We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the hustle & bustle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palm Village Resort & Spa
Ranked #140 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Away from the hustle & bustle”
Reviewed 30 April 2010

A family run resort in a tropical garden, Palm Village is 3km from Angkor Wat and a similar distance from the centre of Siem Reap. As a result, it's a little oasis and perfect for our visit to the temples at the end of three weeks in Vietnam and Cambodia.
We booked a family bamboo hut which was as close as it gets to living like a local without doing a homestay. The hut was on stilts and had fans father than air-conditioning, but we wanted for nothing. Breakfast could be had in the restaurant or by the pool, and the food on offer for lunch or dinner, especially the Khmer dishes, were brilliant.
April is hot and steamy in Siem Reap, so late afternoon relaxation by the pool helped sooth the muscles and recover from 8 hours a day visiting the nearby magnificent temples.
The staff were friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere was completely different from that of the large chain hotels in town.
We were there during Khmer new year so we had fireworks every night.
Somewhere nearby were monks who began chanting at 4am, but that only added to the exotic atmosphere.
Other guests we met raved about the massages.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickbarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    78
    21
    9
    1
See reviews for
56
120
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Little cabins with porches to eat your breakfast. No view, just on a field in a rural area. Wonderfully tranquil.

Location: It's located in a rural area between the city of Siem Reap and Angkor Wat. Perfect if you're looking to get away from the city but want easy access to the World Heritage Site. Order a tuk-tuk from the front desk to town in the evening, or a guide to the temples in the morning. Or get bikes to the temples, recommended at least for one day. The town has French influence, which of course means wonderful contemplation of life over a beverage in open air. It really wasn't that much to get to town and you could ask the same tuk-tuk to pick you up for not much.

TIP: Hire one guide that will bring you to and from town the the temples for your stay. He'll know you, be more conversational and you won't have to rebook or look for others. Not to mention you can arrange pick up, drop off and lunch breaks more easily. Our guide was great, and he'd much rather have a steady gig for a few days at a slight discount than have to hope for other jobs everyday (remember to tip appropriately, though!). He'll also get you beer/food/water/whatever at local prices.

Rooms: Like a rustic cabin. I mean that in a good way. Clean. Love the porch.

Premises: There's a nice pool with lounging opportunities. The message was affordable and good. Food was ok, obviously more expensive and bland than in town but cheap by Western standards. A computer available, very slow, but you're in Cambodia. Frogs everywhere, lots of fun. In the countryside, so you can't just walk out and find what you want. Pick up beer and snacks in the city or on the way home from the temples. Or pay slightly more from the front desk, but nothing back-breaking.

Overall I say Palm Village was exactly what I expected and wanted. Near the Temples, cean and comfortable rooms and helpful staff. It's easy to return for an afternoon siesta by the pool and then return the the mind blowing beauty of the temples. In the evening go enjoy the French influence on cafe culture in the city. Best of both worlds. And a third (rural Cambodia). I really loved biking through the cows and farms right outside the door.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orangeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

For the full review and photos, please visit our site...

Location:
The hotel is located close to the entrance of the The Angkor Archaeological Park, but unfortunately not close enough to be able to walk there. As a result, you will require to a hire a tuk-tuk to get to and from the park. Fortunately, tuk-tuks are always available in front of the hotel and have a fixed price to all of the attractions in Angkor Archaeological Park or Siem Reap. The hotel is not located within easy walking distance from the main area in Siem Reap either, but like we stated tuk-tuks are available in front of the hotel. You will definitely need a taxi or a tuk-tuk to get to the main area of Siem Reap where you will find the markets, shops and restaurants. Also keep in mind that when you are spending some time in Siem Reap and require transportation back to the hotel, not all the tuk-tuk drivers will know how to get there. Fortunately there is enough of them at all hours to be able to find one within a few minutes. You will also have to negotiate your fare on the way back. It should never cost you more than it cost you to get there, so don't accept a higher fare. Offer them the price you are willing to pay and if they don't accept it, walk away. They will usually change their mind and take you for that price or you will find another driver a few meters away that will do it for that price.

Room Comfort:
The rooms are actually individual huts that have a very nice appeal from the outside. On the inside, the huts are rather plain and boring, but offer good value for the area. The rooms are basic and the decor is outdated. A mini fridge and small TV are provided in the room. The room also had a "cottage smell", if you can relate to that, but it wasn't too intrusive. The smell was really only noticeable on entry. The bathroom was large but basic and could use some upgrading. The large wooden barrel and cup added a nice touch to the decor of the bathroom but other than that it really wasn't anything to get excited about. It did have hot water which can be a problem in the area, so that's a good thing.

Cleanliness:
The huts were clean. The main reception area, breakfast area, pool area, gardens and walkways are also kept clean and are well maintained.

Service:
The service was good. The staff is friendly, professional and polite. They do their best to understand your queries and help with any requests you may have. They are able to arrange tuk-tuks or taxis if required. Spa services, such as massages are also available at the hotel.

Food:
The food at the hotel is very good and affordable. Breakfast is included with your booking and they offer a decent variety of food to choose from. You are required to fill out a breakfast card indicating what you would like for breakfast. You could also fill and submit the card the night before to request breakfast for a certain time (in case you are in a hurry the next day), but we found that they usually waited till you arrived at the breakfast area to start preparing your breakfast anyway. At least pre-ordering your breakfast helped them plan their supplies and reduced waste. Selections ranged from eggs, banana pancakes, yogurt, bread, etc. Breakfast was very good and filling. We loved the banana pancakes.

We also enjoyed dinner at the hotel a few times and were always satisfied with the quality and portions of the meals and prices. You had the option to have dinner on your hut's veranda, by the pool or in the main reception/restaurant area.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheVacationAdvisors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

It was the best place I´ve stayed in my trip around the southeast Asia.
The place is amazing, perfect to relax after a day in Angkor. Incredible and kind staff.
Very professional hotel, you can previously plan your day like breakfeast, lunch, dinner, massages (make you dream), drinks (delicious, ic).
It´s difficult to go out.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GKominami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2010

We stayed in Palm Village for 5 days and we didn't want to leave this small treasure of Siem Reap!!! The hotel is just 15 min away from the city center by tuk tuk or bicycle. The staff are warm and friendly and the whole ambiance of the resort is so natural!. It's beautiful huts are hidden in a small palm plantation, well decorated and eco-friendly. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and each has even small TV. Bathroom is clean with warm water. You have the choice to eat by the pool or in the small "restaurant" next to the reception lobby. U can hire bicycle for a 3$ daily and go around the temples and the city of Siem Reap. Defenetly a good choice if you want to escape the usual noise of the city. And feel the nature as it is!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ileto_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otsu, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

I visited Siem Reap during the dry season. There are 16 rooms/bungalows on the Palm Village property centered around the entrance/front desk. I had a bamboo hut without air con (only fans) which was high-up on 3 meter stilts and situated near the pool. My rate was USD$35/night, and they gave me an additional 10% discount because the NGO I am affiliated with uses the hotel.

The fans were more than enough during the dry season and kept any mosquito bouncing around the room.

The room had window frames with heavy curtains, but no screens to keep out the flying bugs The simple bathroom consisted of a sink, a western-style toilet and a showerhead with a small hot water heating wall unit. The bed was low to the floor and mosquito net (very aesthetically) draped from the ceiling around the bed. The room is comfortable for one person.

At night, I saw two very charming frogs climbing the inside walls and windows in search of insects to eat. The room was a bit too dim. It could use a brighter light.

At night, I enjoyed listening to the croaking of frogs and lizards and, in the morning, being awoken to the sound of cock-a-doodle-doo and other birds.

On the final day of my stay (Friday), I was awoken at about 4am by the sounds of live Angkor ceremonial music. The music was really a treat to hear "live", but I honestly didn't expect to be listening to it before even the chickens awoke.

The food at the Palm Village (I especially enjoyed the Khmer grilled beef with pickled vegetables) is very reliable and was better than anything I tried in town. Beware that the Khmer dishes do take some time to prepare, so it's advised that you order early. The kitchen is right behind the front desk.

Breakfast is included in the room rate, and I chose to take breakfast at the pool. The table settings and food presentations were very tastefully done and

I found the service to be very cordial and polite. Everybody went out of their way to ensure my happiness. When it came time to pay my bill, the itemized costs were all very clear.

I would stay at the Palm Village again with my family.

I hope you enjoy your stay.

Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank biwakocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We stayed here for a week before Cgristmas. Yes it is out of town. If you are staying 3 or 4 days, go into town for dinner once and eat your way through the Palm Village menu - excellent.
Clean,comfortable, very helpful staff. Their first language is not English - surprise, surprise but they try very hard. Nothing is too much trouble.
Many be too quiet for some but perfect for us.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Kralanh Petite Villa
Kralanh Petite Villa
#156 of 356 in Siem Reap
39 reviews
1.6 mi away
Silk D' Angkor Residence
Silk D' Angkor Residence
#159 of 356 in Siem Reap
28 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
#63 of 356 in Siem Reap
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nita by Vo
Nita by Vo
#21 of 356 in Siem Reap
331 reviews
1.5 mi away
Angkor Village Resort
Angkor Village Resort
#70 of 356 in Siem Reap
796 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chronicle Residence & Spa
Chronicle Residence & Spa
#46 of 356 in Siem Reap
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Village Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Village Resort & Spa

Property: Palm Village Resort & Spa
Address: Phum Trapaing Ses | Khum Kouk Jork, Siem Reap 234121, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#64 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#99 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Village Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in a quiet district of Siem Reap town, near the famed Angkor Wat temple, Palm Village offers you a unique accommodation with great hospitality, delicious Khmer cuisine, and relaxing massage & spa. Stay in one of the 18 exquisite bungalows and Khmer bamboo houses, made from local palm wood and bamboo furniture, and surrounded by green lush tropical garden. Whether you plan to have a short break, a family outing, or just to unwind from your hectic work, come to stay at Palm Village for a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Village Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Village Hotel Siem Reap
Hotel Palm Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing