tuk for 1-2 USD.
As for restaurants, the Butterflies Garden was a dissapointment. So was Cambodian BBQ. However, the restaurant Champey was great! Fantastic food and very good service!
If you need an upscale SPA experience, the hotel offers free transfer to and from their resort and SPA .

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loves-to-travel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

Stayed in a villa here over new year. We liked the fact that it was a bit out of the way compared to the ever expanding Hotel areas close to the airport. It's a short walk to the river, butterfly farm/restaurant & old market area. You can always get a tuk tuk to anywhere from outside at a reasonable rate at any time of day or night. The room was like a traditional khmer house on stilts overlooking the garden & lovely waterways (kampongs) packed with lotus flowers. Loads of room with a large bathroom with open shower & traditional green tiles every day decorated with fresh lotus flowers (the plumbing wasn't great however & we had to ask a few times for the plughole to be unblocked). Make sure you check out the library - enough books (coffee table type books) to last a year. Also try & find the pool, its a bit hidden away but lovely.
Our only other niggle was the reception staff. It took for ever to organise something & we usually had to make several visits until it was done. Each time they just wrote it down in a diary. If you need something go to reception rather than phone & allow time for this in your daily schedule. The girls were charming - its just the system that was wrong.
Breakfast was brilliant served overlooking the pools in a traditional open khmer building- make sure you try the crispy bacon, fruit, pancakes, honey, yoghurt. Everyday there is an English Language cambodian newspaper & you can read this & find out what is going on during breakfast.It has useful info such as sunset & sunrise times. Definitely recommend you book a car, driver & guide when you get there for visits to Angkor wat etc. Also don't go without a visit to the Apsara Dance theatre across the road owned by the hotel. We had to as it was part of being there at New Year, but I would do it anyway. The show is lovely, not tacky like another one I have heard about, & the food excellent. Don't bother with the Hotel laundry you will find extremely cheap laundries a very short distance away down a side street to the river. there is also a balcony all around the room, ours faced the back of the hotel so we were able to hang washing out there too.
We eat one evening in the restaurant & had an excellent meal, also at Viroths a short walk away and great & FCC not so good (very poor service). Apart from all the usual places we also recommend the Aki Ra's landmine museum (moving), Mcdermott Photo gallery, Neak Pean temple, Senteurs d"Angkor, Artisan's d'Angkor, Butterflies Garden restaurant, River of 1000 Lingas at Phnom kulen & if you have children the dead fish tower restaurant in the evening (your food arrives via a series of pulleys & the whole restaurant looks like something designed by Heath Robinson - complete with a real crocodile pit on the way to the loos). Also check out "Stay another Day Cambodia" if you are into responsible, sustainable Travel for places to visit

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barefeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

I spent 4 days here with my girlfriend and couldn't have been happier with it. Great location, beautiful interior, nice room. Only a bit on the expensive side for Cambodia!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

We stayed one night at Angkor Village and were very pleased by the water gardens full of beautiful plants. There are various bungalows accessible by walkways over the waterways. Our room was very roomy and the bed had a comfortably firm mattress. The shower had a large rain-type head. Hot water took a bit of time to arrive, understandably because the buildings are spread out over a large compound. The room air conditioning worked well. Breakfast was included, except for--get this!--water, which we were charged for. The food was very good: delicious fried eggs and shrimp/rice porridge with bean sprouts, carrots, and dried-shrimp topping.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DancerGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.8 mi away
Angkor Village Resort
Angkor Village Resort
#58 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#13 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,409 reviews
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#26 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#18 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Residence Hotel
Apsara Residence Hotel
#89 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Village Hotel

Property: Angkor Village Hotel
Address: Wat Bo Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#45 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#60 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Angkor Village Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the old colonial area, Angkor Village Hotel blends harmoniously architecture, culture and tropical nature to make it an oasis of greenery and tranquility right in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Angkor Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Angkor Village
Angkor Village Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing