We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
209
101
41
26
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
101
41
26
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2009

This is a very lovely hotel, I can recommend it to everyone who look's for friendly people,
good food,resful location.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aveair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We've stayed here for the second time and were glad we did. The first time we enjoyed it so much that our second stay in Lotus Lodge felt like coming home. Staff was extremely friendly and we even celebrated a unique new years party with gifts, karaoke and lot of laughter and happiness.

Food was still excellent and the swimming pool is a treat after you have visited the temples of Angkor. Everything was arranged quickly when asked for it (i.e. tuk-tuks, taxiservice) and enquiries about all things to do and see in Cambodia were explained by very knowledgeable staff.

I would recommend Lotus Lodge to everyone travelling to Siem Reap. In a matter affect i advised a lot of people to stay there when visiting this beautiful country.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeroenKoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

I stayed at the lodge for the first and last time on a recent trip to Cambodia. It seemed pleasant at first however the more we observed the more we got the feeling that this was not the place it seemed. We constantly saw the young staff being shouted at and bullied by an older man with a walkie-talkie, we think this may have been the owner's father. He would shout and wave his radio in their faces, practically inducing them to tears. He seemed to do little other than giving these young workers a hard time. There seemed a real edge to the place.
We had to put the laundry in to get washed once only to realise that the lodger must use Asia's most expensive washing powder as our bill was more than it would cost to have each item dry cleaned back home!
The food was fabulous however the more we became acquainted to the cost of eating in Cambodia the more we felt we were getting exploited.
The Lodge is located about 3km's from town only accessible by a dirt track which if you have showered then you will require another shower once you arrive at your destination.
The accomodation was basic, the towels scarce, starchy and never smelling fresh and and the room very dark, the lowest powered lightbulbs have been installed and when there is not a power outage you are lucky to see all the cockcroaches and mosqqitos.
The German owner and his Khmer wife however seemed pleasant and very knowledgable about the local amenities in Siem Reap.
However when we were presented with our bill we were hit for all kinds of hidden charges, internet (despite it not working half the time), rides to and from the airport and town centre.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentTraveler034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambodja, owner at Lotus Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2009

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate it when our guests take time to write a review.
From the start of Lotus Lodge our aim is to give our guests a very nice stay in Siem Reap. We do our best to give them a welcome feeling and not treat our guest as a number but as a person. Also we give our staff the opportunity to develop their skills and experience.
Almost all our staff have been working in Lotus Lodge from the very beginning. We give them very good working conditions. If the working conditions in our lodge are not good than the staff would leave. There are many hotels in Siem Reap and currently there are 17 hotels more build. So it’s pretty easy to find another job in Siem Reap for them.
Our hotel is not 3 km out of town. We are 3 km away from the tourist city center. We are located 500 meter from highway 6, near Phsar Leu, the largest local market in Siem Reap. Only the last 150 meters is a dirt road but the road is very smooth. The good thing is that we don’t have traffic noise, no horns and its not dusty like in the city center.
We keep our lodge very clean. That means, the garden, the rooms, the restaurant and also our kitchen. Hygiene and neatly is one of our highest priorities.
Thailand delivers all the electricity to Siem Reap. We have a very secure power supply from the electric company. We only have power cuts once or twice a month. When that happens we have a 150 kva generator for back up. So our guests always have electricity.
I don’t understand about the hidden charges: Next to the reception is a signboard with all the prices from tuktuks, cars, entrance fee, laundry service, tours, etc etc .
We provide free wifi internet for our guests in the rooms, lobby and restaurant. If you don’t have a laptop or mobile phone with internet connection, we have 2 computers for our guests in the lobby. There is a sign with the prices on the computer. $ 1,- for 1 hour ( 25 cents for 15 minutes).
We provide a free pick up service from the airport to our lodge. We have shuttle bus from lodge to the tourist city center (2 times in the evening) and back from the center to our lodge. Free of charge! In deluxe room we have a dvd player and our guests can choose up to 200 movies, also free of charge. Our guests can use the city bikes, also free of charge.
When our guests want to go back to the airport, than they have to arrange transportation themselves. They can arrange this outside or via our reception. Prices are nearly the same.
We think we give very good value for money in our lodge. Most of the people that stayed in our lodge share this opinion with us.
Andre and Lily
Lotus Lodge
p.s. I’m not German but Dutch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Stayed 4 nights with my 14 yo son.
He enjoyed the swimming pool and the pool table.
All the staff members are really trying to make your stay comfortable.
Quiet place, also very suited for families with (young) children.
We used the free bicycles for visiting the temples, very relaxing.
We enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orcater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

My family (my husband, our two boys 8-10) and I stayed a week around New Year 2009 and made the best choice ever for the price! We were first welcomed with a drink by Lily and Andre, the managers, who explained us everything about the hotel, transportations, sights, etc.
The room was cosy, clean, room service excellent.
The pool and restaurant/bar area was fantastic with a pool table just beside. So eating, drinking, relaxing and playing could all be done at once, watching the kids swim and having fun in the same area.
The personel, though young, were so friendly and helpful. They were eager to learn (language) and chat. They even were happy to have an eye on our boys when, tired of visiting temples, they stayed at the hotel for half a day by themselves.
Food was good and fresh.
Transportation was efficient and the costs standardised for specific trips around Angkor. Drivers were always excellent, polite and patient (we had only tuk-tuks because naturally air conditioned but cars were available). No negociation, no assle.
The cherry on the sunday was the party on december 31st with a gift exchange with personel and clients followed by a glass of Champagne. Lots of laughs and fun with the members of the personel that looked like a big happy family.
On January 1st, it was my son's birthday: Lily and André offered him a superb birthday cake. A really appreciated and delicate thought since we had been travelling for six months and the kid was a bit homesick!
The hotel is out of the tourist area but every night, there was a free minibus going downtown (5-10min drive). You could either go back with the shuttle or take a tuk-tuk (hotel was known by all drivers).
Really a small, friendly, special lodge that was a big plus in our wonderful week in Angkor!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews