We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Pool but a bit out of Town.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lotus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lotus Lodge
Ranked #180 of 334 Hotels in Siem Reap
Ullapool
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Pool but a bit out of Town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights. There is a free shuttle tuk tuk style vehicle takes you into town during the day. The roads around the hotel are very poor so expect a bumpy ride.
Pool was great if not a bit like a warm bath as far as temperature.
Rooms basic but good value for money.
Staff very polite and pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    101
    41
    26
    13
See reviews for
47
156
43
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We booked our accommodation very early in the year as we were aware that we would be traveling in high season. We picked Lotus Lodge from the comments as well as the price being in our budget. However, I was disappointed that when we we arrived (private from airport) they took us to our room briefly showed us the pool and that was it. Didn't explain anything about toilet, shower, fridge not being plugged in, breakfast etc.
The staff did not seem to enthusiastic to be at work shuffling their feet along and most of the time we would order a meal and they would take at least 30mins. Tge meals were beautiful however took time.
The property in all needs maintenance. Our room alone safe was not working and was informed by staff that they all needed batteries so to use the key. Remote for A/C and tv didn't work and when there was a power outage and power came back on the staff didn't know how to fix it.
The shower was a drizzle of water and as it was my first time in Cambodia thought it was the norm until I got to my next resort. Bed lamps also didn't work.
Overall disappointed especially when told by other traveller that her hotel room cost an extra $2 and was 'amazing'. Shop around but this place does have potential

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bobbytre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Thanks to the staff and management for a good stay. We were collected promptly at the airport upon arrival with a sign with our name on it (nice touch for a budget hotel!) The ride to the hotel was complimentary and it was a unique culture shock driving through the town roads and seeing such a different way of life. The hotel is about 10 minutes from the downtown in a very authentic cambodian neighborhood. RIght outside the hotel gates are the local neighbors and families living such a basic yet peaceful lifestyle. After a day full of temple sighting we relaxed in the lovely pool and enjoyed a dinner in the outside veranda. Rooms were basic but had everything we needed. Overall quite satisfied.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Harrison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in Lotus Lodge. We had a great time. We didn't mind that it was away from pub street, because we came to visit Angkor wat. We thought the rooms could use some paint and renovation, but nothing serious. The staff arranged a very nice tuk tuk driver to take us to Angkor wat, we had a great time. Food was also good!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JolineBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I travelled to Cambodia alone in July and stayed at the Lotus Lodge for two weeks. The hotel may be smaller than some that I have seen there but I have never felt so welcome. The staff was exceptional and so helpful. I loved staying there because it reminded me of a villa where you could feel at home while you were away, which is very welcoming when you are travelling alone. I went on some of the tours they organized and highly recommened the country side tour; they actually show you the parts of the county that make Cambodia so magical. Thank you so much Lotus Lodge, I cant wait to come back! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truhlarikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

As it is low season we know we could have found better accommodation for a similar price. You would only stay here as a last resort. We chose this one from the lonely planet book and on all the possitive reviews here on TA which we think are misleading to say the least.

It is a low end place how ever there were a few things that just didn't cut it compared to other low end places.

1.On arrival we were shown to our room but they didnt explain anything or showed us were things were.

2. The room didn't even seem ready for guests as there were no minibar, the fridge wasn't even plugged in to the wall as the wallsocket was hanging loose from the wall. no water, no toilet paper. The toilet didn't work, so in the end we had to ask to change rooms. In this room the safe didn't work and we were told we could keep our valuables in the reception area.

4. The pathway up to the rooms were covered in green slippery slime due to the rain,it was downright dangerous and which could have easily been removed with a outdoor broom by one of the staff that were just hanging around the pool area.

5. Pool area could be great but at the time of our stay it was overgrown with weeds and needed a good clean.

6. We found the staff to be unattentive and didn't seem to care. However they were friendly if you approached them.

7. Finally they failed to notify booking.com that we showed up for our stay which we were going to be charged a cancellation fee for.

This could be such a good place with a bit of renovations and attention to detail.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonmadelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

As I am retired, I have become somewhat of a habitual traveller. I routinely read Trip Advisor and on several past instances have submitted critiques of establishments, where I have rested my weary head.
As a recurring visitor to Siem Reap, my hotel of choice has always been Lotus Lodge. Over the past few years I have stayed there on several occasions. In my experience I have always found the staff to be attentive and quick to respond to my personal needs, and all other guests.
They are also collectively the politest staff of anywhere I have ever visited.

I just recently returned, with n the past month from quite pleasant visit to Lotus Lodge. Present ownership, has undertaken renovations of the units, particularly the washrooms.


I had the pleasure of being assigned one of the newly renovated rooms. The washroom was newly tiled and bright and fresh. In the main room I was left awash in a calmness and comfort, largely due I believe from cooling green they have chosen.

Lotus Lodge is and will continue to be my personal oasis, of South East Asia, and I would suggest anyone would find the same comfort as I feel.
For you travel dollar, you won’t find a better value.
james

Room Tip: room 306 is a very nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
#140 of 334 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Desire Park Boutique
Desire Park Boutique
#213 of 334 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.8 mi away
Samatika Villa Boutique
Samatika Villa Boutique
#234 of 334 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
#148 of 334 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kouprey Hotel
Kouprey Hotel
#86 of 334 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.8 mi away
Angkor Spirit Palace
Angkor Spirit Palace
#156 of 334 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Lodge

Property: Lotus Lodge
Address: Boeung Dounhpa Village Slar Kram Commune, Chong Kov Sou, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious and family friendly lodge is situated a short distance from the center of Siem Reap. Away from all the big hotels and busy street life, it offers an oasis of greenery. An excellent place for a well deserved and relaxing rest after visiting the temples of Angkor Wat. The Lotus Lodge offers a number of services and amenities to guests staying in one of our 34 clean and quiet rooms. During your stay you can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, a poolside restaurant and bar, free bicycle rentals, tour booking service, computer and internet access, pool table, movies, free daily shuttle, as well as our 10 meter high viewing tower which provides a superb panoramic outlook. You can even view the famous Angkor Temples from the tower! The large swimming pool is surrounded by a relaxation area that allows you to retreat to the calmness of the lodge. Massage can be arranged in your room or on the poolside terrace. We offer a wide variety of Khmer, Chinese and western meals in our open air restaurant and lounge. We also provide transfer services from the airport to the resort. Come stay with us at Lotus Lodge and you are sure to have a pleasant and relaxing experience! THE LOTUS LODGE IS OWNED BY JAVIER SAINT PIERRE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Lotus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing