We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Magical Place in Siem Reap”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lotus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lotus Lodge
Ranked #193 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Bloomfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Magical Place in Siem Reap”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My experience at the Lotus Lodge was truly amazing. The staff are all so sweet and friendly and they made me feel right at home. I loved that the staff was a mix of Westerners and Cambodians alike so it has the Western comforts with the Khmer taste. The rooms are very comfortable with airconditioning and a TV. It was so nice to relax in a cool, quiet place on such a hot Siem Reap day. The pool area is beautiful and it is a great place for a swim and to meet new people from all over. The food is delicious and the Lodge always has tuktuks available for a quick trip into town. I have also been in Siem Reap for their themed events and it is a great way to meet locals, expats, and travellers. Wish I were still here for the next one in May! Overall, I had a wonderful experience at the Lodge and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ariel_Blum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    101
    41
    26
    13
See reviews for
47
156
43
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmö
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We are so pleased with our stay at this nice hostel! Friendly straff and nice poolarea. Food was also good. The staff helped us to book a tuk tuk for a whole day tour to see the different temples. Our favorit was the "ta prohm". We can also recommend the floating village/silk tour.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fornander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My husband and I had a quite disappointing experience in this semi guest house/hotel lodge.

We booked this hotel on Agoda with 50 USD a night, which is considered high-end in Cambodia. When we checked in with our agoda reservation code and email, we were told by an American or Xanadian foreign manager/lady that they didn't have our reservation record online and we needed to be transferred to some other hotels because they were fully-booked for the day. My husband insisted a little bit because they hotel didn't really apologise for this inconvenience or mistake, and the local Cambodia woman (the staff) said shortly afterwards that we could stay, BUT just for 1 night--well of course since we only booked for 1 night, and after this experience we wouldn't want to stay any other night there--so the problem was naturally solved.

The bathroom has a very strong pissy smell, small hair in my bed, breakfast couldn't be more mediocre, not entirely friendly staff. One good thing is, the swimming pool is quite nice.

For 50 USD you can live in a very good hotel in Cambodia. THe value we got isn't worth the money.

Room Tip: We also saw good recommendation online and so chose it. Doesn't feel very true.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyforevergreentea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hwasun-gun, South Korea
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The free airport pickup was great. Out tuk tuk ride to the resort from the airport took about 15 minutes. The resort is a little out of the way, but it was nice and quiet. And a short tuk tuk ride can get you anywhere in town quickly.

From the resort, we were able to hire tuk tuk drivers for the day to tour Angkor for $15 to $18. The ride to the temples takes about 30 minutes from the resort. We spent most of our time at the temples, but the resort was always a relaxing place to recover. Our room was quite large and came equipped with AC and a fan. The bathroom was pretty good for Asia. The pool was nice and the chairs surrounding it were a great place to hang out and read. We ate several meals at the restaurant and liked the food. We didn't have a bad meal. Complimentary breakfast was a nice way to begin our days before heading to the temples.

After reading that they helped arrange visas to Vietnam, we were a little disappointed that no one we spoke to could actually help us. Oh well, we lined them up in Phnom Penh.

Overall, we had a very positive and relaxing experience at Lotus Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinMcHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We traveled through Cambodia and Vietnam, staying at guesthouses for $10-20 and Lotus Lodge was the most expensive and worst place we stayed at. We decided to "splurge" (still only $25 I guess) for one place, and the reviews from Tripadvisor convinced us that Lotus Lodge was worth it.
When I first booked the place, I didn't receive a confirmation email, so immediately emailed to double check that everything had been booked. I made sure to mention that I had booked a room "with a double bed (not twin beds)" and received a very fast helpful reply from the manager confirming.
However, when we arrived at 8pm (free pickup from airport was nice though!) we were given a room with twin beds. The condition of the room was pretty basic, similar or worse than other guesthouses we've stayed at for half the price elsewhere. The safe was too small to fit our tablets (!) and didn't work anyway. The slot to lock the front door was broken so couldn't lock it that way and we had been given a key without the room number and hotel tag unlike all the other keys. This immediately made us suspicious that they had lost the key, which the receptionist confirmed but said they had changed locks since the day before (mm..sure?). Made us feel extremely unsafe, although out of town, we were very worried about our bags. We could lock up our stuff in the office which was good, but very inconvenient.
After seeing our room, we immediately asked to call the manager who politely explained that he would send someone to the room to fix the safe and the lock on the door. Since it was past 9pm and they were fully booked out they couldn't do anything about the twin (not double) room and were told maybe there would be one available the next day. He gave us a free dinner that night..but it didn't really cover what had gone wrong so far.
I understand by staff that there was really nothing more they could have done, but it really shouldn't have happened in the first place, especially when we were so cautious when booking. The next day when we returned from angkor wat etc. nothing had changed in our room, lock and safe still broken.
We attempted to ride into town that night, but they had ran out of maps so we were just given simple directions to a main street. By this time we were pretty annoyed. On the way out, one of the bike chains fell off, after fixing this, 10 minutes later it fell off again and we walked the bikes back approx 20 minutes and ended up taking a $2 tuk tuk out again.
I heard that there are a lot nicer rooms available, however our stay at lotus lodge completely ruined Siem Reap for us. We were so completely disappointed by the room value that if we had had more time we would've just left for a cheaper hostel. Very annoyed that we had to pay the full $25 for a room we didn't order.
Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 109
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinmelbourne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Spacious room, enough closet space, great atmosphere, helpfull staff, wonderful pool area and lobby, good breakfast, excellent WiFi, bit pricy if you compare it to other hostels, hence the four stars, but highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Geertrui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed for 6 days & 5 nights. The hotel is a ways from town so is nice and quiet. Rooms are clean and good sized. Staff are super friendly. They picked us up at the airport even though it was late at night. They have a free shuttle into town to the "old market" area where there's tons of restaurants & shops. Nice pool and a buffet type breakfast - fresh breads , eggs cooked any way , pancakes and fruits. Beds are comfortable . We will stay there again when we come back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel 20th Street
Hotel 20th Street
#136 of 337 in Siem Reap
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
#132 of 337 in Siem Reap
54 reviews
0.8 mi away
Samatika Villa Boutique
Samatika Villa Boutique
#222 of 337 in Siem Reap
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
#149 of 337 in Siem Reap
153 reviews
1.9 mi away
Siem Reap Riverside
Siem Reap Riverside
#168 of 337 in Siem Reap
230 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kouprey Hotel
Kouprey Hotel
#81 of 337 in Siem Reap
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Lodge

Property: Lotus Lodge
Address: Boeung Dounhpa Village Slar Kram Commune, Chong Kov Sou, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious and family friendly lodge is situated a short distance from the center of Siem Reap. Away from all the big hotels and busy street life, it offers an oasis of greenery. An excellent place for a well deserved and relaxing rest after visiting the temples of Angkor Wat. The Lotus Lodge offers a number of services and amenities to guests staying in one of our 34 clean and quiet rooms. During your stay you can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, a poolside restaurant and bar, free bicycle rentals, tour booking service, computer and internet access, pool table, movies, free daily shuttle, as well as our 10 meter high viewing tower which provides a superb panoramic outlook. You can even view the famous Angkor Temples from the tower! The large swimming pool is surrounded by a relaxation area that allows you to retreat to the calmness of the lodge. Massage can be arranged in your room or on the poolside terrace. We offer a wide variety of Khmer, Chinese and western meals in our open air restaurant and lounge. We also provide transfer services from the airport to the resort. Come stay with us at Lotus Lodge and you are sure to have a pleasant and relaxing experience! THE LOTUS LODGE IS OWNED BY JAVIER SAINT PIERRE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lotus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing