We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation.

“Boutique hotel with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Viroth's Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Viroth's Villa
Ranked #6 of 483 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Clean, modern and well located hotel. Has a spacious roof terrace, which can be used any time and otherwise serves for breakfast.

Stayed for a night in room 4, which is spacious and whilst facing the street quiet.

The greatest asset to the hotel is its staff - welcoming, helpful and reliable. Well done to Saay, managing guests and reservations. My reservation seem to be double-booked by the agency I used, however they made an effort to put me in a partnering hotel for a night, which ended up being an upgrade.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiril P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    113
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
296
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I have been to Cambodia several times and have stayed at a few other hotels in Siem Reap, because I was unable to procure in the first instance a booking at Viroths. Its popularity is no surprise! This hotel is a very welcoming and comfortable place to stay. It is small and has an understated retro French aesthetic that is manifested in the breakfast music, furnishings and ornamental pieces. The beds are firm not hard as reported in a previous review ( and I have slept in most of the seven rooms).
The breakfast is bountiful without being over stated.
The hotel is so very clean and the attention to detail by the staff to your every need without being cloyingly servile is most welcoming. The tuk tuk drivers in the vicinity of the hotel are exceptionally friendly. The clients staying at the hotel seem to be mainly couples and singles who want to escape from the usual tour bus shuttle type of hotels.
The manager Mr Saay is a great ambassador for this hotel and despite the hotel's popularity the quality of friendly service does not change. The restaurant 5 minutes up the road is also consistently of a high standard.

Room Tip: room 6 is th e biggest by a fraction
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiemReapBenny, Manager at Viroth's Villa, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for your very positive and complementary review – it’s greatly appreciated by management and staff. We were delighted to serve you during your stay and hope you will return to stay with us in Siem Reap in the near future.

Saay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Was torn between booking a traditonal khmer style villa or a modern hotel for our 5 day trip in Cambodia. Chose Viroths based on TA reviews. V happy with our stay, the manager extremely helpful (was very gracious about late check-out), pool area although small was very well done, and the room was kept immaculately clean.

We were given room 6 which was directly below the upstairs kitchen and would wake up at times because of shuffling from kitchen. Aside from this we had an excellent stay. Woul recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sayana24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in July 2013. The hotel only has 6 rooms and I'd say half were booked during our stay (which is low season in Siem Reap). We had room #6 which is on the 2nd floor. The room (and bathrooms) were clean, guests quiet and respectful, and the staff competent though their English skills were a bit limited.

The included breakfast is nothing fancy, but a great way to start the day - croissants, eggs your way, orange juice, coffee and fresh fruit - what more could you want? After breakfast, hang by the pool before heading off to visit the temples and markets of the city, all of which are a short walk or a quick tuk tuk ride away.

If its your first time visiting Siem Reap and you want a great boutique hotel experience at a reasonable price, I would check-in to Viroth's. I think the rooms on the ground floor are the best and I'd ask for room #1 if I were to go back.

Room Tip: Ground floor, room #1 right next to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfo2mnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Viroth's and would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Siem Reap. We loved that it was a smaller hotel (only 7 rooms) as it felt very warm and intimate, and the location was ideal - close enough to town but not in the hustle-bustle of it. We had arrived very early in the day at the airport and were promptly greeted by one of the drivers who took us back to the hotel. Lucky for us, we were able to check in at that time. The room was very spacious (we had booked the double triple room) and very modern and clean. The bed was a bit firmer, but this seems to be the case in many Asian hotels, and this didn't bother us at all. As others have mentioned, there is a lack of privacy for the bathroom area (ex. the shower opens up into the room essentially and has no curtain). So ensure you are quite comfortable with the people you are travelling with! The salt-water pool was amazing, especially after a long day of sight-seeing. Last, but not least, the staff were very friendly and accommodating, and communication by email and in person was effortless. We had them arrange an early morning tour of Angkor Wat to see the sunrise and they were even so kind to pack a picnic breakfast for us to take along. It was very sweet of them. Overall, a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Try the Viroth restaurant! It was delicious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiemReapBenny, Manager at Viroth's Villa, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for your very positive and complementary review – it’s greatly appreciated by management and staff. We were delighted to serve you during your stay and hope you will return to stay with us in Siem Reap in the near future.

Saay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This place is very special. The rooms are modern and tastefully decorated, they are spacious and the beds are comfortable. The pool is lovely, both my daugter and the adults really enjoyed it. Location is fab but best of all are the staff. They are so helpful and always smiling. They serve a lovely breakfast on the rooftop and really go out of their way to look after you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 45surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiemReapBenny, Manager at Viroth's Villa, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for your very positive and complementary review – it’s greatly appreciated by management and staff. We were delighted to serve you during your stay and hope you will return to stay with us in Siem Reap in the near future.

Saay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and had a good time overall but there are a few aspects which would make a real difference to some people. My husband found the bed way too hard so unfortunately had 4 nights of troubled sleep. The staff sleep in reception so this morning I paid for the room with the receptionist in his underwear and wrapped in a towel having woken up as we came down the stairs! Made me smile but probably not really appropriate in a country where modesty is important!! I agree with someone else's comment about breakfast - it was ok but simple: fruit, yogurt, white toast, eggs and juice (no meat e.g. bacon, sausage etc). However, one morning we were surprised with a fresh pineapple shake which was great! We weren't able to have a drink on any evening as the bar was always shut even though we were told on arrival that it was open until 10pm (perhaps owing to low season?)
Swimming pool is very nice after a dusty day and the tropical fruit shake is yummy. Some of the staff are just learning English so some things didn't happen like reservations for dinner and advice on the local area. We turned up at a restaurant to find no reservation. However, they are actively taking lessons so this should improve (we met their teacher!)

The best element was the driver who picked us up from the airport and subsequently became our tuk-tuk driver for the whole time - super friendly, attentive, great driver and just fantastic! Highly recommend him if you want to see everything at your own pace. He didn't act as a tour guide for us which was fine for us but he gave us recommendations of what to see and when. Super guy.

Room Tip: We had room 4 which I thought was a good size. Has a large balcony overlooking the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCP247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiemReapBenny, Manager at Viroth's Villa, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review – we appreciate your candid opinion and will do our best to correct suggested points raised. We hope to see you again at Viroth’s Hotel into the future.

Saay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#6 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#5 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#4 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#13 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#9 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shinta Mani Club
Shinta Mani Club
#8 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viroth's Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viroth's Villa

Property: Viroth's Villa
Address: #14, Street 23 | Wat Bo Village, Siem Reap 0000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 483 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Viroth's Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Valued Friends and Patrons, We wish to inform you that Viroth’s Villa will be closed for renovation from 1st April, 2017 until further notice. We appreciate your patronage in the past and look forward to serving you in our renovated Villa in the not too distant future. With best wishes for 2017, the Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Viroth's Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing