We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST PLACE TO STAY IN SIEM REAP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Siem Reap Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I highly recommend staying at the Siem Reap hostel if you plan on traveling to Cambodia!! This place is awesome, not only are the rooms cheap but they are extremely comfortable and have everything you need! I stayed in a private room, with a tv, big bathroom and balcony. Rooms are huge and can easily sleep 3.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and if there's anything you want to see and do, from Angkor Wot to finding a good place to go for dinner, they can arrange it all for you!

They also have a great menu to choose from also, if u feel like just kicking back and hanging by the pool! It's cheap and its GREAT food... Especially the breakfast!!

It's in the perfect location too... Its close to the markets, surrounded by lots of great local restaurants and just a shirt walk to pub street, where there's plenty of pubs and bars to choose from!!

All in all... I couldn't have stayed in a better place! If you get to Siem Reap, be sure to stay there!!!!

Room Tip: If you don't like sharing a bathroom get a private room, they're not that much more than a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kruiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

935 - 941 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

Room design was bad. Lack of hot water. Aircon does not work. Shower head came off. Electrical plugs don't work. A terrible stay. Lousy breakfast. For a room is 24/room/night, can look for better ones. Lack of food places around the area. Saving grace is 1usd from pub street and 5-10minutes walk.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DoDoSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driess_and_Gus, Manager at The Siem Reap Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

DoDo, it disappoints me to hear you didn't enjoy your stay in our hostel. I do think though that a lot of the issues you had could have been addressed had we been made aware of them whilst you were still staying here, rather than finding out about them later in this review. Some other issues I find very confusing. The fact that you thought the room design was bad for example. This is a purpose built facility & up until now, we've received nothing but praise for our spacious rooms with balconies & deluxe bathrooms. This is not something that can be altered, so I'll move on. Since your review we found an issue with a water pump that affected the hot water supply to your room & a few others, it was fixed within an hour of us identifying the problem. We found no problem with the electrical sockets in your room. In future may I suggest you use a universal adapter for your foreign plugs (they were available to borrow or buy from reception). The shower head unfortunately, was something missed by our cleaners & maintenance staff, but was rectified, again quite quickly once we were made aware of the situation. Complaining about our complimentary buffet breakfast (which includes fruit & juices, cereal, including muesli & pancakes with maple syrup amongst other things) is also puzzling. You may like to check previous positive reviews about this. If it wasn't to your liking you could have ordered from our full menu, which contains many other breakfast options. Your last point about there being no good food outlets in the area contradicts the fact that we are only $1 in a tuk tuk or 5 minutes walk to pub street, where there are a multitude of good dining options. You were only a 3 minutes walk away from the fabulous Green Star Restaurant, which is also surrounded by other local eateries. We could have pointed you in the right direction, as could have many other satisfied guests, had you chosen to be more social here. We pride ourselves on creating an environment where it's easy to mingle with other guests & believe we, as managers are very approachable on all topics, whether dealing with complaints or advice on how to maximize your time here in Siem Reap. Obviously, its our job to ensure you have a good time here. I hope you can appreciate that things do wear out & break, particularly when they're in use as often as they are here in this busy Hostel, and that we can't do anything about them when we remain unaware of the faults. Thank You for responding to my email & Happy Trails.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Without a doubt the most outstanding hostel we've visited in South East Asia. The staff were wonderful and accommodating, our room was great and the food and atmosphere unrivaled! It was such a joy to stay there - Kelly, Vince, Dillon and Graeme

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driess_and_Gus, Manager at The Siem Reap Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Thanks Kelly! It was a pleasure having you & the boys here (& thanks for the compliments on the music playlist ;) ). We'll be sure to pass on your glowing review to our staff, who really get a kick out of knowing our guests have had a good time here. Oh, & 'Well Done' to Greame for winning the Pool Comp!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

The best and affordable backpackers hostel in town. Very clean, homey and comfortable dorms and rooms. Free computers, cosy entertainment section and swimming pool is available too! Walking distance to nearby market and pubs. Can rent a bicycle as well at a nearby shop for only USD1 per day. I would definitely recommend this hostel to my friends!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zuriana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

$6 for 6 person dorm (they have many of them...) comfy beds, very clean, good atmosphere.. Food is delicious, may seem expensive but it's giant portions anyways. Everyone's super friendly there! Free computers also and they have an amazing buffet breakfast for $2!! They'll book bus tickets for you but be warned its a hefty commission.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YOLO2465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Stayed at the female dorm for 3 nights and it was great! I was even able to do attend the yoga class for 5USD!! It was so worth it and I am definitely coming back! I fell in love with SR and I fell in love with this Hostel as well. :) Walking distance to Pub Street and a short tuktuk ride away from the Temples. Ask for Hongda - Tuktuk driver. He spoke good English and was very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theurbanbruha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Siem Reap Hostel was by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in. After travelling around Asia, my friend and I booked Siem Reap Hostel intending to stay for three nights and ended up staying for two weeks. Managed by two incredibly friendly and helpful Australian guys, the hostel provided a cheap and comfortable environment in which to relax, meet people as well as amazing opportunities to explore Siem Reap and embrace the culture of Cambodia.

The hostel bar has a great atmosphere to it, with a number of exciting happy hours that are enjoyed by everyone and is a great place to sit with a cold drink and chat to so many different people and listen to good music. The kitchen is great too, with the menu exploring traditional Khmer dishes and is so tasty (cheap too!). We stayed in two different dorm rooms over the course of our stay, both of which were perfectly clean and comfortable, featuring a balcony and more than spacious lockers for our packs. The undercover pool is cool and refreshing after an exhausting day exploring the temples and is large enough that it doesn’t get too crowded and overwhelming. The hostel also provides a yoga room, communal TV room and pool table etc.

The managers and the staff of the hostel go out of their way to make your stay so comfortable, stimulating and culturally rich. The hostel provides a number of tours, including day trips to waterfalls, animal refuge centers, local orphanages and so many more. Also provided is a ‘food walk’ led a member of staff, who shows you around the local food markets and introduces you to local delicacies which you may have been to wary to try without guidance! The tuk tuk drivers are absolutely lovely, and we made many friendships over the course of our stay with the local drivers who so helpful and knowledgeable.

However, I personally think that my stay at the hostel was so good because of the current managers. Driess and Gus are friendly, helpful, funny and perhaps most importantly, passionate about Siem Reap and supporting their local community; thus providing a fabulous environment for both their staff and guests. When I got sick and ended up in hospital, Driess and Gus stayed in contact and personally came and visited me, so lovely! We shared many a drink and laugh over the two weeks, and the hostel people really felt like home which is such a valued experience when you have been travelling for a while.

This hostel is honestly amazing and I have recommended it to all of my friends who are planning on travelling to Cambodia and I hope to return in the near future!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freya_dewilde_barr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driess_and_Gus, Manager at The Siem Reap Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Glad you're feeling better Freya . Those were some fun times fo sho.
Cheers
Gus and Driess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#22 of 362 in Siem Reap
3,699 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#9 of 362 in Siem Reap
1,645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#7 of 362 in Siem Reap
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#3 of 362 in Siem Reap
334 reviews
0.7 mi away
Funky Flashpacker
Funky Flashpacker
#6 of 300 in Siem Reap
2,316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
#5 of 300 in Siem Reap
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Siem Reap Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siem Reap Hostel

Address: 7 Makara Street | cnr of Wat Bo Road and Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 300 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range: £10 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms include:- Free Wi-Fi - Hot Water- Air-Conditioning- Yoga- Cinema - Western style showers and toilets, Awesome undercover pool, bar and restaurant, chill out rooms, free computers, free bike usage, pool table, fusball table, close to Pub St & markets. Please be aware there are other near by hostels with names very similar to ours, they are hoping you end up there by mistake. There is only one hostel named 'The Siem Reap Hostel'. Accept no imitations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Siem Reap Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Siem Reap Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing