We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Lotus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lotus Lodge
Ranked #209 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Excellent staff, who all have great English and are very accomodating. The rooms are cleaned daily, the air-con is fantastic and the pool is 24 hour.

Food is very good and reasonably priced as far as hotel prices go. About 4USD for a good Khmer dish, and the benefits of such a modestly priced hotel (free bikes, 24 hour pool and fridge in the room, a sizeable breakfast) make it a great choice.

Location is too far to walk to pub street, but a tuk tuk is 2USD, and always people from the hotel leaving. Or you can cycle for free.

The owner and managers are always around and ready to talk to guests, Canadian run so can give you a Western perspective. A friend and I stayed for one month while teaching and intend to go back when we return to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here a few weeks ago and had a pleasent time. The staff were all great and were able to organize all the various trips we went on around Siem Reap. The floating village was by far our favorite. The temples of course are fantastic but the floating village is something i've never seen. Our tuk tuk driver was very good, such a nice guy. The food at the hotel was pretty good also. It was nice drinking mango smoothies by the pool after the long hot days. Would recommend this place!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights .This place is Awesome , so relaxing and peiceful . Out of the way of the hustle of Siem Reap but just a 10 min Tuk Tuk ride away .Nice food Great Staff ....Lily ,Ka Ta , Mitch, Tida and all the other staff made me feel so welcome ...Thankyou ,i will be back

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Kev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This Place could have been so nice if they had not promised things that they did not deliver on. Firstly we did not get our complementary tuk-tuk driver, not sure if I sent an e-mail to the wrong place or too late (did it 24 hours before) but either way it was not there. This was not too big of a deal for me, but a little disappointing. The hotel is out of the way, which is fine, and the road is a little bumpy but so are most of the roads in Cambodia so that is a non-issue!

We were shown to our room which was the right room, but the A/C took a very long time to cool the room, again not a big issue, but the little things added up for me!

The next morning we went to have breakfast, since we had gotten in late from a bus ride we showed up at about 10:05 am and were told that the free breakfast ended at 10am! This would have been nice to know! Many places serve till 11, so this was quite disappointing and frustrating, wish they had said something before! Our budget doesn't include money for breakfast so now we waited to lunch. The food for lunch was OK, but half the menu was crossed out and they also were missing a lot of other things. We stayed a bit and no smoothies at any point in our stay and no ice cream for some time as well. That was annoying.

The big reason I would rate this as poor is that we booked a Sunrise Ankor Wat tour with the hotel. We were told to meet the Tuk Tuk at 5 am. So up we got and went to the lobby. It was pitch black and we could only faintly make someone out in a bed in the corner. After walking around trying to find someone we woke him up and told him. He told us the Tuk Tuk would be there at 5:30. Ok, we sat down to wait. By the time 5:30 came around it was starting to get light and we knew we were going to miss sunrise. Again we asked the receptionist and he finally got up to check if there was in fact a tuk tuk coming. Of course not. This was beyond disappointing for me as the sunrise was one of the things I was looking forward to most in Cambodia, but as this was our last day there it was our last chance. Well we were pretty upset! And all we got was an apology from the lady (who didn't speak English very well) at reception in the morning when we went to complain again! No Manager, no English speaking staff. Beyond disappointing. They really didn't seem to care, which made it all the worse. They said sorry, but that doesn't really change anything does it?

The rest of the hotel is much the same, promises of amazing things, but not quite there. The pool is nice, although the tiles are falling off everywhere. The tower is cool, but you can barely seen Ankor Wat in the distance, and there are no tuk tuk that take you into town for free. The bikes for free are flat and they don't have a bike pump so you have to go down the street and pay for it (only 500 Riel so not a big deal, but the principle of the matter!)

I would absolutely say go elsewhere. This could be a nice place if they put a little effort into it and didn't make such mistakes. And better yet if they did make them, make you feel like they care. Because I honestly didn't feel like they cared that they had ruined Siem Reap for us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mieke27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My week in Cambodia was incredible. Temples, food, weather all of it was great. During the days it rained, the entrance of this quaint hostel was flooded about 8inches of water. It rests on a very low area of land and is about ten minutes or so from the main area in Siem Reap. Wonderful service, people, food and room. The people also provided me transit to Bangkok included with my stay. I would recommend this place but hesitate if you are looking to stay closer to the city and if you don't want to possibly deal with a rained out entrance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed at this place for five nights in May 2014. Arrived a bit late in Siem Reap but the coirtesy tuktuk driber was still there to meet me. Although this hotel is a little way (aboit 10 mins drive) from the neart of the city that was part of the attraction for me. I mean I love a drink and a pub but I do recoil from staying near the centre where one of fhe streets is called "Pub Street". Anyway guests get one free tuktuk ride to town each day before 9pm. The rooms were nice enough for the price and so was bathroom. Aircon was effective. Decor and gardens were nice and relaxing. Pool was nice..... but maybe staff should be told not to put music on by the pool the whole time. Maybe it is me but I suspect the music was for the staff rather than guests. The other negative is that sometimes it was difficult to rouse the night receptionist which sometimes involved rattling the gates and shouting, thus waking the local canine residents. Female staff were extremely nice though and were very sweet and helpful. I woild definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great atmosphere away from town noise, with a shuttle service to town. And as what I always look for, Price for performance! None in Siem Reap give the same facilities for the bargain price. + what I always love, owner is the face, so you could ask for anything without getting a systematic staff answer of "No sir, we don't have".

Room Tip: Ask the owner for anything, he's nearly always there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AE_Raees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.9 mi away
HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence
1.3 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#136 of 361 in Siem Reap
722 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kouprey Hotel
Kouprey Hotel
#110 of 361 in Siem Reap
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SiZen Retreat & Spa
SiZen Retreat & Spa
#96 of 361 in Siem Reap
308 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
#69 of 361 in Siem Reap
653 reviews
1.5 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#155 of 361 in Siem Reap
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Lodge

Address: Boeung Dounhpa Village Slar Kram Commune, Chong Kov Sou, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £20 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious and family friendly lodge is situated a short distance from the center of Siem Reap. Away from all the big hotels and busy street life, it offers an oasis of greenery. An excellent place for a well deserved and relaxing rest after visiting the temples of Angkor Wat. The Lotus Lodge offers a number of services and amenities to guests staying in one of our 34 clean and quiet rooms. During your stay you can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, a poolside restaurant and bar, free bicycle rentals, tour booking service, computer and internet access, pool table, movies, free daily shuttle, as well as our 10 meter high viewing tower which provides a superb panoramic outlook. You can even view the famous Angkor Temples from the tower! The large swimming pool is surrounded by a relaxation area that allows you to retreat to the calmness of the lodge. Massage can be arranged in your room or on the poolside terrace. We offer a wide variety of Khmer, Chinese and western meals in our open air restaurant and lounge. We also provide transfer services from the airport to the resort. Come stay with us at Lotus Lodge and you are sure to have a pleasant and relaxing experience! THE LOTUS LODGE IS OWNED BY JAVIER SAINT PIERRE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lotus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing