We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent host and Wonderful Place in Siem Reap”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The White House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
minghongc...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent host and Wonderful Place in Siem Reap”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It's my second time to Siem Reap. It a pleasure to meet Mao again. The house is well connected to the Airport and the Angkor Wat. Basically, Mao can arrange all the activities for you in Siem Reap. He is more like a friend than a host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimmyMart...
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Greatest host in siem reap”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Mao was beyond amazing. He met us at the airport with a tuk tuk and brought us back to the house where he welcomed us with local beer and food. He also brought us to one of his favorite local restaurants.
He was extremely helpful and accommodating. He recommended places for us to go and things to do including a circus.
One of the most helpful things is the guy who lives next door can be your personal, all day tuk tuk driver. Super cheap and you have him all day so you don't have to worry about bargening and getting taken advantage of in the town. It was such an awesome plus!
We will definitely stay with Mao again when we come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarianK7
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adventure”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great hospitality, house is nice and clean. Great chance to see rural life at Cambodia and it's not so far from town. At future I'll be there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rialcanta...
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great host and place”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The place is very nice and it is sure a great place to stay. The place is very quiet and peaceful. Mao has been very great host. He had arranged for an airport pick up and made sure that all our needs are attended to. The papaya he had provided us as a welcome present is very tasty! He sure knows how to make his guests welcomed. He wasn't able to meet us on the first day but he made a very great effort to meet us over dinner. He is a very warm and kind person. Thank you Mao for all your efforts to provide us with what we need. We had a great stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chmwoods
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house in a traditional Cambodian setting!”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I had a great time the two nights we stayed at the White House. We felt we had an authentic experience, and we met some great people we probably would not have in a hotel. Also, Mao took us to an amazing restaurant right down the street our first night! I wouldn't have changed anything about our short trip to Siem Reap, especially not where we stayed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the spot on the rooftop!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amit989
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Host!”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The property is really clean and has all necessary amenities required.
It has a kitchen, incase you feel like cooking your own meal.
Set in a really serene neighborhood, It makes you feel close to nature and set in a typical Cambodian backdrop.
It is pretty near to the Airport and is very accessible to the main road, which is a huge plus.
I would also suggest to look out for his property, which he has just finished building.

I'm really glad to have met a person such as Mao, as my host.
He is really humble and friendly person.
His English is fluent and he is really patient guy who bears a great welcoming smile on his face.

His neighbor happens to be a tuk-tuk driver and he has helped in arranging a ride for me.
Despite holding a Full-time job himself, he tried to manage a good amount of time to make sure my trip to cambodia was great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The host is very accomodating
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gracekmet...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience! ”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My traveling partner and I had an amazing experience staying at the White House. The space itself was big, clean, and comfortable. We both loved how it was a little bit away from the tourists that were staying in the heart of Siem Reap. Mao himself is an amazing guy who did everything he could to ensure that we had a great trip. We loved going to the authentic Cambodian restaurant the first night we arrived. Our tuktuk driver, Alex, was amazing as well. He drove us around Angkor Wat for a day for a very reasonable price. As mentioned before, we loved that the house was "off the beaten path" a little bit because we didn't have much interest in late nights out in Siem Reap. It is about a ten minute drive from bars and restaurants, but Mao will definitely either take you himself or arrange a driver for you. We loved our Cambodian experience and would highly recommend Mao and his listings to anyone traveling to Siem Reap. Because of Mao's hospitality, we would also go back to Siem Reap in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing