We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mildew and Mediocre Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heritage Suites Hotel
Ranked #37 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Mildew and Mediocre Food”
Reviewed 28 December 2009

Unfortunately I cannot recommend this property. Although there are some nice design elements to the lobby and rooms, our suite had a mildew smell caused by a faulty steam room located adjacent to the sleeping area. The door to the steam room doesn't close properly letting moisture out when it is used. Since this flaw is inherent in all the suites there was no point changing rooms. Also, the location of the hotel is in a back alley, a truly undesirable part of Siem Reap.

We had chosen the property because it is a Relais & Chateaux member and we were expecting a better than normal dining experience. Our one dinner in the restaurant was truly disappointing. The meat for both out entrees was very tough and poorly prepared. They did have a decent wine list, especially for Cambodia.

Although we did not use the pool, the hotel does have a large attractive swimming pool and many guests seemed to congregate there.

Had we to do it over, there are clearly better lodging options in this same price range in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LAMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,115
    154
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
184
773
102
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

Best place to stay in Siem Reap if you want to combine your cultur-trip to Angkor with some classy and relaxing days.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpatzFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2009

Heritage Suites is a very pretty hotel and the rooms are stunning. We stayed in one of the bungalows and i would have to say it's one of the nicest rooms we've been in. They're really big + spacious with a modern flare. However, I do have some pro's and con's to our stay at heritage.

PRO's
- the rooms are awesome! big + spacious!
- the cleaning staff is better then almost every hotel we've ever stayed at. we went for breakfast and as soon as we came back our room was already clean!
- nice pool
- the staff was very friendly + helpful
- breakfast is included

CON's
- so many mosquitos in the room, more then any hotel we stayed at in vietnam + cambodia. they should offer a mosquito net over the bed.
- food costs at the hotel are extremely overpriced for cambodia. and this would be somewhat acceptable if the food was super amazing but it wasn't, it was just average. we paid $17.50 when we ordered the fish amok through room service, any other restaurant in town it would be $3.00. my husband ordered a double rum and coke and it came to $15 for one drink. we were really disappointed with this. my advice is to eat out of the hotel.
- the tours seem way overpriced for what other hotels offer
- internet in the rooms was very up and down and by the 2nd to last day wouldn't work at all in the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank peoplephotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2009

Amazing 24h pool, very accomodating and detail oriented staff and management

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2009

We stayed at the Heritage Suites last weekend when we went to visit Angkor Wat. It's a great place. The staff is helpful and friendly, the food is very good, and the place is quiet, beautiful and clean with great decoration. If they have availability I would recommend you to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartaVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

The benchmark of all benchmarks! So good I stayed there twice, extending my stay both times. The first visit I ended up staying for over a week & the second trip with my girlfriend for a total of 12 nights - was she impressed! Our bungalow was incredibly spacious, brightly lit by natural light, calming and comfy. We especially enjoyed the personalizing amenities - a sound system to plug in your own music, private steam room, huge granite bathtub overlooking a personal zen garden with outdoor shower, little personal touches such as traditional Cambodian gifts left on our bed every night.

The ambience was fantastic - the cozy pool with huge double lounge beds for two - we loved the fire which was lit right by the pool at night, giving it the air of an exotic setting for a candlelight dinner by the pool under the remarkably bright stars. The elegant wifi equipped lobby was perfect for replying emails and socializing with other guests, a well stocked bar counter & excellent music to relax to after a hot day of trudging through temples and the city centre; and above all nothing was better than anticipating our 5 star dining - from western to local cuisine. (We especially loved the Lamb Chops with special 'GM style' sauce - staff explained to us that it was created by the current General manager, and it was so popular with guests that it was incorporated into the menu - we could see why since we had it 2 nights in a row). The degustation set menus were also fantastic value for money and a pure palate pleasure. p.s. Absolutely love the lemon and mango sorbets.

The personnel were terrific. From the warm welcome we personally received from the outgoing General Manager to the animated chats we had with the gregarious & adventurous Director, we felt very much welcome and at home with good company. The staff were extremely approachable and friendly, always addressing us politely by name and the waiters remembering our culinary preferences effortlessly. They arranged everything efficiently from tuk tuks to spa treatments, traditional gifts recommendations for souvenirs and even taking the initiative to offer inspirational off the beaten path itinerary suggestions which we would have never otherwise have known about.

This is what makes a hotel distinctive - when its staff take great pride in their service not because they have to, but because they want to.

To top off a great stay, our ride to the airport was a vintage Mercedes from 1968, which used to belong to the Cambodian Monarchy!!!! From the first day to the last, this was definitely the best relaxing romantic holiday and unexpected personal butler service we have ever experienced, and no doubt we can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JV3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Heritage Suites during the first week of October and it was a great experience! The management and staff were very accommodating. After having a day and a half exploring the temples, we wanted to be more adventurous and took an out-of-route jungle trip in bicycle and it was just great! A nicely packed lunch was prepared by the hotel for our trip. All this was arranged by Heritage Adventure, and if we were staying longer, we would have also tried an overnight in a jungle camp...This will be for next year, we will definitively come back!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MOAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.5 mi away
Shinta Mani Angkor
Shinta Mani Angkor
#11 of 353 in Siem Reap
2,971 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jaya House River Park
Jaya House River Park
#2 of 353 in Siem Reap
258 reviews
1.4 mi away
Templation Hotel
Templation Hotel
#26 of 353 in Siem Reap
168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Suites Hotel

Property: Heritage Suites Hotel
Address: Wat Polanka, Slokram Village, Siem Reap 93101, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#24 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#30 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#33 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Suites Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Suites Hotel is a sophisticated boutique retreat in Siem Reap, Cambodia. Located 20 minutes away from the majestic architectural relics of the Angkor temple, its grand colonial façade conceals the 26 intimate rooms and newly refurbished suites nestled amidst lush tropical gardens. The hotel, built in April 2007, is the embodiment of its owners’ commitment to old-fashioned hospitality, and redefines luxury with stunning architecture, personalized and attentive service, a host of culinary delights and comfortable, stylish rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Suites Hotel Relais And Chateaux
Heritage Hotel Siem Reap
Heritage Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing