We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible value for money.”
Review of Lotus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lotus Lodge
Ranked #205 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Terrible value for money.”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We traveled through Cambodia and Vietnam, staying at guesthouses for $10-20 and Lotus Lodge was the most expensive and worst place we stayed at. We decided to "splurge" (still only $25 I guess) for one place, and the reviews from Tripadvisor convinced us that Lotus Lodge was worth it.
When I first booked the place, I didn't receive a confirmation email, so immediately emailed to double check that everything had been booked. I made sure to mention that I had booked a room "with a double bed (not twin beds)" and received a very fast helpful reply from the manager confirming.
However, when we arrived at 8pm (free pickup from airport was nice though!) we were given a room with twin beds. The condition of the room was pretty basic, similar or worse than other guesthouses we've stayed at for half the price elsewhere. The safe was too small to fit our tablets (!) and didn't work anyway. The slot to lock the front door was broken so couldn't lock it that way and we had been given a key without the room number and hotel tag unlike all the other keys. This immediately made us suspicious that they had lost the key, which the receptionist confirmed but said they had changed locks since the day before (mm..sure?). Made us feel extremely unsafe, although out of town, we were very worried about our bags. We could lock up our stuff in the office which was good, but very inconvenient.
After seeing our room, we immediately asked to call the manager who politely explained that he would send someone to the room to fix the safe and the lock on the door. Since it was past 9pm and they were fully booked out they couldn't do anything about the twin (not double) room and were told maybe there would be one available the next day. He gave us a free dinner that night..but it didn't really cover what had gone wrong so far.
I understand by staff that there was really nothing more they could have done, but it really shouldn't have happened in the first place, especially when we were so cautious when booking. The next day when we returned from angkor wat etc. nothing had changed in our room, lock and safe still broken.
We attempted to ride into town that night, but they had ran out of maps so we were just given simple directions to a main street. By this time we were pretty annoyed. On the way out, one of the bike chains fell off, after fixing this, 10 minutes later it fell off again and we walked the bikes back approx 20 minutes and ended up taking a $2 tuk tuk out again.
I heard that there are a lot nicer rooms available, however our stay at lotus lodge completely ruined Siem Reap for us. We were so completely disappointed by the room value that if we had had more time we would've just left for a cheaper hostel. Very annoyed that we had to pay the full $25 for a room we didn't order.
Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 109
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinmelbourne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    101
    41
    26
    13
See reviews for
47
156
43
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Spacious room, enough closet space, great atmosphere, helpfull staff, wonderful pool area and lobby, good breakfast, excellent WiFi, bit pricy if you compare it to other hostels, hence the four stars, but highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Geertrui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed for 6 days & 5 nights. The hotel is a ways from town so is nice and quiet. Rooms are clean and good sized. Staff are super friendly. They picked us up at the airport even though it was late at night. They have a free shuttle into town to the "old market" area where there's tons of restaurants & shops. Nice pool and a buffet type breakfast - fresh breads , eggs cooked any way , pancakes and fruits. Beds are comfortable . We will stay there again when we come back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2014

It was lovely to be met unexpectedly at the airport and taken in a tuk-tuk to the hotel - the same driver took us to Angkor Wat which was great. I liked being out of town and great to relax buy the pool after sight seeing. One trip into Siem Reap town was fun but enough. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we liked the food. The service a bit slow when very busy but what's the hurry?! Good experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincumber
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile


I must say that I have been quite disappointed with my stay at lotus lodge. The staff have been friendly and helpful and I have no issue what so ever with them. My problem is with other things such as: our room having no hot water, the air conditioning not working properly and spitting water all over the room. There was no safe and no fridge in the room and the bathroom was falling apart. The room was cleaned only twice in the 5 nights we stayed and I had laundry done which I found in the lobby. No one told me it was there, so lucky I found it.
I'm pretty easy to please but I'm disappointed with my overall stay at lotus lodge.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My group of friends and I visited this hotel over Christmas time until the New Year. When we arrived it was late in the evening and the hotel was very accommodating to get us from the airport to their place, a little bit out of the center of town in a local area which was a nice change as we had just come from staying at a hotel in the center of Phnom Pehn. Javier the owner from Canada was there to greet us on arrival and get us settled. He's a very friendly guy and was happy to share any info on Siem Reap or the hotel with us. What struck us was his honesty as he pointed the pros and flaws around the hotel that he was working on improving. You don't see this honesty in hoteliers too often. Oh ya, they threw a rockin Christmas party for the guests and staff. Great night guys from all of us who stayed with you over Christmas and the New Year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbyprost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Having read the reviews I would suggest you check your room meets them. I had more than one room so can say the quality varied. In one there was no fridge and no secure draw our safe. There was no hot water either despite being pointed out three times in the five night stay. In addition the air con was pathetic. In summer it would be hopeless. Yet each room was the same price.

Most annoying were the late make up of rooms negation any afternoon rest and late night drinking smoking and discussing outside our room which appeared to be the staff. There is a perfectly adequate bar and common area for it.

We travel widely and for the price this hotel needs to attend to the ambivalent and varying standards of rooms in a growing market of more central offerings.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.5 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#152 of 356 in Siem Reap
494 reviews
2.8 mi away
Angkor Spirit Palace
Angkor Spirit Palace
#188 of 356 in Siem Reap
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gloria Angkor Hotel
Gloria Angkor Hotel
#135 of 356 in Siem Reap
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tanei Boutique Villa
Tanei Boutique Villa
#143 of 356 in Siem Reap
573 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#87 of 356 in Siem Reap
860 reviews
0.8 mi away
Angkor Village Resort
Angkor Village Resort
#70 of 356 in Siem Reap
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Lodge

Property: Lotus Lodge
Address: Boeung Dounhpa Village Slar Kram Commune, Chong Kov Sou, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious and family friendly lodge is situated a short distance from the center of Siem Reap. Away from all the big hotels and busy street life, it offers an oasis of greenery. An excellent place for a well deserved and relaxing rest after visiting the temples of Angkor Wat. The Lotus Lodge offers a number of services and amenities to guests staying in one of our 34 clean and quiet rooms. During your stay you can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, a poolside restaurant and bar, free bicycle rentals, tour booking service, computer and internet access, pool table, movies, free daily shuttle, as well as our 10 meter high viewing tower which provides a superb panoramic outlook. You can even view the famous Angkor Temples from the tower! The large swimming pool is surrounded by a relaxation area that allows you to retreat to the calmness of the lodge. Massage can be arranged in your room or on the poolside terrace. We offer a wide variety of Khmer, Chinese and western meals in our open air restaurant and lounge. We also provide transfer services from the airport to the resort. Come stay with us at Lotus Lodge and you are sure to have a pleasant and relaxing experience! THE LOTUS LODGE IS OWNED BY JAVIER SAINT PIERRE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lotus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing