We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, clean, amazing facilities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Siem Reap Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Siem Reap Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean, amazing facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

The siem reap hostel is the first hostel I've stayed in in Asia, and I've been told its on of the best hostels by other travellers I've met here.
This hostel brings people together because of the lovely bar area. It's open planned and people feel comfortable here. It's also a lovely atmosphere with the beautiful pool in the same space. The music means its relaxing and the staff are super helpful.
The laundry service is 2 us dollars and bales you to have a whole bag full instead of by the kg, and comes back beautifully washed and smelling lovely.
The rooms are big and clean with under bed lockers, reception provides you with locks. The rooms feel very safe, as th e whole hostel does. Me and my 3 friends felt extremely happy here as 4 girls, and siem reap Is a lovely place. Pub street is a 5-10 minute walk depending if you get distracted by the markets. And the tuk Tuks outside the hostel are sooo friendly, running temple tours from $5 a day.

I loved siem reap hostel and would 100% come back

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessamybun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    190
    45
    8
    3
See reviews for
34
108
483
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

I stayed here for 3 months and it was the best time ever. Good atmosphere, good music, nice people and a good bar. Still there 're enough spaces to sit quietly. Tip: Try the coffee martini!!! it's addictive

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daanmartens87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

We managed to get a room for a few nights,we were lucky but do book ahead as they are fully booked most of the time (for good reason)!the rooms are spacious with balcony and toilet with separate shower room!there is a lovely cool pool also! The staff are the gems of this place,Gus and driess were great and very helpful.the khmer staff were also very helpful,and always smiling.there is a great atmosphere here and great to meet others backpackers.the food is also good,try the yellow beef curry.thankyou to all the team for an enjoyable stay!we will be back and book ahead next time :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lushy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and would definitely recommend it! Its great that they have a pick-up and drop-off service. The rooms are always clean, with towels provided and large comfortable beds, and decent showers. The vibe at this hostel is hard to beat, there were always a few visitors hanging around, Im sure because the food (both western and local) and the drinks were delicious, and the pool was a great place to chill out after a busy day. The staff is super friendly and helpful! We needed a room just for an extra day, to shower and get dressed before were to fly out and they were very accommodating. They were also great with helping to organise activities, like going on a tour of the temples. We also found a brochure for Mini Golf Angkor Wat style, and they were also able to organise a pick-up and drop-off for this fun 2 hour activity.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driess_and_Gus, Manager at The Siem Reap Hostel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Hey! Thanks for the kind words. Everyone here gets a buzz from seeing such satisfied guests. It's what we're all working towards. We're really glad you had such a great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

I had the most amazing time at The Siem Reap Hostel. I arrived in Siem Reap with my sister and on our first night we stayed at another hostel. The main comparison is that this hostel feels more like a hotel, but it still has the great laid back hostel vibe and it is very easy to meet people. Therefore I think it suits a wide range of travellers, families, couples, friends, singles, and older people too.
The rooms were very clean and spacious, the pool and bar/restaurant was amazing and although not in the sun if you get to the pool early enough 10am for me you can grab a day bed and lay in the sun for a few hours. This wasn't an issue and if lying by a pool is what you want there are plenty of hotels near by that let you use the pool for free or for just buying a drink at their bar.
The owners were awesome and really friendly and made me feel so welcome as I had a week there on my own, the staff were also incredibly friendly and happy to help with anything and everything.
Great location too, not far from pub street and old market but far enough to have some peace and quiet when needed.
I have to suggest to go teach english at A.O.E.O orphanage if possible, because 600 kids come from all around Siem Reap to learn there and they need teachers! Was an incredible experience!!

Thank you Siem Reap Hostel Staff for making my stay so enjoyable, I will definitely be coming back and be recommending you to all of my friends!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Livonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driess_and_Gus, Manager at The Siem Reap Hostel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
It was a pleasure having you & your sister staying with us! & good on you for giving something back to the community. We really love it here in Siem Reap & seeing the wider community getting ahead from the generosity of visitors is awesome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

I came to this place from a Tuk Tuk and found out they had no space for me, I was gutted! Such a great vibe here. I ended up checking in down the road and instantly went back to hangout. I met 3 other people who i ended up travelling with for three weeks. I ate great food and had a few drinks. The next day after ankor wat i went back to meet my new buddies and swam in the pool, ate more and they at the reception sorted me out with a ticket for the bus onwards to shianoukville. So unfortunately I never spent the night but I had to review this place purely for how nice I thought it was.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cabbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

It was actually the first time for me and my cousin to stay in a room shared with strangers. We both were a bit hesitant in the beginning but loved it to bits in the end. We stayed in a 6-Bed female dorm and it was wonderful. The bathroom was always clean (thanks to our room mates and the housekeeping as well). In a country like Cambodia where it's always warm, it pays to stay where there's good-working AC so I'd have to say we were able to sleep like babies every night. The rooms are nice and have their own balconies and in the common areas, they have spots where you could just lounge around and they even have a pool that seems to be well maintained! (Although we never took a dip, it's good to know you have the option to do so) in our stay, we were lucky enough to have been able to take part of the yoga class which was wonderful! They have a free pick-up service too! (from the sinh tourist office) - There's a nearby convenience store btw and the place is just a very short walk to pub street! :) We took a tuktuk on our first day - then we realized how near it was! :) Lovely place to stay and I will definitely would come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#13 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,409 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#3 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#81 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#2 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#77 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Siem Reap Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siem Reap Hostel

Property: The Siem Reap Hostel
Address: 7 Makara Street | cnr of Wat Bo Road and Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 249 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms include:- Free Wi-Fi - Hot Water- Air-Conditioning- Yoga- Cinema - Western style showers and toilets, Awesome undercover pool, bar and restaurant, chill out rooms, free computers, free bike usage, pool table, fusball table, close to Pub St & markets. Please be aware there are other near by hostels with names very similar to ours, they are hoping you end up there by mistake. There is only one hostel named 'The Siem Reap Hostel'. Accept no imitations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Siem Reap Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Siem Reap Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing