We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place for the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Same Same Backpacker, Siem Riep

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Same Same Backpacker, Siem Riep
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and quite helpful. Excellent bar/restaurant area to hang out in and meet other travellers. The private rooms were very basic (a table would have been awesome, but oh well) but highly functional. Pool table, music going all the time...just good overall vibes

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Derek N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    24
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
2
19
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Its located in the centre of the city, so travelling around is very easy. The area is quiet at night, good place to have a good sleep. They have Bicycle rental with the price of only 1.50 USD/day!!!!! That is the cheapest price I found through out the area. Its not 24 hour, but you can rent it for 1 day(you are not cycling while you sleep anyway). As for me, I rented the bike starting from 4.30am and cycle to Angkor Wat to catch the sunrise. I return the bike around 10pm.

The receptionists were very friendly and they are very helpful. They have a lounge at the lobby with a pool table for free. Free wifi available with pretty good speed.

The rooms are ok. Quite clean and tidy. The bathroom are attached. Overall I had a very pleasant stay at this hostel. Definitely recommend and worth its price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceYeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driebergen, Nederland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

The room was very simpel, however (probably thanks to that) it was very clean. The restaurant/bar has a real good vibe and the food is great! Extensive menu with many international and local dishes, and nice smoothies and cocktails. We stayed here for three nights and we didn't eat at other restaurants :p

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RikMulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap Province, Cambodia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed three nights at Same Same Backpackers in Siem Reap, we were picked up at the bus station for free and had a nice comfortable bed and much needed AC for 10 USD a night. There are great deals on drinks and food throughout the whole day. It's a ten minute walk from pub street, or a one dollar tuk tuk ride. The staff at Same Same are awesome and very accommodating. We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to everyone. It is also very new and clean.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Movingfeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Located not far from the city center Same Same Backpacker is a good choice for people who are looking for a cheap but quality guesthouse. The bar, with free pool table, is a great place to relax and have a good cocktail. Also the menu has a big variety of Khmer and Western food. It's also possible to arrange tuktuk tours to the temples for a good price. The Same Same crew will welcomed me with open arms!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the other same same backpackers in Phnom Penh and we're impressed enough to stay at the same place in Siem Reap!

Rooms are perfectly clean and large given the price tag! We stayed in a double ensuite and had 2 double beds in our room!

We arrived at 2am without a booking and while the place looked locked up, we called a few times and Ali opened up and let us in! Glad he did, we stayed 3 nights and don't have a bad word to say!

We also booked our tour of Angkor with them and we're lucky enough to get yo yo driving the bat mobile! See the other reviews for details. Suffice to say he is a genuine good guy and for the agreed price took us everywhere we wanted in what was a scorching hot day! He even had iced water in his cooler for us which was most welcome given the temps were 46+!

Long story short, stay here, book angkor Wat with them and for the money and service, u simply will not find better.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Denis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Had an absolutely amazing time staying at Same Same Guesthouse! The staff working here are what make the place special, Ali, Yo Yo and everyone else! Everyone very friendly and welcoming. It was our first stop in Cambodia and we have enjoyed our first stay so much! Food amazing (especially the burgers) and rooms very clean, only for $6 per night (so we paid $3 each per night) for a standard double room.

Also the staff can offer to take you to Angkor Wat for the day. Yo Yo kindly drove us around Angkor Wat on his bat mobile Tuk Tuk, all for a reasonable price. He even let us plug our iPods in to the speaker which was cool!

Thank you again Same Same, we will definitely recommend this place to our friends and try return in the future!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank georgie_fw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.1 mi away
Hak's House
Hak's House
#87 of 249 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Siem Reap
Hostel Siem Reap
#55 of 249 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sweet Dreams Guesthouse
Sweet Dreams Guesthouse
#30 of 249 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Funky Flashpacker
Funky Flashpacker
#9 of 249 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bambu Stay
Bambu Stay
#34 of 249 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dancing Frog Hostel
The Dancing Frog Hostel
#82 of 249 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Same Same Backpacker, Siem Riep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Same Same Backpacker, Siem Riep

Property: Same Same Backpacker, Siem Riep
Address: #115 Wat Bo Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 249 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Same Same Backpacker, Siem Riep 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private double rooms with en suite bathrooms with AC and fans and hot water, bar and restaurant and amazing staff, 5 minutes walk to the riverside, pub street and night market. Chill out with helpful staff who will help you with all your trips to Angkor Wat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Same Same Backpacker, Siem Riep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing