We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful haven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm Village Resort & Spa
Ranked #124 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A wonderful haven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights from 4-9 February 2013 and had a wonderful time. The resort is in a very quiet area a little out of town with no street noise.most of the road from Siem Reap is paved, with maybe 100-200 metres of dirt road. Whilst the unpaved road was a little bumpy in a tuk-tuk, and had some potholes, it really wasn't too bad at all, no real difference to the dirt roads in my home country of Australia. The resort was nice enough to arrange a free transfer from the bus station and it was maybe 15 minutes travel.
On arrival, we were shown to our room. Each room is a bungalow. Although they do not have block out blinds, they still feel very private in the garden setting. Our room was very clean and reasonably maintained. The room is quite dark, which helped to keep it much cooler than outside even with the air conditioner off. the bed had a comfortable and fairly firm foam mattress and the linen was clean. The towels were also very clean. The bathroom had a glassed in roof and was very bright during the day, a nice touch. The room stayed mozzie-free, although we did have a small gecko or two visit during our stay! The water pressure was good, although the shower could use descaling. The washer attached to the toilet also had good water pressure and I wish they were standard in my country! The toilet rolls sat on top of the cistern, no roll holder, but this was not an issue. The bathroom was a reasonable size.

Outside, the garden setting is delightful, with a pond and some very nice statues. The pool area was usually partly shaded by trees and bamboo. It we kept very clean by the staff. Whilst there was the occasional leaf, this is inevitable in a tropical garden setting as many plants shed quite a bit. I suspect the pool was cleaned several times daily. The resort area in general was kept very clean and tidy.
There are several dogs that belong to the resort, toy breeds. They are all very cute, friendly and in good physical condition. They have names including, 'Pumpkin,' 'Mango,' 'Apple,' and 'Kiwi.' The dogs were all very polite and added to my experience. They were not particularly 'barky' to me - occasional barks whilst they played around dusk, maybe heard them 2-3 times a day. No barking at guests, although there was some polite begging around dinner time. I made friends with them and some of them tended to approach me, knowing they would get pats and a belly rub. Hardly the vicious pack suggested by a previous reviewer - who, I suspect, probably is just not a dog person!
The service at the resort was excellent and very friendly, the staff could not do enough for us! Service at meal times was good but quite 'Cambodian' - don't expect all dishes to arrive at once, I think they are brought out as they are prepared rather than sitting waiting for the whole order to be ready as is more common in Australia. Food was prepared promptly with no long waits at all. Sometimes drinks would arrive last. The only food with lengthy waiting periods was the Khmer food. This is because it's all prepared freshly from scratch and that takes time - the resort asks that you order 2 hours ahead for Khmer food, which is a very reasonable solution! Ordering food and drinks is very ready. You just tick off what you want on order papers, which prevents confusion and language issues impacting on order accuracy. There was not a single incorrect order during our stay and we ate maybe 10 or more meals there.
The food itself was excellent, especially the Khmer food! The chicken in pandan leaf, Khmer noodles, stuffed tomato, beef salad, rice cakes, chicken curry and more were just delicious - the food was all very fresh and seemed to be cooked with care, tasted like very comforting home-cooked foods. Serving sizes were somewhat variable but generally pretty substantial. Prices were good, with most dishes costing around $3.50. Drinks were very good too, with a nice selection of both alcoholic and non-alcoholic to choose from. Lovely milk shakes and iced teas, I think the mint and lime ice tea was my favourite. The resort uses pure water for its ice cubes, so no need to worry about hygiene. I have a very temperamental tummy and found in general I had less tummy aches at the resort than I get at home!
The resort also offers Khmer cooking classes for excellent prices ($7/dish). They are held in the open air by the pool, with the cook to demonstrate and the manager to explain in English. It worked very well. Our lesson had to start 15 minutes later than planned as they had to cook a late lunch order. Not an issue for us - after all, it's a working resort! We got to eat the results of our lesson. I suggest trying a few foods at meals during your stay and then learning to make your favourites!

The massages at the spa were done by a pair of very friendly albeit giggly young women. They were good and the experience was extremely relaxing after a couple of days clambering around the temples!

The resort will happily arrange a driver for you and have a set, reasonable price list for a number of activities. We opted to have a car and driver named 'Ghan' (pronounced as per the rail service in Australia). Ghan's car is an air conditioned '93 Camry that he keeps impeccably clean. Ghan himself was really lovely. Very friendly and thoughtful. He speaks excellent English and until a few months ago worked for the ANZ bank in town - he changed jobs as after 5 years he wanted a change of pace. His driving was nicely defensive and we felt safe with him at the wheel.

Our stay was so enjoyable that we wanted to stay as extra night. The resort tried to accommodate us and said they thought we could stay, but alas, a last minute booking came through so we had to leave. The manager was extremely apologetic as she had said she thought a room was free. The resort arranged for comparable accommodation for us overnight in Siem Reap. We were not at all put out as it's peak season and the resort was packed - not that you would realize this as it was so peaceful!

The resort felt very laid-back, safe and relaxed. Although individual rooms do not have a safe, the resort is happy for you to leave valuables in their safe.

The open air restaurant and reception area also has a pool table.

Overall, we had a wonderful and relaxing stay in this exceptionally good 3 star resort and would heartily recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CearaCRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    78
    21
    9
    1
See reviews for
55
119
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

This is a nice three star hotel away from the hustle and bustle of Siam Reap. It is a 10 minute Tuk Tuk ride from town, some of it on bumpy road, but it is great to relax after a day of exploring. Tuk Tuk's are always available outside the hotel.

We stayed in a hut, and the rooms were nice, but simple. The food was good, the kids enjoyed the pool and my daughters loved the dogs. These were the best looking dogs we saw in Cambodia.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcirtapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We (2 adults+2 kids) spent 3 days in Palm Village Resort.
Overall, it is a positive experience: the rooms are clean and comfortable,
resort settings are very nice and quiet, and kids loved the swimming pool.
Never had the feeling that the resort was full,
while all bungalows were (supposed to be) all occupied.
The food is good but service is incredibly slow (>1h for a basic dish!) and tables from the dinner are cleaned the next (early) morning only. This in particular gives a bad look to the swimming pool, which is surrounded by dirty tables and empty beer bottles after 8pm. Also as many others have pointed out, avoid this place if you don't like dogs. The owner has 2 or 3 of those, who spend their time wandering under tables during meals.
Note also that the resort is half way between Siem Reap and Angkor, which in the end is no advantage, as you will have to take a tuktuk any time you want to go out (3$ 1 way to SiemReap, more to Angkor).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanValjean_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We've just spent a lovely week at the Palm Village. We were 2 grandparents, 2 parents and 2 kids. All is just perfect at this resort out of the hustle of the city and very close to Angkor Wat and other temples. 2 things though: If you order food, then please order in advance (they have special order slips), for otherwise it will arrive quite late. But that's the Cambodian way, I guess and it didn't really matter too much. What was more bothersome though were the 7 (smallish) dogs which ran around on the resort. They are not too aggressive or bothersome, but at one point early in the holiday they chased our 5 year old daughter who of course got an awful fright. We used it as a learning point and after a few days our children actually had learned to stay calm and take control of the situation, so in the end it was not too bad. Yet we were not the only ones. Another day at 7 in the morning another boy was chased and woke us up yelling. So if you're not one for dogs, perhaps do reconsider. But if dogs don't bother you, then we would strongly recommend Palm Village.

Room Tip: you could ask for a room close to the pool, but basically all rooms are rather close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freka1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Some previous reviewers of this resort have moaned about the following, "muddy road to resort", "pack of wild dogs bothering guests", "uninvited guests in the pool" (frogs), "far away from town".

I think the problem is two-fold:
1) People don't do their homework (locate the hotel on a map, etc)
2) People expect five star when it's a three star (in this case, the US$55/night price tag should be a hint).

So let me just set the record straight: Palm Village Resort is a few kilometers from town, so expect muddy and bumpy roads (until you hit the main road) and a 15 minute tuk tuk ride to go to the city centre. Due to its rural location, expect to hear (roosters) and see (frogs) some animals. The dogs are a pack of five or so cute munchkins and they are nothing to fear, just a little barky.

The saltwater pool was nice and we enjoyed a swim after tempelling all morning. We had the fan-powered family hut which comprised of three beds with mosquito net. Clean and simple but just what we needed. The kids (2 and 5) got a kick out of watching tv in bed!

We enjoyed beautiful breakfasts with fresh fruit, baguette, omelette and some awesome wake-me-up coffee. The Khmer food is also good for lunch and dinner but you have to order two hours ahead.

We also tried massage ($15) and the energising one was very good.

Note the huts are huts, therefore sound on the outside is very audible on the inside. Ear plugs are strongly recommended or else you won't be on good terms with that rooster a 3am....

Palm Village Resort is very good value and just 3km from Ankor Wat and the other amazing temples. You will have a great time here as long you know what to expect.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyAtLargeinSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Picked us up from the airport, friendly driver. The roads are bumpy and muddy (wet season) in the village where the resort is located, however, don't expect tarmac roads all the way. It's located just a few km from Angkor Wat and the surrounding temples. A tuk-tuk to town is about 10mins, USD3. We hired their bicycles for USD3 each for a day and cycled to the temples. The signage is poor, there's no lighting on the paths at night and they don't give very good directions, so finding your way around is tough. We used GPS and a good dose of luck. if in doubt, opt for a tuk-tuk guide, it's about USD 15.

We booked the bamboo room. The room itself was pretty nice, clean, with fruits in the fridge, small tv with cable, clean bathroom with hot water, two chairs outside to sit in and admire the greenery. The plugs are two-pin so bring an international plug with you. They cleaned and made the room every morning.

The highlight of this place was the FOOD. The Khmer food takes a while to prepare (40-60mins) and we were there in low season (only 2 other couples were there), but it's well worth the wait! just order in advance. Over 2 days we had Khmer noodles, Salted fish coconut milk w fresh veg, banana blossom salad, sour beef stew, amok fish. it was amazing!!! it's about USD 3.5-5 for each dish. Also, they were really accommodating when we asked them to pack our breakfast at 5am in the morning so we could cycle out to the temples to catch sunrise.

The receptionist was really nice, she helped us book our bus tickets to Phnom Penh even though it wasn't their recommended bus operator. We had seen a cheaper ticket in a local tourist booklet and asked her about it. She proceeded to call the office, get a price and book the tickets for us.

Downside - the pool has quite a number of uninvited guests. I guess baby toads are a feature of the wet season. We still took a dip and it was refreshing, just a tad bit weird. We opted for a massage on the last day and it wasn't fantastic, but still relaxing all the same.

Note - the place has 4 or 5 resident dogs, all pretty small and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nxifxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Well off the main road and along a quiet country lane, mid way between the city centre and Angkor - about 5km from both - this wonderful family run hotel provides a perfect retreat from the noise and dust and hustle and bustle of Siem Reap.The tropical gardens are quiet and enchanting and full of follies and statues and the bamboo bungalows are arranged around a beautiful swimming pool which is so welcome after a day exploring Angkor. Our bungalow was clean, comfortable and well appointed and overlooked the pool and the terrace area where the excellent breakfasts are served. Staff were warm and friendly and the management is low key but efficient. The hotel will organise chuk chuks (and a car plus driver for sights further afield) at much lower prices than you'll probably end up paying if you haggle with the guys parked outside the city centre hotels; for a few extra dollars the young man we had was quite happy to wait for us till 11.30pm when we had dinner and drinks in town. And when we did eat at the hotel, the home cooked Khmer dinner was authentic and delicious, especially the Amok dishes.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MilesMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.9 mi away
Silk D' Angkor Residence
Silk D' Angkor Residence
#172 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
#53 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kralanh Petite Villa
Kralanh Petite Villa
#146 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nita by Vo
Nita by Vo
#17 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.5 mi away
Angkor Village Resort
Angkor Village Resort
#61 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
#7 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Village Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Village Resort & Spa

Property: Palm Village Resort & Spa
Address: Phum Trapaing Ses | Khum Kouk Jork, Siem Reap 234121, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#64 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#89 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Village Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in a quiet district of Siem Reap town, near the famed Angkor Wat temple, Palm Village offers you a unique accommodation with great hospitality, delicious Khmer cuisine, and relaxing massage & spa. Stay in one of the 18 exquisite bungalows and Khmer bamboo houses, made from local palm wood and bamboo furniture, and surrounded by green lush tropical garden. Whether you plan to have a short break, a family outing, or just to unwind from your hectic work, come to stay at Palm Village for a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Village Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Village Hotel Siem Reap
Hotel Palm Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing