We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Highness”
Review of Royal Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Crown Hotel
Ranked #137 of 376 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Accommodation in this kingdom is numerous from simple home stay to fabulous hotels. Royal Crown Hotel stands to its name of providing superb hotel experience for guests of all classes and races. It was an old hotel renovated a few years back to offer newer designs and varied options in accommodation. There is additional building with western-style room while retaining the beauty of the old hotel. It was my first time to stay in a hotel with separate fresh and salt-water swimming pools. The lobby was spacious and cool with numerous sitting options. Front desk was open 24/7 manned by polite, friendly, accommodating staff. It provides hotel-airport transfer and arranges transport services to Phnom Penh and other places of interests within Siem Reap. There was laundry service and Wifi was readily accessible. It has a cozy restaurant serving Asian and western cuisine ; food tastes great and reasonably priced. Food at the poolside and room service were available. There was also a roof top bar offering various drinks plus barbecue grill... a nice place to spend free time out while enjoying the view of the city and the sunset. The room was spacious and clean, bed was comfortable to rest and sleep. There was mini bar plus free water and coffee maker. There was wide screen cable tv. Cooling system was good. Local landline, cell phone and Wifi signals were good. The bathroom was big as well with separate space for shower and tub. Robe, sleepers, towels, tissue roll, shower cap, shampoo and the likes were freely available. The hotel was strategically located just across the Pub Street and near the Night Market.
One thing though that bothered me was that some hotel staff tried to arrange a 'deal' with tuk-tuk drivers for 'unreasonably high rate' compared with prevailing standard. Good i was able to ask some friends and read a lot about Cambodia before this trip. I took a taxi instead for small difference in fare considering the comfort in a cab. Had it not for this experience, I would have rated Royal Crown Hotel excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug1469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

This was my first trip to Cambodia and I wasn't sure what to expect. Firstly, it was great that the hotel organised a courtesy pick up from the airport which meant we didn't waste any time arranging transport. The room was spacious, clean and the bed very comfortable and wi-fi coverage was constant. I would suggest that better quality toilet roll would be a good investment for the hotel. The pool was nice to cool off in and the pool bar/restaurant service there very good. I used the laundry service which was very quick and everything came back clean. The staff were willing and courteous and helped us arrange onward transport to Phnom Penh. Great location near the night market and pub street. We experienced no problems with mosquitos. Maybe it depends on the time of year.

Room Tip: Balconies are only good as an extra if you want to dry clothes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMRussell75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Siem Reap has a ton of hotels like this one but it was a great value for the price. We paid about $35/night and had a really nice western-style room. The wifi worked really well too which is awesome because it usually sucks in Cambodia. The food at the pool is pretty reasonably priced and tasty. It's also just across the way from Pub Street so you don't need a tuk tuk.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tmo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The locations was great, room clean and spacious, the staff were helpful when we requested changing our rooms from twins to a double but the mosquitos didn't leave us alone. They were everywhere. We were waking up several times a night being bitten alive! No idea where they were getting in from but it was an absolute nuisance. We mentioned to the staff about it, thought they might have had some spray but they just looked at us blankly. We bought repellent coils, RAID and insect repellent but those mozzies would not leave us alone. If your ok waking up covered in welts, stay here. Otherwise stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Overall average hotel. It has a few redeeming features: location (close to pub street and night market), cheap accommodation for its location n good spread at breakfast.
Staff appeared not to have undergone enough training to handle common requests, rooms were standard size rather than huge as depicted in pictures, bathroom has a smell that won't go away despite the ventilator is left on. The shower's water temperature does not stay constant. It fluctuates between scalding hot to cold and back again.

Room Tip: Higher floors experienced less noise and never leave anything truly valuable in the hotel safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nypipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

Both my husband n I are greatly impressed by the staffs' services at Royal Crown Hotel. The staffs are very friendly n they always readily greeted us with a smile. The room is spacious n clean. The location is good. You can take a short walk (Abt 5 mins) to the night market or the Pub Street. It will cost abr U$1 to go by Tuk Tuk but the driver normal will ask for U$2. You will need to bargain with them. I do look forward to stay in this hotel during my next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seslecs731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Very pleasant hotel located a five minute walk to 'Pub St' The swimming pool was a blessing in 40 degree heat. The room was clean and a decent size. Would definitely stay there again. I must comment on the driver that we had during our three day stay...email angkorwii@gmail.com Wii took us to places that the vast majority of tourists don't see. In fact on a trip up a mountain near Siem reap (on the back of motorbikes ridden by a couple of army guys, $10 each) we didn't see any other tourists, but we did see some amazing things. Wii speaks very good English and is trying to make his name as a tour guide, highly recommended. Pick up from anywhere and always on time. All round good time

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JesV_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0 mi away
Royal Crown Hotel & Spa
Royal Crown Hotel & Spa
#94 of 376 in Siem Reap
917 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand River Angkor Hotel
Grand River Angkor Hotel
#113 of 376 in Siem Reap
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
#105 of 376 in Siem Reap
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cheathata Suites Hotel
Cheathata Suites Hotel
#65 of 376 in Siem Reap
556 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#76 of 376 in Siem Reap
466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rose Royal Boutique Hotel
Rose Royal Boutique Hotel
#144 of 376 in Siem Reap
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Crown Hotel

Address: 7 Makara Street, Wat Bo Village | Salakamreuk Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 376 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £37 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Spacious and elegant hotel, Royal Crown is conveniently situated just across the Siem Reap River from the bustling French quarter and the Old Market. The Building has retained the true colonial French characteristics.The Hotel is just 10 minutes drive from Siem Reap international airport and while it only 15 minutes to reach the world heritage temple of Angkor. A beautifully warm and harmonious lobby give you the first impressions of the quality and space of the hotel. A very friendly and experienced staff will welcome you with their fine Khmer friendship and hospitality and help you to appreciate the beauties of their country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing