We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Siem Reap Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Siem Reap Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

The free pick up from the airport was great and reliable. Was a bit concerned at first having been used to arranging tours with traveling agencies but choosing them for my first try at backpacking was a great experience.

Had a little problem with my booking at first as there were 2 tuktuk drivers that came for me even when I already declined my first inquiry for the private room. I was traveling with 2 other persons so my decisions were mostly based on what the group wanted and since they chose to go with the dorm room I have to go with that as well. Staff weren't really good with English so I had to insist that I already declined my booking, even to the extent of showing them my email replies as the mail i sent on March was more of just an inquiry as to whether there were rooms available and my decline was like 2 weeks beforw my arrival on end april. Maybe it would be great if they use viber, watsapp or all the other messaging apps for more real time communication. I kinda felt sorry that they've lost profit on a room but it was no longer my fault.

Anyway stay was great, I love the pool, the balconies, I hate the stairs but it was like a training to the steep stairs at the temples.

I love our tuktuk driver, he was very friendly, courteous and respectful. Try to see if you can request/book for Mr. So Phara. You can viber him +855 12374-227 his english is a work in progress but he is really very pleasant and he kids around and makes jokes and is very willing to go the extra mile for you. He stopped by some vendors selling the exotic bugs and insects coz he knew we wanted to try them.Really great experience

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimyah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driess_and_Gus, Manager at The Siem Reap Hostel, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Hi and thanks for the great review. Glad you first experience backpacking with us was so good. The Hostel operates in the main to give young Cambodians a chance to enter into careers in Hospitality and English is a language they learn in High School. In my understanding there can't be 2 languages so different: Interesting fact - written Khmer has 33 consonants and 39 vowel sounds! Our staff do an excellent job considering I think and I would recommend all visitors to Cambodia be prepared to take a little more time communicating. It's part of the fun and getting to know the wonderful people who live here can be so rewarding. But sometimes things do get lost in translation and we don't mind covering for that.
All the Hostel tuk tuk drivers do their best to give our guests a great time - they rely on us and we rely on them. Other places in town may charge their drivers commission but we prefer the drivers and their families get the full benefit of their efforts - it's why there is a waiting list to drive for the Hostel.
Enjoy the rest of your travels. G and D, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    190
    43
    8
    3
See reviews for
34
107
483
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

The Siem Reap Hostel rates itself as a "five-shoe hostel," but i would've given them six, seven, even ten! I traveled with four other friends so we naturally chose to stay in a dorm-type room so that we could be together in one room. The dorm room we stayed in had six beds, so we were rooming with one other person (we didn't mind at all! it's a great way to meet people). We booked three or four months in advance, and since it's quite a popular hostel it would be a good idea for you book early as well. The location was good, just a few minutes' walk away from the Old Market, Pub Street, the Night Market, etc.

The room had air conditioning, lockers for luggage, free wifi, many electrical outlets (so you and your friends wouldn't need to fight over who gets to charge their devices first!), basically everything that a backpacker would need. Towels are available for rent if you didn't bring your own.There's a pool, a foosball table, a bar, and many other facilities that made us wish we were staying there longer so we could enjoy them.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They helped us get tuktuks for our day temple tour, as well as arranging for a cab to pick us up as early as 5 am to get us to Poipet (the border of Cambodia and Bangkok). They even let us leave our luggage in the hostel even after we checked out, so we can roam around freely while we were waiting for our flight home.

Would recommend to anyone, and if we ever find our way back in Siem Reap, we know exactly where we'd want to stay. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andionneceleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

The Siem Reap Hostel was a great place to stay. They have a swimming pool which is perfect after a long hot day at Angkor Wat. They also have a pool table and a fussball table, if you want some more fun ha-ha. The location is good and only a 10 minute walk to all the main restaurants and cafes.

Room Tip: I stayed in the dorms on the 1st floor, which were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiealexander82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

My stay at this hostel was great! The service is good & the staff are helpful. The common areas are great to hang out & meet people. The pool is clean & refreshing. The beds are comfy & big lockers for all your stuff. The wifi was always working well. I was able to book a bus from the hostel & they helped organise tuktuk drivers for the day as well. They offer a free pick up service as well which i gladly excepted & the driver was friendly & helpful as he even pulled over to wind down the plastic when it rained.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieCaruana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driess_and_Gus, Manager at The Siem Reap Hostel, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Thank you, indeed thanks to all reviewers, especially of late, who have scored us so highly. 13 in a row! Hope I haven't cursed us! Staff here at the hostel, including our tuk tuk drivers, have been working hard over our busiest high season ever. so you can have a good time. Your kind reviews and top scores are great reward for the team's efforts and our continuing popularity means the Hostel can grow - we put our staff amoung our highest priorities in this regard. It's awesome to see our beautiful Hostel climbing up the rankings. :-) G and D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

This is one of my favourite hostels ever: It's great value (USD 6.- for a bed in a 6-bed-dorm with a/c, private shower, separate private toilet, huge lockers, private balcony and a swimming pool! Pay USD 2.- more and you get a buffet style breakfast with fresh fruit, cereals, toast, coffee, tea, juices), is very clean, has got lots of communal areas and the people there are great! Enjoyed my stay there 100%.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honigmelonenmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

Not going to add anything except to say that everything was catered for and to find faults would be nitpicking.
Specific highlights are the music, the pool, well run bus tickets and tuk tuks to the temples. Very good value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onlysaynoonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Really great hostel, the rooms were really nice, space under your bed to lock away your bags, good air con and really nice bathroom. In a great location to get into town!

The staff were helpful booking tuktuks to Angkor watt etc and offering advice. However the overnight bus that they booked us on to Phnom Penh was horrific, definitely look elsewhere for that!

The pool also wasn't great we went to a different hotel to use their pool for the day instead. Overall great value for money and excellent location!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srdbso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driess_and_Gus, Manager at The Siem Reap Hostel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Hey and thanks for the perfect score. We chose our bus companies based on safety and quality of service but of course guests are welcome to shop around. Re the pool: Some folk do like pools in the sun, however we love the fact ours is under cover, especially in the heat of the dry season - keeping it nice and cool after a day out at the temples - check our other reviews here about this! We have it serviced daily by professionals to make sure it's ready for a refreshing dip when you are. Thanks for staying and hope we see you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#3 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#12 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,397 reviews
0.8 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#79 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#76 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.5 mi away
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
#4 of 248 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Funky Flashpacker
Funky Flashpacker
#8 of 248 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Siem Reap Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siem Reap Hostel

Property: The Siem Reap Hostel
Address: 7 Makara Street | cnr of Wat Bo Road and Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 248 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms include:- Free Wi-Fi - Hot Water- Air-Conditioning- Yoga- Cinema - Western style showers and toilets, Awesome undercover pool, bar and restaurant, chill out rooms, free computers, free bike usage, pool table, fusball table, close to Pub St & markets. Please be aware there are other near by hostels with names very similar to ours, they are hoping you end up there by mistake. There is only one hostel named 'The Siem Reap Hostel'. Accept no imitations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your The Siem Reap Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Siem Reap Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing